We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Islander Holiday Resort
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Reading plenty of reviews before we made our final decision of where to stay during our first holiday to Stradbroke, we thought perhaps those giving bad reviews were being picky and negative about this place. Upon leaving this resort we felt very let down and had to agree with majority of them.

Room: if wanting a single room, request a room that is not accessible through a wooden door to ajoining rooms or else you will be able to hear the people in the adjoining room. Who knows what they heard from us, they had a small child, which was very awkward and made us feel like we needed to whisper.

Cleaning: the general cleaning was good of floors, table tops and bathroom. The plates, cups and cutlery on the other hand were dirty with old food and smears and it seems this goes on a trust system that the number of guests before you actually bothered to clean them properly. Don't supply kitchen goods if you are not going to ensure they are cleaned to a certain standard inbetween guests. We are not picky, it just ruins the experience and appetite finding crusted on food over forks, spoons, under plates and milk and other liquid residue in cups and finger smears on the plastic.

Other: We were told that the internet was included in our price....we found this out after first going and asking that evening if there was internet connection and being handed the paper by Rebecca. Then we went a day tossing up whether we wanted to pay another $50 just to get internet in our room, only after we went back and said we decided not to use it were we then told it was already included. however as it turned out they didn't have a strong enough modem that reached our room. so we naturally paid for internet use and then used our car to drive up to the beach lookouts to use our own phone internet.

Two very good things about this resort:The gentleman who also runs management was very welcoming and cheerful. The other was the bed, big and comfy! So if you happen to only encounter him, look forward to a good nights sleep, don't plan on using the kitchen, and get a room close to the office with no side entry into ajoining rooms then I can understand how you could give this more points.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brownpig86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 64 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

The photos online of this hotel are very misleading and look nothing like the hotel room does. My room had 8 wasp nests on the balcony i was stung by a swarm of them within 10 minutes of arriving. Went to reception to get help and the staff response was " Well what do you want me to do about it?" Not even a proper first aid kit in the hotel. The door on my shower fell off when i opened it. No help after advising staff. Went there with a large group of us all staying in different rooms. 2 of the rooms fridges were out of order. Not one of the 6 rooms had a working clothes dryer (all had broken clothes dryers). The hot water systems are tiny only 1 person can have a short hot shower before running out of hot water. The fans in all of the rooms were rusted beyond being useable. All of the rooms stunk and had some form of insect or bugs nesting in them. Not enough linen and nearly all of the linen was dirty upon arrival. Was lucky i left my children at home or i would have been asking for a refund and staying elsewhere

Room Tip: Large units tend to have a working fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meagan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed in studio room 15, the room was clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking excellent gardens, pool and tennis court.There is no air con but at no time did i require it as the breeze was incredible. Short walk to the "home beach", and not much further to the pub . The locals are extremeley friendly and heplfull.If you have no luck fishing see Mark at the fish shop (point Lookout) for some straight off the boat seafood,the rooms have cooking facilities and full sized fridge comes in handy. Bill and Rebecca the resorts managers are friendly and helpfull in every aspect you will need to fullfill your island getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sopovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We are currently on our way home having just spent 10 glorious nights on North Stradbroke island staying at The Islander Resort. It is ideally located 150m from Home beach, 100m for a good coffee and a short walk to the Straddie hotel and bowling club.

We are a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 children aged nearly 10 and 7. We travelled with our friends and their 4 children 11,10,6,4.

Our units,13&14 were adjacent providing the ideal situation for sharing meals and children traipsing from one unit to the other.

As each unit is privately owned they are furnished differently, however we were most impressed with the comfortable furniture and well equipped kitchens. There was no shortage of crockery, glassware and utensils.

The apartments are massive so there was loads of space for everyone. The bathroom was big too with a laundry at one end. You certainly do not find units this size in the newer complexes.

There is no air con which was not an issue at all as the breeze coming through was more than sufficient. So don't be put off by other people's comments!!

The pool area was very popular with us everyday and provided welcome shade with big umbrellas. The BBQ area was impeccably clean.

The office offered tennis racquets as well as a good range if DVDs and books for a small fee.

If you are after a genuine break away then Straddie is the place to go. It is so relaxed and un spoilt that you can really chill out and just enjoy the beautiful surroundings from the great beaches and visits to blue lake and brown lake.

Best to do a big shop at the local Woolies in Cleveland before you catch the ferry across, however the butcher at Dunwich is excellent as is Bobs food works in point lookout.

Our only hiccup was the broken bed rail on the bunk bed was broken and not fixed posing a big safety risk. We placed the spare trundle mattress on the floor as well as a pillow on edge of bed. This most certainly must be fixed prior to be let out again.

We highly recommend The Islander especially for being such good value for money.

We look forward to returning soon!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

In defence of the Islander resort - it doesn't pretend to offer anything other than value for money good family holiday accommodation. We have holidayed there on five occasions and it amply accomodates our 4 older children. The gardens, BBQ and pool are always beautifully maintained. The tennis court is an added bonus. Yes the apartment block is circa 1970s but the rooms are spacious and airy, well appointed, comfortable and in my experience clean on arrival. I would recommend the Islander as good value for money and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ground floor is where we like to stay - an easy stroll to the beach, tennis court and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first holiday away as a family since the birth of our twin girls. Like most people, we expect a basic level of cleanliness and hygiene for $200 per night. The apartment was filthy. The smell upon entry began to ring the alarm bells.
The babies were rotten after crawling on the floor for literally just a few minutes. Obviously the floor does not get mopped between stays.
The bedroom fan was thick with dust and I'd guess it hadn't been cleaned in years. Ditto for the picture frames.
The bathroom was in grave need of refurbishment and featured a heavily corroded toilet brush.
When my daughter cut her finger on the chipped mirror, this was the final straw. I certainly didn't want her getting an infection from the rancid floor.
My wife went to complain and the manager raised his voice to her, stood up from behind the desk and became very confrontational. This was in response to my wife's request for a different room!
We checked out early, cutting our holiday short by two days (we were only staying for three anyway), and would like to advise anyone NEVER to book a room in this decrepit, abysmally run block of outdated flats. Disgraceful.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lynflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita R, Owner at The Islander Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

As the owner of this unit, I am amazed at the malevolence of your misleading review. The unit is not filthy. The smell that met you on your arrival was because the unit had been closed. I have entered many 5-star 'superior' hotel rooms around the world and had the same experience. The smell disappears as soon as you open a window or door, and catch the sea breeze.

I am assuming you checked-in after dark, because you fail to mention the beautifully manicured grounds, the landscaped pool area, the well-maintained tennis court, barbecue area and children's playground in your vindictive review of The Islander Resort.

I can only apologise for the dirty floor. Most of our business is from 'repeat' guests, and it seems nobody has complained before. In fact, the family who were in the unit (for one week) before you said they "had had a wonderful time. The Islander is a 'hidden gem', and they have booked next year - for two weeks! (Ditto for the people who have just vacated)

The fans werer not dirty, as you stated. We went in April (with a very tall friend) and we cleaned them - and all the pictures frames/light fittings/etc - while we were there. The fans in the living area and the patio were installed less than four months ago! The washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge-freezer and the toilet are all less than one year old.

The metal toilet brush should have been thrown out (things corrode fast in the sea-air). You can see its (plastic) replacement in your nasty photo. I am sorry that your baby's finger was hurt, but the mirror in the bathroom is not chipped. What was a 10-month old doing so close to such a huge piece of glass (above the bathroom sink) in the first place?

The managers of The Islander Resort are a hard-working, dedicated youg couple. Your wife demanded to be moved to another unit. It was a public-holiday weekend... the resort (and the island) was fully booked. Having someone yelling in your face is a very unpleasant experience, and I am not surprised that the manager got up to walk away.

The weather for that weekend was awful. Perhaps you would have had a little more perspective if the sun had been shining, and you could have gone to the beach, or the lovely pool.

You call The Islander dated. If you mean it is a Mediterranean-style, older complex, where natural beauty and 'old-world charm' is preferred to the modern, 'concrete-bunker' style - I agree. People touring Europe stay in hotels which are over two hundred years old. They don't complain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Although we had booked well in advance one got the impression that they had forgotten to book a room. So found ourselves in a 2 bedroomed apartment. On opening the door a stale water smell hit you then on inspection of the kitchen it had not been cleaned. Tiny stain on the sofa so I decided to turn the cushion only to find old popcorn lolly wrappers and assorted biscuit crumbs. When approaching the management told to push off. Not his problem told us he had upgraded us. Just want to know if that was an upgrade what the rest was like. Went to the shower to find black mould around the shower wall and the source of the stale water smell. Along side the toilet was a very rusty toilet cleaning brush with what appeared to be human excrement .
The bed was rock hard resulting in a bad back on waking after a restless night. May be the owners of this unit need to be advised by management that it is not up to standard. Paying a price of $130 a night expectations were not met.Even though not full price it could not be classed as a three star property. The management need to develop people skills.If North Stradbroke is to survive after the sandmining has gone tourism being the only option the game has to be lifted.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank margangly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita R, Owner at The Islander Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Whilst not the owner of the unit you stayed in, I do own a unit at The Islander Resort, and I know the unit in question. So I also know that your review is grossly unfair.

Even though check-in time at The Islander is quite clearly advertised as 12:00pm (NB most resorts have a check-in time of 2:00pm) you arrived at the resort at 9:00am.

On the clear understanding that this unit had yet to be cleaned, the manager - the same manager you complain has no 'people skills' - (out of the goodness of his heart) allowed you access to the unit, so that you could leave your things. You were informed that the cleaners would need to enter the unit at some time, yet you are complaining, in writing, on a public website, that the kitchen was not clean etc. (In the 'old days' this would have been regarded as libel). Such ingratitude. Perhaps the manager could be forgiven if he allowed any future 'early arrivals' - and their luggage - to stay out on the street. Luckily for them, he is not a vindictive person...

Just out of interest (bearing in mind the unit had not been cleaned at this stage), apart from human excrement, what exactly did you expect to find on a rusty toilet brush... fairy-floss perhaps?

I do wonder if your virulent review has anything to do with your request for a 'full' refund being refused. Surely your comment about the loss of the mining industry on Straddie is not meant to suggest that the island could be 'held over a barrel' by unscrupulous tourists, making false allegations about the standard of accommodation, in order to get a discount off rack-rates...?

The young couple who manage The Islander are hard-working and dedicated to making a success of the resort for both the guests and the owners. It is a beautiful, laid-back family-friendly
place - as is the whole of Straddie.

May I suggest that, for your next holiday, you pay (at least) three times the price and try the Whitsundays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Stradbroke Island hotels
7.8 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Anchorage on Straddie Beachfront Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pandanus Palms Resort
Pandanus Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Point Lookout
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Point Lookout
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#2 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Holiday Resort

Address: 41 East Coast Road | Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in North Stradbroke Island
Price Range: $102 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander Holiday Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Islander Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing