We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, great accommodation”

Domain Stradbroke Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Stradbroke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domain Stradbroke Resort
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, great accommodation”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My husband and I decided to go to Straddie for my birthday. We picked the Domain resort (now an all Seasons) because my father and his young family had stayed there a couple of Christmases ago in one of the 4 bedroom rooms and we loved it! Because it was just the two of us this time we booked into a "beach shack" which is a loft style self contained one bedroom apartment. The accommodation was modern and clean. There was no dryer, but it did have a close airier that we could dry our clothes on.
We actually saw a kangaroo and other wildlife while sitting on the back deck less than 15 metres away from us!
The beach was literally across the road, and the famous Straddie pup a short walk up the hill.
We had a fabulous time and would definitely go back again and recommend to others :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shanniestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed in one of the shacks at the back of the resort. Great room and a private deck looking out to the bush with goannas passing by daily. The room was clean and well appointed. Little breakfast packs provided in the fridge but you can't go past the full cooked breakfast at the onsite cafe, it was awsome! Friendly staff and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quuensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This was our second stay at Domain. We stayed in one of the 4 bedroom Villa with friends & family. The Villa was clean when we arrived (cleaner than it was last year). The bedding & towels were pristine. The kitchen was well stocked with crockery & cuttlery with a good range of pans etc. The location of this resort is perfect for the beach, just a short stroll across a road & through some trees. The only thing that was missing from our holiday was our dog, as the resort does not allow pets.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DroopDraws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We arrived to find that the two units we had booked - firstly weren't put side by side as told. Both air-conditioners didn't work and one washing machine was out of order. The sand wasn't cleaned from the floors and one of our bathrooms wasn't cleaned at all and was filthy. Their gym room had sand all over the floor and looked like it was never cleaned.

On the positive side though, the pool was great and was heated. The location is good, straight across the road is an oval/park and direct access to the beach. The rooms themselves (we stayed in one b'room shacks) were roomy and had everything you need.

We advised front office of our problems and were advised that the cleaning is contracted out and they would talk to them. They did give us back a portion of our fees as refund for the air-conditioners not working. So hopefully they will take our feedback on board and make it a cleaner place. We were really lucky and got to see a koala in a tree off our back balcony and kookaburra's in the trees.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCHGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bheynatz, General Manager at Domain Stradbroke Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2011
The issues raised are not common. Over the Christmas period it is however difficult to get tradesmen to the island for unforseen maintenance issues, such as those listed. I hope that a return to the resort will help dispell the idea that the property is in need of maintenance.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Dirty. Very poor level of cleanliness for a 4 star resort. Quite disappointing. Very strange layout with the main bedroom in a separate detached room which meant we had to lock the kids in the main part of the building, cross the deck and sleep in a separate locked room. Heated pool was freezing cold.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bheynatz, Manager at Domain Stradbroke Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Stradbroke Domain Resort has recently entered into a branding agreement with Accor Hotels, under the All Seasons banner. As a part of this change, we have employed a professional cleaning company to raise the standard of all resort services.

We hope that you give us the opportunity to show the positive changes that have occurred at the resort by staying with us in the future.

Thankyou for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Stradbroke Island hotels

brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The photos looked nice.. advertised as a romantic getaway.. Domain is usually good where we have stayed before.. the shacks looked great in the photos.... reception was pleasant.. but the room.. there was a pile a dirt on the "lounge" which apparently happens all the time in that room.. its from a faulty sky light... same crap on the chair like someone had been standing on it.. sand and grotty crud on the floor.. the bathroom is literally an outhouse.. .. the nice looking long lounge in the photo is really a long box with plastic sticky vinyl on it...the chairs had long dirty drip marks on the back as did the cupboards...checked in and checked straight out... disgrace.. left a note with reception.. as it was closed at 4.15pm on Friday!!!!.. didnt even get a phone call or email from them!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tih1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bheynatz, Manager at Domain Stradbroke Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Stradbroke Domain Resort has recently entered into a branding agreement with Accor Hotels, under the All Seasons banner. As a part of this change, we have employed a professional cleaning company to raise the standard of all resort services.

We hope that you give us the opportunity to show the positive changes that have occurred at the resort by staying with us in the future.

Thankyou for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The Domain stradbroke was a great place to spend a weekend on Stradbroke, Clean and spacious, it did the job for us. The only critisism is the distance from Point Lookout - too far to walk so you have to drive

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FS&JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Stradbroke Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
131 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#5 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Point Lookout
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pandanus Palms Resort
Pandanus Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Point Lookout
63 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sea Shanties
Sea Shanties
#1 of 1 in Amity
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domain Stradbroke Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domain Stradbroke Resort

Property: Domain Stradbroke Resort
Address: 43-47 East Coast Road | Point Look Out, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North Stradbroke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In keeping with the relaxed feel of Stradbroke Island, Domain Stradbroke Resort is a collection of 82 stylish beach shacks and villas. Located adjacent to Home Beach, one of Queensland's few north facing beaches, the resort is an easy stroll to Point Lookout, with its spectacular views north along Moreton Island and east to the horizon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domain Stradbroke Hotel North Stradbroke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing