We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Cedars Cafe

White Cedars Cafe
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Burra
Cuisines: Indonesian, Cafe, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.visitburra.com/Places_to_Eat/
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a really good meal here. Food was excellent (enak sekali!). Allow time as it was not fast food. Glad we came here rather than the usual pub meal. Downside was high corkage fee ($10).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You must eat there.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We love White Cedars. Friendly hosts and superb food. This restaurant and La Pecora Nero are two great places to eat in Burra. Do youself a favour and try both.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank andrenron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonable food but intermittent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

A very interesting place, one i have eaten at a number of times over the years. It is BYO only which is great, however they had run out of a lot of things on the menu (we were the first guests in on a Sat night). Reasonable food, reasonable prices, not a stand out though.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaci t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Balinese food in Burra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

WE called in for lunch between Xmas & New Years on our way back from Port Pirie after reading an article about the place and its co-owner and chef, Putu. Given the name of the chef we were almost assured that this place would be good. We were right!
In short, we had a Kare Ayam (curry chicken) and Sayur Urap (steamed veg). Both were as good as the best we have had on Bali, albeit in the Kare Ayam included a more local mix of veg but certainly a more generous component of chicken than experienced on Bali. The meal was accompanied by steamed rice.
Putu, having finished preparing our meal, made a Balinese coffee for himself and sat at the next table inobtrusively until we eventually started conversation with him, mainly about places and people that we all had in common in Bali; a very Balinese experience!
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PakMungkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Cedars Cafe also viewed

Burra, South Australia
Burra, South Australia
 
Burra, South Australia
Burra, South Australia
 

Been to White Cedars Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing