We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
5 Stars on All Aspects!!

What an amazing experience!! A group of 5 of us visited Yalumba Winery during our tour and we were... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Cassie A
via mobile
Beautiful building - wine not bad either!

We were on a half day tour with Big Bend By Night and Mardi (our driver/guide) recommended we take... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Grant N
,
Havelock North, New Zealand
Read all 187 reviews
  
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
121
52
5
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
52
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door wine tasting tasting room barrel making historic winery beautiful property excellent grounds open fire old world lots of history nice setting knowledgeable service clock tower don t miss worth a visit tasting area great wine
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing experience!! A group of 5 of us visited Yalumba Winery during our tour and we were all blown away. Staff were all friendly and the lady that hosted our tastings were amazing (I wish I could remember her name). Sensational grounds, cellar door and wine. Already planning to go back and visit again soon. A very memorable experience, thank you!

Thank Cassie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyJ1101, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Cassie, great to get such awesome feedback. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit.
Cheers
Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a half day tour with Big Bend By Night and Mardi (our driver/guide) recommended we take in Yalumba. First sight of the winery is impressive - very grand buildings in a beautiful setting. The cellar door tasting area is set up for large gatherings. We were attended to by Amanda Willoughby (She was married to a guy from Hawkes Bay, New Zealand - our home province - us Kiwis get everywhere) - she was friendly and cheerful - happy to chat and kept our tasting glasses going through the range. We were happy with most of the wines but the "Cigar" red was delicious and we managed to liberate a few bottles to attend to back on our houseboat. Mardi tokk us to have a look through the cooperage as well (where they make the barrels) - it wasn't working but we got the idea from the equipment. Overall, we weren't all that impressed by a lot of Aussie wines but Yalumba certainly ticked all the boxes - the "Cigar" bottles were used as a treat over the next week or so. Recommend if you're visiting the Barossa.

Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyJ1101, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting us Grant, great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had the lovely Amanda looking after you. We hope you continue to enjoy Yalumba back in New Zealand, please let us know if you need any details of our stockists across the ditch.
Cheers
Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another winery with a huge history . Amazing to hear and see the history of their vines . Lovely staff and great wines . Loved the rose .

Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyJ1101, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting Helena and great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our driver recommended this winery and we visited this first on our Barossa tour. Absolutely stunning winery - family run but incredible history and the buildings are wonderful. Wine tasting was relaxed and fun and the wines excellent. Loved the quirky painting of the upside down horse in the tasting area. Definitely worth visiting.

Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyJ1101, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting us Robyn and thanks for the review, we hope to see you in the Barossa again soon.
Cheers
Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Being from out of state and first time visitors to the Barossa, we’ve just been picking up recommendations as we go along and we are so pleased we came here. Not only is it the prettiest winery we’ve seen, both buildings and grounds, but Nick at the cellar door was phenomenal. He really took the time to explain the history of the winery, the region, and the wines in depth. Free freight within Australia since we spent more than $200 which is easy to do here. The wines are amazing.

Thank 299PeterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyJ1101, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thanks for visiting us and for the great feedback about your time with us. I will pass onto Nick that you enjoyed your time with him.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to the beautiful Barossa.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We visited Yalumba today, what a nice setting. Historic buildings, great ambience and delicious wines. It was a busy morning, however we had all the time in the world and really enjoyed the wine tasting. Great advise from Sam on becoming a member. We definitely recommend a visit to this winery and will be back next time we are in the Barossa again.

Thank 904marj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyJ1101, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

We hope to see you again soon, always lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We came to see the old historical buildings, lawns, gardens and were not disappointed, it is an awesome setting. We sat on the slope of the lawn and watched a few people coming and going from the wine tasting / sales rooms and wondered, what's missing here ..... it's a pity that there is not a cafe / restaurant in such beautiful surroundings, something like the set up at Seppeltsfield ..... just to add some atmosphere. We may have been a little early for our visit, just a few cars in the car park and no cooper at work. Maybe our next visit to the Barossa will be at a more suitable time.

1  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyJ1101, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thanks for visiting us on your recent visit to the beautiful Barossa, glad to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful surrounds here at Yalumba. Our Coopers are currently in the middle of their down season, our bending season here at Yalumba kicks off in November and goes through to May so that the barrels that we produce are fresh and ready for the latest vintage of wine to go in them. To find out more about the process of making barrels we have a 10 minute clip that you may be interested in - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbqCHm7P4Yg
The Wine Room here at Yalumba has several platter options for our guests to enjoy on site, showcasing the best of Barossa produce - perfect for enjoying on the lawns.
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Free wine tasting for the "lower end" wine range and a refundable fee for the more expensive range. We were happy to stay with the lower end wines that tasted just fine for us. Very attentive and knowledgeable service.

Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thanks for visiting us on your recent trip to the Barossa Charlie and great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope to see you in the beautiful Barossa again soon.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We had a great time here. Lovely setting, friendly and personal service. Great wines to taste. Staff (Amanda) made use very welcome and service was exceptional.

Thank rocky278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you back in the beautiful Barossa again soon.
Cheers
Sally J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We came here as part of a winery tour.
Hadn't tasted any Yalumba prior, other than the casks.
We were pleasantly surprised at how delicious the wines were.
Absolutely beautiful grounds too

Thank Maggie_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Guest Relations Manager at Yalumba, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thanks for visiting us on your visit to the Barossa Maggie, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our wines.
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Sally J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews