We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, well equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angaston Mews Apartments
Ranked #6 of 8 Angaston B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Angaston Mews Apartments are clean, comfortable and well equipped. We stayed in the upstairs Empire Rose apartment and found it comfortable. The décor was a bit much for me but I am one of those unusual people who my rental accommodation to be a little sparse. I found that with the blinds open the place was not too dark but I also like lots of light and would suggest blinds which allow you to see out a better option that the heavy curtains in the lounge room. I would have found the space too small for 4 people as we had to use the second bedroom for storage. In the bedroom I found the lighting very poor and would have liked brighter globes in the bed lamps as it was impossible to read when I went to bed for the night.
The kitchen was very well equipped and the hamper was a very thoughtful and welcome addition to the stay.
I have contacted Getaway who do the bookings for these apartments about the issue of lighting in the hall at night and hope they will look into having this fixed as the stairs are very dangerous at night. This was my only major complaint with the block.
I would stay here again as we were warm and comfortable. If Trip Advisor had 1/2 stars this would have rated a 3 1/2 stars.

Room Tip: If you like a shower and not a spa bath take an upstairs apartment and I believe they are much brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Angaston Mews Apartments in the upstairs "liquid amber" apartment. The apartments are very centrally located in the Barossa and very cosy.

On arrival (in the dark) the lights were already on in the apartment which was handy. The 2 rooms both had king size beds in them however they are the zip together beds so not the most comfortable. The rooms are pretty small so not to much room for any luggage.

The breakfast supplied is ample and a nice touch. I would recommend that the apartments could do with some additional mirrors as there is only the bathroom mirror to accommodate 4 people in the entire unit.

Overall cosy but nothing flash.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in the Barossa region with no pre-booked accommodation but with a recommendation to check out Angeston. As soon as we drove through this pretty little town we knew it was where we wanted to stay. Staff at the visitor information centre (Tanuda) were great at helping us book and everything was pretty straightforward. Upon arriving we found the lace clean, today and more than adequate for a couple. Really nice spot/set-up although we stayed on the ground floor and just a couple of pointers for the owners. The apartment was really dark and could benefit from one way blinds to take advantage of the daylight. Lights on the main room (Red Orchid) were a little 'boudoir' and could probably benefit from something more subtle. Overall a great place though. Clean, tidy and thoughtful touches (brekkie pack etc). Would definetly recommend for a couple of friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarperTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPOGGY54, Owner at Angaston Mews Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hello......Thanks for you comments and yes we must agree Angaston is a great little country town, could be why they call it "the crown of the valley". We also run the Angaston Market here in the iconic Angaston Town Hall (2nd Sunday of every Month) so perhaps on your next visit you
can pop in and say Hi...also noted your comments on the lighting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed only one night in a ground floor unit which we were delighted to find had all we needed for our stay. As a couple we only needed one room, the second room had 2 single beds. It would be a squash were you to have two couples if they had any more luggage than a small weekend case each. The main bedroom has a built in wardrobe which would provide some storages space. For us space was not an issue. Very clean, tidy, well equipped and furnished it's location is ideal being at one end of the main road in Angaston. I thought the inclusion of provisions for children was a thoughtful touch which many travelling parents would appreciate and we certainly enjoyed a little chocolate snack with our evening cup of tea. My only comment would be that we found the decor rather overpowering.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPOGGY54, Owner at Angaston Mews Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Yes we are very lucky with the location of Angaston Mews Apartments, as they are situated in the main street but in the quiet end of town...walking distance to pubs, wine-rooms and of'course the world famous Roaring 40's Pizza Place. We are now starting up a Market, every 2nd Sunday of the month, showcasing local artists in the beautiful Angaston Town Hall. So if you every pop back and see us we hope you support our new idea on a sleepy sunday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Angaston is the best location in the Barossa if you want to be in a village area, not too noisy or crowded. The Mews was very nice for our 3 days and Angaston has good restaurants and amenities. The units are a bit cramped but the living and kitchen were well appointed and a pleasure to come back to. There were breakfast provisions as well as a welcoming bottle of sparkly in the fridge! The guest laundry also has a clothes dryer that makes life on the road that bit easier.

The bedrooms are small for the kingsized bed and the other with two large singles. It was comfortable with two adults and would be ok with two others but would be a stretch for any more.

The pizza place 100m down the road is excellent!!

Room Tip: The upstairs units don't have windows opening on to the driveway or front yard/ A bit more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevejomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPOGGY54, Owner at Angaston Mews Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for visiting "Mews" and glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary "Sparkling & Supplies". We have been here for quite a few years and just love the angaston atmosphere & of'course Roaring 40's Pizza, walking distance down the road, is a yummy welcome on a cold & dreary nite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights whilst visiting relatives in the lovely village of Angaston. Well laid out and very welcoming with heat on, lamps on and music on the TV when we arrived. The well stocked fridge with breakfast provisions (bread milk cereal butter vegemite etc) was a real surprise and very thoughtful and welcome (saved a trip to the rather expensive local Foodland). We had an upstairs room (Empire Rose) which is decorated in a lovely mixed asian style. Bedding was very conmfortable with lots of throws etc, nice to wrap whilst in from of the TV or reading. BBQ is very pleasant and BBQ worked very well. Good shower, but plug missing from wash basin, which made shaving a bit difficult for the man of the house. The bedrooms are very small and there is extremely limited space if you have a largish suitcase and carry-on luggage. When both rooms are being used there is effectively no where to put luggage other than on the floor, which means you have to climb over it to get around the other side of the bed. Probably not for 2 couples, a family with small children might be OK but luggage space would still be a problem. Well appointed kitchen. Will definately stay again as the location is very convenient for our purpose of visiting relatives.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPOGGY54, Owner at Angaston Mews Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Many Thanks "Nelliebob" for your review....Yes Angaston is a lovely little village settled in The Barossa Valley and that is why we purchased "The Mews" (nearly 5 years ago) as it is walking distance from Cafe's, Hotels, Wine Rooms & General shopping....They were constructed by a local builder back in the 60's and we have always struggled with his over-all bedroom plan. (rather on the small size). They are what they are and there-fore we try and compensate with putting in added little extra's to make a stay just that much more comfortable....We also try and keep our prices very very competative as there is many B&B's in The Valley. We both love the asian atmosphere and have put splashes of color and themes throughout the 4 Apartments.
As for the plug we do apologise...We were un-aware of it's disappearance till your departure and a replacement has been found....welcome mat is always placed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for four days during our wine tasting trip. Location is at the top end of Angaston, and is actually very quiet, despite being on the main road. We stayed in an upstairs unit, very clean and well laid out in the living space, however the bedrooms are pretty cramped with the king sized bed in them. As it is a two bed unit, we chucked the suitcases in the second bedroom, so were fine, but it would be a serious squeeze with two couples.

Shower was awesome, loads of water pressure. Used the BBQ one night, lots of smoke but cooked fine.

Kitchen is well equipped, and a nice size.

The laundry is shared - not an issue as we were the only couple there most nights, but could be if there are more guests.

Definitely would stay again.

Check in is in Tanunda, not Angaston - we missed that, user error, not their fault.

Room Tip: Upstairs have great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPOGGY54, Owner at Angaston Mews Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank You for your positive feed-back & glad to see you took some "happy snaps" on your most recent visit. My husband & I purchased these units a few years ago and have spent some time & of'course money bringing them back up to a suitable standard for visitors to our beautiful Barossa Valley. This morning we are having the final two bedrooms, upstairs, fitted with Bi-Fold doors which will allow a bit more elbow space. If you do come back and pay us another visit please let the "Getaways Gang" know you are returning guests and we will be happy to to supply some extra Barossa Bites in your fridge for another "Mews" BBQ experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angaston
8.2 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
4.3 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
3.3 mi away
Collingrove Homestead
Collingrove Homestead
#2 of 8 in Angaston
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Barossa House
Barossa House
#3 of 14 in Tanunda
149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Angaston Vineyards Motel
Angaston Vineyards Motel
#1 of 1 in Angaston
58 reviews
11.8 mi away
Barossa Shiraz Estate
Barossa Shiraz Estate
#1 of 4 in Lyndoch
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angaston Mews Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angaston Mews Apartments

Address: 8 Murray St, Angaston, South Australia 5353, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Angaston
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Angaston
Price Range: $141 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angaston Mews Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angaston Mews – “Modern Comfort in the Heart of the Barossa.” Enjoy modern apartment style living with all amenities, including free WiFi. Recently updated with new carpet and fresh paint, each of the 4 apartments is perfect for couples, families, group get-togethers and corporate travelers. Each apartment offers a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, lounge/dining room, LCD TV & DVD player, air conditioning, two bedrooms, one bathroom. Two downstairs apartments have spa baths with showers, while two upstairs apartments have large double showers. Standard bedroom configurations: downstairs 1 x king bed, 2 x singles; Upstairs 2 x king beds. If required, kings may be split into singles or singles joined to be one king. There’s a sofa bed in each apartment allowing for a maximum of six guests. Each apartment has a patio/balcony. Undercover parking, a BBQ/outdoor entertaining area, laundry facilities are also provided. So much to enjoy within walking distance! Strolling through Angaston you’ll find some of the best food in the Barossa as well as cellar doors, bakery, cheese shop, hotels, restaurants, market and more. Angaston is home to the Barossa Farmers Market on Saturday mornings and is just a short drive to the rest of the amazing Barossa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Angaston Mews Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angaston Mews Apartments Barossa Valley, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing