We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back in time”
other travelers have booked this property
A nice shady spot for a cuppa or a pre dinner drinkie
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A nice shady spot for a cuppa or a pre dinner drinkie
Looking from the rear of the house Capture photos of Kangaroos at my personal home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
A nice shady spot for a cuppa or a pre dinner drinkie
Looking from the rear of the house
Capture photos of Kangaroos at my personal home
Off street parking in the large grounds
Lounge which features wood fire and reverse cycle air con.
Bedroom. Queen Bed..plenty of power for sleep Apnea machines
Kitchen
Kitchen
LARGE GARDEN
The Garden
The Kids Bath
The Garden
The single Bed
Bedroom not under main room..Air conditioned  Queen Bed
Bedroom 2 with double size bed in the house..built in wardrobes in room
Signage on the front verandah....No 9 The Pig & Whistle
Drive in and enter from the back door, theres a huge catus in the drive.
Cute front porch
The Bulbs are wonderful in winter
Help yourself to the goodies in the pantry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Burra, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
karenwR70...
Cavendish, Australia
2 reviews
“Back in time”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

A beautiful country cottage, takes you back in time but with most modern conveniences. Helen was available if we required, and answered our texts quickly. Hope to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely heritage cottage”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This cottage has everything you need. The garden is large and well kept. Helen is very welcoming and helpful and it is like staying in someone's home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2017
Jill it was lovely to meet you and I'm glad the Cottage met all your needs
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam Q
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A special place to stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 2 couples looking for a night's accommodation. The Burra Tourist Information Centre helped us find this lovely cottage. Owner was friendly but not intrusive and everything we could have wanted was already in this well located cottage - including a wood fire set and ready for lighting. Great value available to us at short notice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a well appointed place to stay with space to sit and talk in comfort
Liked least: Just be careful on the bathroom floor tiles as slippery if you don't use the mats provided
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
So glad the cottage provided all your needs, it was great to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pakabay
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
840 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable & Welcoming”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent a weekend Burra recently and chose The Pig & Whistle based on the Trip Advisor reviews.

We were not disappointed. Helen, the property owner was exceedingly welcoming & helpful throughout the booking process, during & even after our stay. She was onsite to welcome us on arrival and showed us around the large & peaceful property and explained where everything was and how it worked.

The fire was set and wood available. The cottage is very comfortable with everything you could want including a well stocked pantry, fresh milk & bread in the freezer for toast.

Whilst only a minute or two [by car] from the main street, it was blissfully quiet and the large garden was a delight to walk around and enjoy with a glass of wine in hand.

Thanks Helen for everything - including dropping off the small item that we left behind to the restaurant that you know we were visiting after we checked out. Above & beyond!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
It was my pleasure. I'm glad you enjoyed our beautiful part of the Mid North. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiex25...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable,well equipped,clean and tranquil place to stay, a home away from home.”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As I have said in the title, The Pig and Whistle was comfortable, well equipped,clean and tranquil place to stay.
It had all the things you would want for your stay. The pantry had everything you need. There was plenty of milk and there was bread in the freezer.
The garden even had fresh herbs to use.
I would recommend this to anyone.
Many thanks Helen for your hospitality!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact it was a very comfortable place to stay still maintaining its historic charm.
Liked least: Not long enough!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
So glad you enjoyed the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpaNOma
Sheffield, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Six of us (3 couples ) stayed two nights at this delightful cottage. Everything was clean and comfortable. There were amazing " little " and unexpected touches, like an umbrella and a torch!! We found things were very generously supplied, like 2 litres of milk and bread in the freezer!! Thanks Helen for your care! Hendrika xo

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
It was lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray E
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old world cottage in a fabulous heritage location”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage stay in a most interesting heritage old mining township of Burra in South Australia. We were only travelling thru Burra heading to Perth and had no intentions of any extended stay until we realised what an awesome old township it was. Helen of the Pig & Whistle was so friendly and the B&B so well appointed you could not help but to feel right at home. Accomodation was for up to 7 people and the bed we had was super comfy, a full kitchen, old world lounge and tv area complete with heating of either reverse cycle or wood fire. Laundry and bathroom facilities with plenty of hot water and off street parking completes the picture. We will return to Burra on the way back to Victoria to stay again and have a really good look around the town. It would be easy to spend 2 to 3 days with Helen. Several Restaurants and a prolific number of original brick buildings give anyone interested in history, plenty to do. Easy walking distance (5 min) from the centre of the main town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tho old cottage ambience
Liked least: Spider in the kitchen sink
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
Thank you so much, Burra really is a destination now and Im glad you got to enjoy it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing