We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Capricorn Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

OK, I've just read the last couple of reviews and I am confused about a number of things. Firstly, I live in Rockhampton which is approximately 40k from Yeppoon. I have 2 daughters (13 and 11) we own a caravan and travel to the coast as often as we can as the kids just love it. We have stayed at all the parks on the coast and this one stands out for me. Hard to find? Not at all - there are at least 3 signs indicating the turnoff prior. The "Facilities" are not dated they are BRAND NEW!! The jumping pillow, the climbing Gym and the swings in the enormous sandy play area were only completed in early 2012 and the spectacular waterslide was only completed in July / August 2012. The additional swimming only pool is older but is immaculate and inviting and the camp kitchen has also seen a few summers, but is clean, tidy, shaded and has everything you would ever need. The Ammennities have been there a while, but are clean, tidy and are far from tired. They have just completed (as in TODAY) 4 Brand New cabins which sleep 6 and overlook the pool and slide. The park is immaculately kept, grass mown and well watered, trees trimmed and bins emptied daily. This is an oasis, beautiful palm trees, grassy areas and an abundance of picnic tables scattered throughout the park so you can enjoy the beauty. The park is about an 800m from Mullumbin Beach and is an easy, 10min scenic coastal drive into the heart of yeppoon. The causeway lake fish and chip shop is about 1 min drive south, or the Rosslyn Bay Marina is about 3 minutes in the opposite direction - and has easy access for fishing, boating or crabbing. The onsite shop is modest, but sells, ice-creams, cold drinks and lollies for the kids as well a very limited number of other things. The reception staff and the grounds keepers are always friendly and helpful, especially to the kids which is a really nice touch. There is always a cool sea-breeze blowing and plenty of shady trees to help keep cool. Then you have the regular Big 4 things, kids activities, hire bikes and outdoor movies, they even have a resident Emu that roams around the huge grassy area at the back of the park. Now, I am just a traveller, I have no vested interest in the place - I just hate to see a great place put down for no real reason and I have stayed at many other Big 4 parks (see my reviews) both good and bad. If you are expecting Big 4 Adventure Whitsunday Airlie Beach, Big 4 Coconut Caravan Resort Cairns or Big 4 North Star Holiday Resort Hastings Point, you may be slightly disappointed by size and inclusions. However In my humble opinion Big 4 Capricorn Palms is one of the best around, definitely the best in our area. Give it a go, we love it and I'm sure you will too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your outstanding review! We try our absolute best here at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village to continue to provide the best facilities and service we can for our customers. It is great to see you have mentioned the location and things to see and do in the immediate area as a lot of negative feedback is that were are out of the way from everything. If we were positioned anywhere else I don't believe that we would have such a peaceful, safe, quiet environment. Look forward to your return, have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 194 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just stayed for 4 nights at the Capricorn Palms in a powered site. The timing of our visit happened to coincide with school holidays which was unfortunate for us as the park was extremely busy with families with school age kids. This park seemed to attract families on short term holidays rather than travellers like us.

Our children are pre school age and were not really old enough to enjoy the new water slide which looked like lots of fun for kids a bit older. The grounds did seem quite well maintained. The amenity block was often untidy and dirty during our stay but I think that had more to do with the volume of people using it especially children.

The park did have school holiday entertainment. They had live music one night which was advertised to finish at 7:30pm. It did not finish until well after 8pm. Unfortunately for us, we were positioned right next to the camp kitchen and it was difficult to get our young children to sleep with all the noise.

My biggest complaint would be that the water temperature in the showers was hard to regulate - we have stayed in caravan parks all over Australia for the last 8 months and these were probably the hardest showers to regulate the water temperature - a big problem when trying to shower small children.

Yeppoon is a good choice for travellers to stay at in preference to Rockhampton but I would suggest staying outside of school holidays if you want to avoid the crowds.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mewett_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback on board and talk to staff to see how we can better our procedures and service in the park. Your comments have been discussed and we have implemented a better way of advertising park events. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Had never stayed at a big 4, I knew the cabins were 'budget' so wasn't expecting anything more. The grounds were immaculate and beautiful. Play area for the kids was a HIT. Waterside was great also! Only constructive critism would be the staff not getting back to us on two occasions with our queries. Also not telling everyone about the Saturday night movies for kids - of which everyone would have been interested in. I requested it and got to watch it anyway :) all in all a great weekend away for our family. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateleakona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your honest review, have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for one night in a campervan on a wet July day. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We were directed to a grassy area at the back of the site of which due to the weather I was concerned about getting off the next day, this turned out unfounded. The facilities were clean and unbusy. There was a bus stop at the top of the road into the site so was able to get into town which probably did not look it's best due to the weather. We were able to hire a DVD for the night from reception which was useful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phlipfolop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Arrived here after 3 weeks in central Australia and it was an oasis. Green grass peace and quiet and 5 mon walk to the beach.
The staff were very friendly and made great fish and chips on Saturday night.
The facilities block was nice and clean and the park always nice and tidy.
The visiting Emu was a special treat.
The water slide was almost finished and looked very inviting. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rangus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Initial impression of checkin staff not great, but beautiful park, just a long way from anything. Even a little bit of a hike to the beach, through a new housing estate being developed.

A very well kept park, and they are currently building a waterslide for the pool, but showers are terrible. Terrible, temperature control, terrible water pressure, terrible (water saver high pressure) flow. They do have a kids bathroom with bath, which is great for young families.

Room Tip: The grass sites out the back are quiet and nice. Just a little further to walk to amenities, but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkKristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for your review,
It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on our way north to Airlie Beach. Thought that being a Big 4 it would have high standards but when we looked at the cabins they didn't have any. We have stayed at a lot of Big 4 cabins but this one nearly turned us off the Big 4 group. The place to stay at Yeppoon is the Top Tourist Caravan park in one of the chalets. We are not caravaners so cannot comment for caravaners.

Room Tip: Stay at the Top Tourist park down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonno1_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Marketing Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Good Afternoon,
It is unfortunate to hear you were disappointed with your stay, in the last year we have strived to make the style of the cabins more appealing. We have renovated 6 and built extra 2 bedroom deluxe villas in a modern, fresh colour scheme. We value our customer’s feedback and recent information provided shows our guests are happy with the variety of accommodation options we have on offer.
Thank you for your feedback,
Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yeppoon
4.9 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Emu Park
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rosslyn Bay Resort
Rosslyn Bay Resort
#3 of 3 in Yeppoon
169 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oshen Apartments Yeppoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Coolwaters, Yeppoon
9.3 mi away
Great Keppel Island Holiday Village
Great Keppel Island Holiday Vill...
#2 of 7 in Great Keppel Island
212 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coral Inn Yeppoon
Coral Inn Yeppoon
#1 of 7 in Yeppoon
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village

Address: Wildin Way | Mulambin, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yeppoon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Yeppoon
Price Range: $69 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capricorn Coast's Favourite Holiday Destination! With Queenslands biggest outdoor theatre, our very popular 34m waterslide, 2 playgrounds, kangaroo jumper (jumping pillow), pedelcarts, beautifully maintained gardens and sites, BIG4 Capricorn Palms is sure to impress! We are the closest accommodation park to the Rosslyn Bay Marina (transfers in and out for Great Keppel Island) and are located a short 250m stroll to the gorgeous Yeppoon Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing