We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great flashpackers - great amenities and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Inn Yeppoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Inn Yeppoon
Ranked #1 of 7 Yeppoon B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great flashpackers - great amenities and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

First a warning: If you smoke, don't come here. If you don't smoke, enjoy the smoke-less environment here! The entire place is smoke-free, so you don't have to worry about walking through smoke hazes as you make your way to the kitchen or pool or BBQ or anywhere.

At first, I wasn't sure that we had arrived at the right place - it looks just like a house on a regular street. But it was right and the flashpackers/resort is behind the original house. It is an interesting design to have a regular house at the front and then to have built a two-storey accommodation building behind, but it works. If you are after a quieter retreat, and one that is not too pricey, then this is it. As soon as you walk around the back of the house, you see the "resort" area and considering its smaller space, it is well designed - there is no wasted space.

The building is new and everything is well maintained (so far), although the wallpaper everywhere takes a bit to get used to - particularly the snake skin print on the floor of the upstairs hall. It seems to work well, though, as it helps keep things clean and is easy to clean. We stayed in the King Room and while it has a king-sized bed, the room itself was not overly large. (Apparently it was significantly bigger than the queen room, but that would mean the queen room is quite small.) The room had standard amenities - bed, TV, lights, bar fridge, small sofa, small table, ensuite. The cool thing in the room was that the lights and ceiling fan were controlled with a remote - no more getting out of bed to turn off the lights or change the fan setting!

We didn't use the communal kitchen or living area because we didn't stay in the flashpackers/resort much of the time - mostly just to sleep, but it looked clean and serviceable. The pool looked great, although there is no shade from the sun (this is something that could be improved). The BBQ area looked good as well - again, we didn't stay in for meals, so I can't say if it was really good or not. The sandpit area was great - I really relaxed there and was able to finish some laptop work easily in the relaxed atmosphere. There is free wifi available, but I didn't use it because I already had my own connection.

The owners are friendly and gave a lot of advice, but at times it was too much advice. They mean well and have good intentions and want to give you as much information as they can so that you enjoy your stay. After the initial checking in and a few chance meetings between the house and flashpackers/resort, there was not much interaction, though. This was fine for us as we didn't need/want it, so it helped make it feel like we had a private place to stay and be away from the world.

The only negative is that the distance to the beach is underestimated and we were given directions that were a shortcut, but did not feel safe at night when we didn't know the area. We were told that the flashpackers/resort was only 600-700 metres from the beach along a path through a park. We decided that after driving 9.5 hours, we would walk to dinner because it should have been relatively close. It was on dusk when we left, but it got dark very quickly and we soon found ourselves walking through a mangrove in the dark (with no street lighting) on a concrete path that turned to a dirt track. It was not comfortable and it took about 30 minutes to walk to dinner rather than the 10-15 minutes that we expected (and were told). It really didn't help that the path was unlit and we were in a new place, so we didn't know if it was safe. On the way home from dinner, we decided to stick to the streets and it was 2.3km according to Google Maps.

Overall, though, the flashpackers/resort was what we wanted - a quite place, clean amenities, not frequented by some of the typical types of backpackers, and comfortable. It almost felt like we were staying in a guesthouse rather than a flashpackers/resort. A nice stay~

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele J, General Manager at Coral Inn Yeppoon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your response it is much appreciated :) Hope to see you again anytime in the future. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    48
    7
    9
    14
See reviews for
33
109
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A unique and homely hostel in an underrated part of the coast.
The friendly and knowledgable hosts have created a great place for budget travellers.
It's a decent walk to town but you can hire a bike I believe.. Or 5mins in a car.
I had to get the camera out to take some pics of this place, the wall paper is something else!
I stayed in a 6bed dorm and can honestly say the mattress was the most comfortable I've ever had in any dorm anywhere. Great ensuite too. Only thing I missed was a bedside reading lamp... but really can't complain.
Great kitchen, and super comfy lounge.
Very relaxed vibe here, not so wild party if that's your cup of tea.
Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele J, General Manager at Coral Inn Yeppoon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your response it is much appreciated :) Hope to see you again anytime in the future. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a dorm style room for one night on our way up to the Whitsundays and Cairns. The decor was bright and beautiful, definitely a welcomed change from the drabness of other hostels I have stayed in. The bathroom was attached to the dorm and we lucked out because we were the only guests in the girls dorm the night we stayed. The owners were friendly and gave us some ideas about local sightseeing and cuisine. It is about a ten minute walk to the shops and restaurants. If you don't want to walk I am sure it is not that expensive of a cab ride to get to the main area of Yeppoon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele J, General Manager at Coral Inn Yeppoon, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you fro your review your welcome any time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubbo
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one might in a queen room. Must admit to being put off by the fact it is in a residential/light industrial area and in the owners backyard, but the owner offered to show me the room which allayed any doubts. Everything was new & fresh.
The room is small but comfortable & has most things you expect. No hair dryer, but I'm sure if I'd asked one would have been provided.
Our breakfast was delicious & brought to our room so we could eat on the deck. You must try the home made sausages.
The kitchen is very well equipped & other guests were taking advantage. The adjoining communal dining table & huge lounge is great too.
The owners were very welcoming, helpful, & friendly.
We've stayed in many hotels & motels all over the world and know Coral Inn is great value for money, just don't expect 5 star glitz. We recommend it and will definitely choose to stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellieDubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele J, General Manager at Coral Inn Yeppoon, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you fro your review your welcome any time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Rooms were clean and tidy, reasonably priced. Great set out, nice pool and chill out area. We stayed in the queen size room, dorms looked great as well. We would go back again. Only down fall is if you are a smoker you are not allowed to smoke anywhere on the property.

Room Tip: We went with the queen size room for a bit more space. Dorms would be great if you were travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele J, General Manager at Coral Inn Yeppoon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you were here :) Come back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here with a friend on the way up the east coast, fantastic little find and couldn't have been more welcoming even though we were a little late! Owners were knowledgable on the area and we will be going back as we travel down!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele J, General Manager at Coral Inn Yeppoon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you were here :) Come back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very comfortable rooms, very modern. The owner was very helpful and willing to assist. The bedding was comfortable and the furnishings were excellent. Free wi fi worked well. The well appointed kitchen was clean and tidy. We took our own towels which was not a problem. Being cooler weather we did not need air conditioning but there was a ceiling fan in the room and windows for ventilation. I would recommend anyone staying here.

Room Tip: We had a room on the higher floor, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northalaskachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele J, General Manager at Coral Inn Yeppoon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you were here :) Come back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yeppoon
4.0 mi away
Rosslyn Bay Resort
Rosslyn Bay Resort
#2 of 3 in Yeppoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
9.4 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Emu Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oshen Apartments Yeppoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Surfside Motel Yeppoon
Surfside Motel Yeppoon
#3 of 7 in Yeppoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Coast Motel
The Coast Motel
#2 of 7 in Yeppoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.7 mi away
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Inn Yeppoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Inn Yeppoon

Property: Coral Inn Yeppoon
Address: 14 Maple Street, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia (Formerly Coral Inn Resort & Flashpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yeppoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yeppoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Inn Yeppoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Inn Yeppoon is a short-term boutique accommodation and holiday destination. Appealing to guests wanting convenience and something out of the ordinary. Chill out in a relaxing atmosphere with swimming pool, barbecue and fully equipped commercial kitchen and TV lounge. All rooms are modern and quiet with their own en-suite, a flat-screen TV and fridge. Free WiFi and homemade breakfast a la Carte is available. The property is conveniently situated in the heart of Yeppoon just a 2-minute drive to Yeppoon Main Beach. Close proximity and within walking distance of: Yeppoon Central Shopping Centre (500 m); Yeppoon Fore-shore, with Restaurants, Cafe’s, Shops & Pubs; Yeppoon CBD; Library and Yeppoon Central Hospital. The coastal town of Yeppoon offers beautiful beaches of the Capricorn Coast. The whole coastline is protected by the Southern Great Barrier Reef and the Keppel Bay Island Group located only 13 km offshore. The Capricorn Coast has some of the most picturesque and safe swimming beaches in Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Inn Yeppoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing