We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 weeks bliss at Bradburys Beach campground Dunwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Straddie Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Stradbroke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Straddie Camping
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“2 weeks bliss at Bradburys Beach campground Dunwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time we have camped at Bradburys Beach, Straddie. This time we bought 2 other families and we towed our boats up as well (from Sydney). We stayed here out of school holidays and had the campground all to ourselves. Blessed 25-30deg days and one night of rain. Bradburys beach campground was good for us as we had 2 boats and about 8 kayaks. We kayaked to a few of the wrecks close by and we also boated up to Morton Island and across to Peel Island. Staying here gave us easy access to the beaches for 4wding. Heaps of wildlife to see. One morning we saw a koala working through the campground. Some great isolated spots to visit if you have a 4wd. We really loved the Keyhole lakes. Driving to it was a challenge but being able to kayak the lakes was so worth it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Shane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    40
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
26
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Camped here with the kids for 3 nights outside school holidays and we all loved it.
Only metres from Cylinder beach and a short walk to the Straddie pub.
Lovely, small campground with a great atmosphere. Coffee van was there every morning which was great.
Definitely recommend this place, almost didn't want to write a review as we wanted to keep it a secret to ourselves.
Although i would imagine the place would be very crowded and busy during peak times - cant comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barkeefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We camp at Flinders Beach every year for 2 weeks, but there are so few photos of the serenity. Darryl Kerrington (the Castle movie) eat you heart out! Had to write this to upload them. Here they are.
Outside of school holidays you virtually have the place to yourself.
But take everything you need with you. Other than toilets there is nothing here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank BrisVegasFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Straddie Camping, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Those are some fantastic photos of Straddie, BrisVegasFamily. We especially love the sunset shot. Thanks for loving camping on Straddie as much as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked a powered site and was quite surprised by the size of the site. Very nice holiday atmosphere, no noise after 9 pm which was great. Facilities were clean, and there is an Ice Truck doing the rounds every morning for fresh ice. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back over Christmas. Really lovely beach and surrounding areas. Most campsites are Shaded as well which is great in the hot months and a big positive attraction for us.

Room Tip: Would recommend a powered site in December to be able to run a Fan and small refrigerator, as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamperPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I loved this campsite! It's in an amazing location, you can camp right on the beach! The facilities are great, toilets and showers are really clean and there is a shop selling everything you'd need close by. If you camp by the beach it's a little walk to the toilets at night but it's worth it because you're in a beautiful location. I'd love to go again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lp23egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Amity and wish we'd spent longer. It felt like home. All the other people in the camp site are so friendly and the staff at the camping grounds were very helpful. We are plannign to head back with some school groups to learn all about the islands history, environment and cultural heritage. We stayed in the cabins and they are perfect for couple, family and even corporates looking for a place to disconnect.

Room Tip: Get out and learn more about the island and not just sit around yoru camp site. It is amazing and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint781229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a fantastic time with heaps to do and the staff were great, had some clouds but there is still plenty to do, that's why we have to go back to finish seeing everything. if you like the camping you'll love this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonkinkao_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Stradbroke Island hotels
3.5 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
5.0 mi away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#4 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Shanties
Sea Shanties
#1 of 1 in Amity
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pandanus Palms Resort
Pandanus Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Point Lookout
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Islander Holiday Resort
The Islander Holiday Resort
#7 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straddie Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straddie Camping

Property: Straddie Camping
Address: Amity Point, Point Lookout | Flinders Beach, Main Beach, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in North Stradbroke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Straddie Camping on North Stradbroke Island offers six beachfront camping grounds with powered and unpowered tent, camper trailer and caravan sites, and 20 air-conditioned cabins. For 'back to nature' camping, there are also hundreds of camping sites nestled among the sand dunes, and overlooking the Island's iconic white sandy beaches. Popular for surfing, scuba diving, kayaking, and bushwalking; the Island is renowned for dolphins, turtles, manta-rays, kangaroos and koalas, and the annual humpback whale migration. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing