We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub great service.”
Review of rising Sun Hotel

rising Sun Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: great country gastro Pub food. good meat dishes and crispy fish and chips. Wine list good.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely pub great service.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had lunch here on the way to Clare was very nice not cheap but affordable. The steak sandwhiches were huge nice big serves, also serve a few different things to I had a rabbit and pistacheo turine was very tasty!!
Service was friendly good country service and people stop in it is worth a look!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colette287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful and excellent food”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived at 2pm when service closes, but were welcomed and had a good meal and a glass each of local wine - lots of different wineries available by the glass and a good way to get to know the less well known producers. As a result we found Tim McNeil wines - a tiny but briliiant outfit - and had a brilliant hour with Tim working our way through his output.

Daily specials include a fish dish, as well as salds and good hearty meat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trufflehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had our work Christmas lunch at the Rising Sun and all I can say is "Perfection"

Everyone loved their lunch including myself. I am a Vegan and I was extremely well looked after and my stuffed capsicum with the eggplant stack was delicious.

The staff were very friendly and were extremely busy (the place was full ) but we never had to wait for a thing.

Thankyou Rising Sun for looking after us so well. We will be back......

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cat0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Review”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I often travel from Gawler in South Australia to this Pub. The food is ALWAYS of an excellent quality and it also boasts some nice wines (try Ken’s House Red).Would recommend (and do) to anybody!!

Will be back up there in a few weeks.

Helpful?
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very Good Pub Food”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Better than the usual "pub grub" , large servings, friendly service and very good wines by the glass. Added to the fact that we could walk to this hotel from our B&B, made this reasonably priced restaurant well worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed rising Sun Hotel also viewed

Auburn, South Australia
Sevenhill, South Australia
 

Been to rising Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing