We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just camping.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Straddie Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Stradbroke Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Straddie Camping
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than just camping.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Amity and wish we'd spent longer. It felt like home. All the other people in the camp site are so friendly and the staff at the camping grounds were very helpful. We are plannign to head back with some school groups to learn all about the islands history, environment and cultural heritage. We stayed in the cabins and they are perfect for couple, family and even corporates looking for a place to disconnect.

Room Tip: Get out and learn more about the island and not just sit around yoru camp site. It is amazing and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint781229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    40
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
56
26
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a fantastic time with heaps to do and the staff were great, had some clouds but there is still plenty to do, that's why we have to go back to finish seeing everything. if you like the camping you'll love this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonkinkao_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was out fourth time camping at Cylinder Beach. You are 1 minute from the sea each morning, basic but clean facilities, friendly staff and a really great family atmosphere on the site. My guess is that more than half the campers are 'regulars' - including some that have been coming for 20 years+. Can't wait for next year,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location as you can walk onto a quite beach. Plenty of space under the trees to spread yourself out. But the prime positions down near the beach do fill up quickly. Good clean facilities inc showers for use. Pretty much everything you need to look for in a camp ground.

Room Tip: If you can get by the beach you ae doign well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dexcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We camped from Thursday 15 November - Saturday 17 November. Originally planned to stay until Sunday; however, we chose to pack up and depart based on storm predictions.

This was our first time to North Stradbroke Island and based on advice from friends, we chose to camp at Adder Rock near Point Lookout. Their advice hit the spot!!!! We chose a spot near the beach; yes, somewhat unprotected, however you are rewarded with direct views across to Moreton and wonderful expanse of shore to stroll and relax.

The facilities were well maintained by the new Ranger who was quite resourceful in answering a wide array of questions about fishing, surf conditions and RAIN.

All in all... Straddie is a special place. Do visit Brown Lake and do not forget collect your rubbish.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maljoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Really great amenities, friendly staff and the beach is magnificent!!!! We come here twice a year every year and have done so for the past 4 years... Very kid friendly! Keep in mind though peak times esp Christmas and Easter are fully packed and if you're not a fan of being close to your camping neighbours then not an ideal time to come.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Danlovesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Had a great time at Straddie and the very nice people at the camp site made it better. We got there a bit early and the friendly lady at the entrance let us set up camp. Lots of space although all the beach front sites were taken. Only gripe being the toilets and showers not in great condition. Needs a bit of a makeover and supply of proper poo paper.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Issadeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Stradbroke Island hotels
3.5 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
5.0 mi away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#4 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Shanties
Sea Shanties
#1 of 1 in Amity
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Islander Holiday Resort
The Islander Holiday Resort
#8 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.7 mi away
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Point Lookout
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straddie Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straddie Camping

Property: Straddie Camping
Address: Amity Point, Point Lookout | Flinders Beach, Main Beach, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in North Stradbroke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Straddie Camping on North Stradbroke Island offers six beachfront camping grounds with powered and unpowered tent, camper trailer and caravan sites, and 20 air-conditioned cabins. For 'back to nature' camping, there are also hundreds of camping sites nestled among the sand dunes, and overlooking the Island's iconic white sandy beaches. Popular for surfing, scuba diving, kayaking, and bushwalking; the Island is renowned for dolphins, turtles, manta-rays, kangaroos and koalas, and the annual humpback whale migration. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing