We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins not up to standard of Big 4”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cabins not up to standard of Big 4”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on our way north to Airlie Beach. Thought that being a Big 4 it would have high standards but when we looked at the cabins they didn't have any. We have stayed at a lot of Big 4 cabins but this one nearly turned us off the Big 4 group. The place to stay at Yeppoon is the Top Tourist Caravan park in one of the chalets. We are not caravaners so cannot comment for caravaners.

Room Tip: Stay at the Top Tourist park down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonno1_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Marketing Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Good Afternoon,
It is unfortunate to hear you were disappointed with your stay, in the last year we have strived to make the style of the cabins more appealing. We have renovated 6 and built extra 2 bedroom deluxe villas in a modern, fresh colour scheme. We value our customer’s feedback and recent information provided shows our guests are happy with the variety of accommodation options we have on offer.
Thank you for your feedback,
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    43
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
69
55
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here one night with a Motorhome. We were located on the grass area next to the pool and kitchen. It could be quite busy during summer (with kids) but it was raining so there was not a lot of activity. The facilities are somewhat dated, but clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tree1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Marketing Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Since the time of your stay management and the Capricorn Palms team have put in a lot of time and effort to update the facilities. We are always looking for ways to improve the park and our guest feedback always helps with that.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We called in at Yeppoon Big4 after not having been here for years, we were disapointed! Firstly it is difficult to find, especially in the dark when you are tired and have driven a long way! The cabins were old and dated, we only were staying one night on the way north and asked about local retaurants, we were directed to only one place, which was very nice, ( on the marina), but cost an arm and a leg to eat there, there was no mention of the restaurant, which we found on our second sta on the way south, which was good, clean, wholesome food and cheap to eat at! We called in on the way south to look around the area as we had never really stayed in Yeppoon for more than a night and we thought it would be good to have a look. We asked for a cabin that got sun as it was winter and got cool in the mornings and at night, we were given the only cabin that was blocked from the sun by a large tree and some bannana trees! Again, we didn't see that till the morning as we had driven a long way that day. The area was a disapointment, the beach and the view of the Islands could not be faulted however, the towns of Yeppoon and Emu point were not very appealing, a lot of closed places, nothing much for the tourist, unless they wanted to spend a fourtune, but hey, thats just my opinion, others may find it fine, I would not go back to that area again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Marketing Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your review,
It has been mentioned by some guests that we are hard to find but we have plans to fix this issue with better signage position. In relation to places to eat, there are 3 options in our immediate area to eat which we do refer guests to. If you wished to see more options there are also compendiums in our cabins which give you a lot of information about the area. There is also an information booklet in our office which is handed out to guests on arrival with 13 restaurants and 10 takeaway outlets featured in it. At the time of your stay there were some shops closed, but closed for renovation. The Capricorn area has seen huge population growth and because of this we have a new shopping centre in Emu Park and 2 shopping centres in Yeppoon. It’s great to see people moving to the area for what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed just one night, and the staff could not have been friendlier. Facilities were excellent. Kids had a great time with the activities, there was plenty to do. Cabin was tidy and well positioned and had everything we needed. We would definitely stay again, had a great time, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meems123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Marketing Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your great review we appreciate it, and we hope to see you again soon!
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of their basic cabins for one night. It was clean and provided everything we needed. Since it wasn't an ensuite cabin it was convenient that it was close to the bathrooms. We liked the location since it was quiet and close to the ocean. The lady at the reception was very friendly and it seems like they offer a lot of things children enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schiepchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Marketing Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review,
It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed in a ensuite cabin which was comfortable. Kids playground was good but lacked shade which was unfortunate as it was very hot when we stayed. Everyone was in the pool which proved to be a bit small.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divinefeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Marketing Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi and thank you for your review,
We have had structural engineers in the park since your stay assessing the best way to provide shade over the playground as it is such a big area. We have held meetings concerning the completion date it has not been set but will be posted on our social networking sites as soon as we know. Addressing the pool, we understand that in peak it does get quite a few guests wanting to use it but since the addition of the waterslide and splash pool we have seen that the main pool is more available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed on a powered site for 3 nights in peak season. The site was quite large and the ground good for pitching a tent. The grass is very well kept (I have seen worse golf courses). The staff were very helpful. There is a kids club which runs for about an hour a day and an outdoor movie at night. The pool is quite small for the size of the park but is OK for cooling off. My main gripe would be that the camp kitchen is too small also and there is a bit of a wait at times for facilities. If there was one improvement I would suggest it would be to enlarge the kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmigrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capricornpalms, Marketing Manager at BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your nice review,
We appreciate your feedback and are glad to report that since your stay we have added another BBQ area close to our open plan cabins and campgrounds. We now have six BBQs in the park. Hopefully with the upgrade more people will have access to cooking facilities in busy times.
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yeppoon
1.4 mi away
Rosslyn Bay Resort
Rosslyn Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Yeppoon
151 reviews
4.9 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Emu Park
98 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oshen Apartments Yeppoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
#2 of 17 in Rockhampton
275 reviews
9.3 mi away
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
#3 of 7 in Great Keppel Island
102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kinka Palms Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village

Property: BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
Address: Wildin Way | Mulambin, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yeppoon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Yeppoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful landscaped park, only 300 metres from the beach. Located halfway between Yeppoon and Emu Park on the Capricorn Coast. Close to Rosslyn Bay Marina to visit or stay at Great Keppel Island or launch the boat to go fishing. Why not go walking at Capricorn Coast National Park and see the turtles and dolphins swimming? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing