We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pies”
Review of Cook O'Burra

Cook O'Burra
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Burra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A new cafe in Burra - South Australia
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Pies”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a pie the other day. My eyes popped! With all the mass-production going on in the world i forgot what a great pie was!
looking forward to experiancing more!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellie_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had the Chunky meat pies,Soggy pastry on the bottom , pies tasted like Worcestershire sauce had been cooked with the meat which was tough to eat -have had much better --Staff are not friendly ,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best steak pie in Australia”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

After a hectic night out at the local on a quick stopover from wa, I happened to stumble past cookaburra.
Wanting a greasy fix, went inside and to my dismay found no greasy food.
What I did find was fresh as you can get homemade pies. Oh my Lordy lord they where good. Deffinately the best pies in Australia by far. And the staff where extremely helpful and warm.
Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadelyneMusgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
162 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good take away”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Not a bad place for a coffee & a toastie but I think the owners need to make sure that the staff are not sitting outside puffing away whilst you are trying to enter the shop, not a good look.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank homer000red_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A big thumbs up to Cook O'Burra! :-}”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A very welcoming and accommodating cafe in a very handy spot to the caravan park. Phil and Family run a super friendly and efficient eatery with fast service. Famished from "traveller's rations" over 2 weeks, I opted to fill myself with fish and chips and in the space of 10 minutes it was delivered: albeit the fish dwarfed by the chips, nevertheless all the more enjoyable. Every morning thereafter was a latté, which I opted to enjoy inside. The cups are insulated so no hot fingies — this is a nice touch so often overlooked in high street cafes.Thank you all again for your miles of smiles and great service. I shall return. :-}

• The Flying Camera aka Garyh/Geelong

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook O'Burra also viewed

Burra, South Australia
Burra, South Australia
 
Burra, South Australia
Burra, South Australia
 
Burra, South Australia
Burra, South Australia
 

Been to Cook O'Burra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing