We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Tasty”

Megalomania Bar & Bistro
Reserve with
Megalomania Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Yeppoon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: With indoor and outdoor seating available in an eclectic atmosphere, you can enjoy a relaxing lunch, romantic dinner or anything in between. Megalomania's menu is contemporary cuisine consisting of tapas-style short food, entrees, mains and desserts. Partnered with an extensive range of craft beers, wines and expertly crafted cocktails. Megalomania caters for groups ranging from 2 people to over 100 and we are experts at creating a memorable experience for your special occasion - whether that be a business meeting, high tea, birthday party or your wedding. For function & wedding packages, please contact us so we can tailor the event to your needs. Megalomania has a dedicated function room, with large screen projector and microphone, as well as a gorgeous deck under our famous fig tree for outdoor events.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis of Tasty”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

On vacation from Brisbane I was under no illusions about dining-out options in a small town and went to megalomania hoping for an agreeable meal. I was soon delighted however to be perusing an impressive menu in a wonderfully atmospheric venue. Seated and attended to by warm, friendly and very helpful staff and swiftly served a refreshing cocktail on recommendation from the manager herself, my big-smoke snobbery dissolved with the heat wave outside. I decided to have two entrees - quality and unbelievable value for money - the barramundi spring rolls were tasty and the soft-shell crab (often small and chewy elsewhere) was morish and all meals were presented with style and pride. I have to admit to skipping the mains in favour of the dessert tasting platter - a devilish array of little donuts, cheesecake, creame brûlée and more - make sure you leave room for dessert! What more can I say - Megalomania is the only place to eat out in Yeppoon - wish I'd found it sooner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnyclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    76
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, QLD
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, lovely food, great value”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went for dinner and was seated under the awning out the back. After an incredibly hot day, this was a haven, with a lovely cool breeze making the tropical night very pleasant. A great place for a casual dinner.

The menu has lots of choice, with a selection of tapas that you could easily make into a full meal. We were with my elderly parents so went with the more traditional option of entree, main, dessert. Between 4 of us we ordered 2 entrees which were plenty to share - the tempura prawns were divine as were the barramundi spring rolls! Most of the entrees can be purchased in main size too so heaps of options. I had the duck rice paper rolls but have to admit I had food envy watching my mum eat the barramundi and my partner tucking into the soft shell crab - luckily they let me try some!

We got a share platter for dessert which was yum and worked well because we all like different things - I love a rich mud cake and Meglomanias is for the die hards who can handle chocolate on chocolate. The raspberry ice cream on the platter was the perfect accompaniment for it!

We went on a Friday night so there was some non-invasive live music that really set the mood for dinner out in the open. worth walking the couple of hundred meters back from the beach to enjoy it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missnatalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shame about the mains”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

In Yeppoon for a couple of nights and was therefore trying to experience the best food in the region. Going by previous reviews MB&B was top restaurant. The dinner started nice with superb tapas (octopus) followed by wonderful entrees (Peking duck rolls and pork belly). Unfortunately the mains were just not up to the same scratch. The chicken was very dry and the salmon was as well. Seems like it was left under on the pass much too long. When asked the manager was nice and offered to recook the meals and as well as coffee but the overall the night was marred by the experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Recently had the experience of Megalomania for a birthday celebration for dinner. The ambience was very nice and the entertainment was a highlight. The service was very attentive. The dips as an entree are great. The kids at the table loved the bags of goodies for them. We took a cake with us which was no problem for them to handle. To sum up....it was a great night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We always try and grab lunch here when we visit Yeppoon. The food is always tasty, well prepared and presented and with many interesting menu choices. The seating in the courtyard under the trees is a great way to enjoy the outdoors indoors on a hot Capricornia day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SEQLDCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Megalomania Bar & Bistro also viewed

Yeppoon, Queensland
 
Yeppoon, Queensland
 

Been to Megalomania Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing