We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mellers of Auburn Cafe and Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 6 Auburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed with friends and had a great time at Cygnets. The staff in the cafe were very friendly & helpful and we found the location really good. Breakfast was nice and filling & the coffee was great. The bed was really comfortable. On the down side, we found dead flies in the wineglasses and the sofa bed in the living room could do with replacing. With just a bit more attention to cleanliness this could be a really great place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 67 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our stay at Cygnets was lots of fun. the staff were really freindly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the location is a great place to visit the Clare valley
Recommend to others looking for good service, filling breakfasts and gateway to Clare valley

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was changed from room 3 to room 2 at the last minute, no problem. It was an anniversary weekend and I was pretty happy to just go along with it. Cottage room 2 was fine, clean, nice, perhaps not enough firewood, but we found it. Breakfast was great, owner was super friendly. Their was no milk in the room (no big deal). The biggest issue, which we were too embarrassed too mention was that because room 2 is one glass door away from the owner's room (she told us this), we unfortunately were kept awake by the extremely loud conversations she was having at midnight and then one am. As I said, an anniversary weekend, so we laughed it off, BUT.. she is the OWNER, surely she must know that this would ruin the romantic private retreat feel! DONT get room TWO... ever....

Room Tip: Avoid the cottage rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a late review, we stayed here last 2010.

We stayed at Cygnets in Auburn just 20kms before Clare Valley as it was recommended by a friend's dad. Bubbles, the owner, is very accommodating and helpful, as well as her staff.

Cynets is along the main road going to Clare Valley from Adelaide, so you will never miss it! It has a nice cafe' in front which serves the best homemade scone i had in my life haha! :P They serve it with homemade berry jam and fluffy whip cream, I always have it every morning and it's freshly baked! hmmmm i miss the smell!

The bungalow is cute, it is like a small barn house with big seating area, dining area is along the front window (where we parked our car) then the bathroom is old but wide and clean. The bedroom is very cozy and the bed is so comfortable. There's heater available and hot shower.

We are very satisfied with our stay here and I highly recommend it when you visit Clare Valley region ;)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shylla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have just tried to book cygnets for easter accomadation. To late, booked out.
When I scanned the Clare Valley looking for alternate venues Cygnets came up showing a new review suggesting it is going down hill.
I have stayed at Cygnets several times and always enjoy the experience.
The rooms are charming and very comfortable, the breakfast certainly not as described in "down hills" review.
The homemade jam available for use at either breakfast or later in the day on the sensational "cygnets scones" is a must. I purchase a jar before returning to Adelaide regularly.
Do not agree with "down hills" comments, Cygnets is perfectly positioned to explore the valley and has a large garden setting to relax and wind down from the days activities.
The pub being next door is always a plus.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stay here for 2 nights Monday 13th February with my husband at a cost of $270 which included breakfast.

The quality and the quantity of the "Continental" breakfast was the big disappointment.

Tuesdays breakfast tray was left out from midday on Monday, 2 Slices of bread on one plate, which was to thick and too long to place in the toaster provided. A small bowl of cereals to share and a couple of pieces of fruit and some jam. In the fridge was 1 small glass of orange juice and some milk and yoghurt.

This too me isn't a "Continental" breakfast, where was the ham, cheeses and pastries???

After the first night the bed wasn't made, the used wine glasess and coffee cup weren't replaced,

The place itself is ok, good location for the Reisling Trail.
But I am sure there are better places to stay than this one.

After emailing the owner several times and was promised a refund for the breakfast and the return of some clothing we left behind - neither of which have arrived.

Plenty of places to stay in the Clare Valley.
I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie M, Owner at Mellers of Auburn Cafe and Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Despite offering this customer al refund for her breakfast when her complaint had everything do with her definition of a continental breakfast I have not received credit card details in order to make a refund - which I assured her I would be delighted to do. With regard to lost property - untill today I have not heard of a shirt being left behind.
I should add that we are a bed and breakfast and do not service our rooms unless the customer is staying for three or more nights We are not going down hill - people are giving us rave reviews - come and see for yourself!! Marjorie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have stayed in Cygnets twice now and would not hesitate to go back again. There is something there for all ages to enjoy, it is quiet and relaxing in a beautiful setting. The hosts are lovely, warm and welcoming. It is very much a home away from home, extremely comfortable with enough room for a whole family. We love it there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
14.8 mi away
Clare Country Club
Clare Country Club
#1 of 3 in Clare
899 reviews
12.9 mi away
Clare Valley Motel
Clare Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Clare
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amy's House B & B
Amy's House B & B
#1 of 6 in Auburn
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auburn Shiraz Motel
Auburn Shiraz Motel
#1 of 1 in Auburn
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#3 of 6 in Auburn
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melton Hotel
Melton Hotel
#5 of 6 in Auburn
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellers of Auburn Cafe and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellers of Auburn Cafe and Accommodation

Address: 21 Main North Rd, Auburn, South Australia 5451, Australia (Formerly Cygnets at Auburn)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range: $112 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellers of Auburn Cafe and Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mellers of Auburn Cafe and Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing