We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - met all our expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeysuckle Rise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coonawarra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeysuckle Rise
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic - met all our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

What a fantastic stay we had at Highbank. Our first night was in the Room with a View, a charming self contained first floor cottage, with the most incredible views of the vineyards and surrounding area. Our second night we spent in the Honeysuckle Cottage. Completely independent with its own drive way, the cottage is complete, spacious and caters well for couples or a couple with children. The garden is fantastic, amidst the vineyards. We sipped wine and ate cheese and crackers while watching the most beautiful sunset, all the while both of us on a swing. Very romantic, whichever one you choose. Well worth the visit. The owner, Dennis is a charismatic fellow and attended to our every need and made my wife happy by allowing her to prune some of the beautiful roses growing around the cottages. He has some incredible red wine which has won several awards and is well recognised in some of the best restaurants in Australia. The area has some interesting background and Penola, the nearest town, is only a short drive away.

Room Tip: Personally, I love the independance of the Cottage, however the Room with a View is equally fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msantanalopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thun, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

My wife and I spent one wonderful night in The Room with a View accomodation which is just accros the vineyard from the larger cottage. The building is located just inside the vineyard but feels a million miles from anywhere. We sat outside in the late afternoon sun enjoying one of Denis's fine wines listening to nothing but the wildlife. Later that night when darkness had fallen we stood outside in silence marvelling at the night sky above which is so clear thanks to the lack of light pollution, that you can see the stars so clearly it feels like they are an arms length away!
The guest rooms are on the first floor above the tasting rooms and reception and all of the windows offer stunning views accross the vineyard and beyond. There is a very roomy double bedroom which has a huge windown opening up to vistas of the vines, this then leads into the living room which again is of a very decent size and offers the same views. The bathroom offers a large spa bath with views and seperate shower. The kitchen and dining area complete the accomodation and everything is provided for you to self cater if you wish. Dennis, our lovely host, left all the neccesary provisions for us to prepare a large brekfast as well as making available some of his superb wines for us to try and purchase at a greatly reduced price. He was also on hand to offer help and advice on the local area.
Staying here was one of the highlights of our month in Oz and this is the perfect place to base yourself in Coonawarra to explore the wine country and further afield, knowing that at the end of the day you have 'home' to come back too!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snakeboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We had a fantastic stay of 3 nights over New Years....Dennis was more than accommodating and we were really happy with the clean comfortable accommodation which is very private and right in the heart of the Coonawarra.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We went to Highbank as a group of 4 last week and had a lovely time. The wine was great, the views and local area are great and the accomodation is first class with a lovely log fire if it gets too cool outside.
Extremely helpful team delivered a spectacular getaway for us all...would thoroughly recommend a visit - we will certainly be back. Well worth the long drive from Melbourne.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank timginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nederland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

Honeysuckle Rise is a beautiful cottage on a lovely place between the vineyards.
We enjoyed the romantic spa with candles. We only could stay for one night, this should had been more.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atienederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

Discover the joys of the Coonawarra whilst staying in the middle of a working vineyard. Coonawarra is one of Australia’s oldest wine growing regions. An isolated 15 kilometres strip of extra ordinary terra rossa (rich red loam over limestone) that produces sublime wines.

Honeysuckle Rise Cottage is situated in the centre of Highbank vineyard. Host and winemaker Dennis Vice has created luxury self catering accommodation for wine lovers. This stone cottage is sited next to two massive red gums (estimated to be over 300 years old). There are many places where guests can relax - the beautiful garden; the sheltered outdoor entertainment areas; inside with the high cathedral ceiling with exposed beams; the lounge area with a huge stone open fireplace; the mezzanine sleeping area (there is also provision for sleeping downstairs if you can’t cope with stairs); and the shower and spa that look onto a private courtyard garden. There are spectacular views of the vineyard from all windows but the view from the French doors in the lounge area is especially captivating – the doors and overhead arch frame the two magnificent red gums against the backdrop of the vineyard. The magpies, blue wrens, rosellas, and willy wagtails have all found homes in the gum trees or garden and the mornings and evenings are filled with their enchanting bird calls.
Enjoying the wines of the Highbank with our meals added to the pleasure of our stay. Dennis produces a stylish cabernet/merlot/cabernet franc blend of finesse and length. Guests are able to buy this wine at a substantial discount. An aromatic viognier from Dennis’s Adelaide Hills vineyard is also on offer - try it for a languid lunch or with your Asian stir fry.
The facilities include a gas BBQ and we strongly recommend that guests make themselves known to DJ & CA Meek Butchers – try their wonderful aged beef that is full of flavor and melts in your mouth, or their award winning sausages and salami. There are also a number of excellent local restaurants and we can recommend Fodders, opposite Wynns’ Winery – they produce delicious and creative dishes from local produce including “gourmet” woodfired pizzas.
After two nights at Highbank you will feel like you have been away for a week.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OZ-TASSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonawarra
2.9 mi away
Highbank Winery Accommodation
5.3 mi away
Alexander Cameron Suites
2.0 mi away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#3 of 5 in Coonawarra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
5.0 mi away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeysuckle Rise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Rise

Property: Honeysuckle Rise
Address: Maaoupe Road, Coonawarra, South Australia 5263, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coonawarra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Coonawarra
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage is a small stone home nestled in its own beautiful vineyard. Close the iron gates at the entrance of the drive and enjoy total seclusion and privacy. The Cottage caters for two or four adults in an open floor plan. The Cottage interior is light and inviting with limestone walls, exposed beams, arched French doors, leadlight windows and a stone fireplace. A cosy loft-bedroom overlooks the vineyard and private driveway as the floor plan is open to up-stairs and down. The spacious two-person spa is private and looks out to its own garden to be enjoyed. 'The Cottage' captures the charm of the historic South East but with the most modern of features. Both have spa baths for two persons, fully equipped kitchen allows for the creation of wonderful gourmet meals, queen size bed, and special views of our vineyards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing