We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yeppoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
While Away Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 7 Yeppoon B&B and Inns
Derby UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Excellent B&B with great hosts Richard and Lois. Lovely location a few minutes from the beach and lovely walk into Yeppon. Excellent breakfast which set us up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMartin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed in a Queen room which was compact but very comfortable with air-con, good sized bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities. The B&B is immaculate with excellent shared guest areas including reading & tv lounges, large dining kitchen and a furnished patio. There is complimentary port and sherry, which we enjoyed as a nightcap one night. Richard and Lois are friendly but discreet hosts and Lois cooked up a great breakfast - choice of eggs plus bacon and cereals, toast, yoghurt and juice. While Away is on a quiet street just a 2 minute drive from the centre of Yeppoon. There is parking for 4 cars. Don't miss Yeppoon's Bat Exodus, every day at dusk, quite a spectacle yet the locals take it for granted.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semi-detached
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Located on a nice quiet street. Some pleasant outside space available for reading, relaxing, drying clothes on a line, etc. Very hospitable and accommodating hosts (new owners) who helped us with sightseeing arrangements and tips. Comfortable room.. Breakfasts were fine - and the hosts went out of their way to provide the types of cereal, tea, etc. that we wanted - but unlike some B&Bs that pride themselves on creative and original breakfasts each morning, these were just standard fare.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed just one night on our return travels from Thala Lodge (also fantastic) near Port Douglas to Brisbane.

Last minute dive into the friendly mayhem of Yeppoon Tourist Info thankfully directed us to Sharyn and While Away for a perfect B&B experience.

2.4Km out of town but walkable on the flat beach, Sharyn's B&B is on a quiet road far from traffic noise and a 2 minute amble onto the beach.

Only 4 rooms so book ahead. We were lucky to pick up a cancellation due to a prevailing low sat over the Queensland coast which might have scuppered others New Year travel plans, but helped us here and in Airlie Beach to get a room!

While Away is perfectly presented, friendly and excellent value. We'll be staying again when traveling through.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChinkChink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed at While Away B&B with Sharyn during our tour frrom Cairns to Brisbane whilst we stayed at a number of locations all of which were very good, I feel that Sharyn and the While Away B&B deserved a special mention.
The location is about 75 Metres from a deserted beach which covers at least 10K.
The B&B was the best we stayed in during our tour 3 week tour.
Sharyn the Landlady was fabulous and extremely helpfull. She had fantastic local knowledge, made a fantastic Breakfast and was good company and conversation.
Nothing appeared to be too much for Sharyn.
The free Port / Sherry , home made cakes and cookies were a nice touch and were alway's freely available.
Yeppoon itself is lovely , small & compact with numerous restuarants and a excellent place to stay on the Cairns / Brisbane drive. Slightly off the beaten track but well worth it.
What is really the bonus of this B&B without a doubt is Sharyn the Landlady.

  • Liked — The Landlady Sharyn
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Unwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yeppoon
1.3 mi away
Oshen Apartments Yeppoon
4.7 mi away
Rosslyn Bay Resort
Rosslyn Bay Resort
#2 of 3 in Yeppoon
146 reviews
10.8 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Emu Park
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coral Inn Yeppoon
Coral Inn Yeppoon
#1 of 7 in Yeppoon
270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surfside Motel Yeppoon
Surfside Motel Yeppoon
#3 of 7 in Yeppoon
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Motel & Holiday Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to While Away Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about While Away Bed and Breakfast

Property: While Away Bed and Breakfast
Address: 44 Todd Ave | Capricorn Coast, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yeppoon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yeppoon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While Away B&B is a purpose built B&B. We offer style, comfort and privacy in a modern home less than 100m to the beach. This property is ideal for couples but unsuitable for children under 10. All rooms have en-suites, television, DVD, air-condition, tea and coffee making facilities. We offer a generous tropical/cooked breakfast-tea/coffee making facilities with cake/biscuits are available at all times. Dining room facilities available for use of guests. Internet and Pay TV is also available. Laundry facilities are available on request. We will do our best to ensure you enjoy your stay in this area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing