We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit confusing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A bit confusing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were given a 2 bedroom villa for our stay and found this particular configuration very strange. In the main building was a nice kitchen and living area as well as an okay bathroom. We assumed our Queen bed would be upstairs, but after taking our cases up there, only found bunks. Puzzled, we retraced our steps but couldn't find the other bedroom.
Outside the villa, across a paved area was another door. We had to unlock this with our keys and found a box of a room which contained the queen bed. No bathroom. If you were staying here with young children, they would be in the main villa, upstairs and you would be in a different building. Weird?
To visit the bathroom through the night, we had to put clothes on, go out our bedroom door, cross the pavers, unlock the villa door then do the opposite to return. To make it worse, the queen bed was uncomfortable and we both had back and neck aches by the end of our two night stay. The water pressure was very poor. The neighbours sounded like they were in the same room. There were no views.
Positives? The kitchen was modern and very well equipped. The villa was light and airy.
Although I'm willing to say that not all villas would be configured in the way ours was, it would certainly be something to check on if you were staying there with young children.
I cannot recommend Allure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    56
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
40
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Overall had a lovely stay at the Allure and hope to come back one day. It was perfect for our accommodation for Easter. Good location but you do need a car if you want to go to the Point. We stayed in a two bedroom villa which was in the front row near the road but we weren't really effected by any traffic noise. A great accommodation option if you like to cook or have bbq's and not eat out all the time.

Pro's: Naomi from the resort management was lovely and very responsive whenever we had any issues. The accommodation was well appointed and clean and check in and out was efficient and courteous. Our villa was ready for us at 11.30am instead of 2pm which was nice after a long barge journey. Would recommend for families. Not so sure for people without children as neighbouring families can disturb the peace.

Negatives: The toddler staying next door was a daily alarm clock for us between 6-6.30am every morning "dad, dad, dad, dad, dad" x 100 with out dad responding - you get the picture. Not in any way the fault of the resort however, just one of lifes things. The blinds in the bedroom were also white and didn't block out the morning light so if neighbouring children don't wake you up the sun will. The dvd/remote wasn't working but this was promptly replaced by Naomi. My friend electrocuted himself on a faulty toaster but again this was replaced promptly and my friend survived ;-) With the separated bedroom set up, you do get wet feet if you have to go in to the bathroom in the middle of the night and it's been raining. Dishwasher wasnt cleaning the dishes properly so I ended up washing up all the time.

Suggestions for improvement: Putting a sail or some form of covering over the outdoor deck area would be handy as the deck area is unuseable in the rain and a bit hot/bright in the sun. A second two-three seater couch in the lounge would be far more comfortable than two single seaters making it much better for relaxation in front of the tv at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was first time back to Allure after many years and we found it a good base for a short stay.

The main issue for younger families is the odd design of the two bedroom units separating the bedrooms across an external walkway. Staff were very friendly on booking and advised what would work best for us and we ended up going for the three bedroom styl.

The garden and surrounds are nice and the row at the back looks out to bushland and there is plenty of deck space for al fresco dining.

The unit we stayed in was privately owned but part of the letting pool. The owners need to look at spending a bit more on upkeep and there is a balance between personal touches and leaving lots of gear in the unit and laundry which was both messy and made it feel unwelcoming.

The location across from home beach and a few minutes drive to Point Lookout is really handy.

Room Tip: Go for the back row of villas overlooking the bushland and away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Great stay in a self contained, modern beach shack! Clean, spacious and nothing was tooth trouble for the management, lovely people! If I was to stay again, I would prefer the space and outdoor area of the 1 bedroom apartment, sleeps 4 and has full kitchen inc, oven. Overall, very pleasant stay ;)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misssunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

First time staying at the resort. My family of four got a villa at the end of the strip right next to the smelly bins. The lounge area is nice and modern. There's absolutely no mobile network coverage which was frustrating. The resort is located a fair distance to the main point look out area and the car mileage racked up as we drove back and forth - to the shops and back - to point lookout and back. However, the place was nice and cosy. Some parts of the floorboard were in bad condition and showed signs of sand wear and tear. There's a nice outdoor shower addition but was overgrown with vegetation and spider webs. The undercover car park provided nice shade but was very narrow and cramped so it was extremely difficult to get in and out of the car. We ended up parking the car slightly on the road so we can have easier access in and out the car. They provide all cutlery, pans, chopping board, dryer, hairdryer. Lot's of mozzies so we didn't use the outdoor deck and was annoying getting between the bedrooms and lounge through the outdoor deck area which separated them. Cool concept but impractical in long run if you visit your bedroom often. TV was only like 28 inch" which I felt was quite small. Reception was very nice and provided professional service. However I'm sure there are better options and I wished I stayed at a better resort such as Pandamus Resort or Whale Beach Resort with a nice ocean view ~ had to clean own towels which was annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayteewoofed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at the Allure for 4 nights in January 2013 (this is the third or fourth stay in the last few years). Location is good as it is nearby Home & Cylinder Beach. Allure is also pet friendly (dog also stayed).

We booked a 1 bedroom villa which had the master bedroom detached from the living/kitchen area (there was also a small bedroom with a bunk bed near the living/kitchen).

Kitchen is well appointed however we found that there were some problems (ie. rangehood doesn't work, there was only 1 knife in the cutlery drawer but plenty of forks & spoons).

As the resort is a several years old now, the manager/owner is not keeping up with maintenance of the property (eg. lights not working, soap holders coming off the shower wall, general cleanliness of the interior etc).

Overall an enjoyable stay (however not as enjoyable as in the past)...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YJN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHenny, General Manager at Allure Stradbroke Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Allure Stradbroke Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this return stay; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

In relation to pets on site I need to inform you that the property is pet free and does not allow pets. The owners are allowed to bring pets and the owners only as part of a body corporate by law.

The property as you have mentioned is of an age that requires some degree of maintenance new management has only recently taken over the property and has a schedule of works for the coming 12 months to address all the problems that you have mentioned along with external painting. I also ask that sometimes it is difficult for management to remedy issues such as the range hood not working as we clean the rooms but do not use all the items as a guest would and rely on your feed back to assist us with this.

I would like to thank you for making some positive observations and informing management. At Allure Stradbroke Resort, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that you have bought to our attention and prevent future occurrence.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to remedy your concerns and come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is our third stay at the resort. This time in one of the beach shacks, previously in the two and three bedroom apartments. We loved the shacks. They are quiet. The architectural design is clever in terms of privacy and its very livable: lovely upstairs loft bedroom, great living area and small deck with bar-b-que set in a quiet bushland setting a short stroll from Home Beach. The management were friendly and responsive when we needed information or assistance. There were the usual little issues.....bar-b-que was slow, eco-friendly lighting is very dim but management responded quickly with a couple of eco-friendly bedside lamps! They couldn't have been more helpful. It is a favourite place to stay. Very easy access to the beach and can walk to all of the other nearby beaches. The bowls club is right next door if you want some eats and drinks and the hotel within walking distance. Love it !!

Room Tip: Accommodation on the back row backs onto lovely bushland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHenny, General Manager at Allure Stradbroke Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Allure Stradbroke Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Stradbroke Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
4.3 mi away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#4 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pandanus Palms Resort
Pandanus Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Point Lookout
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Islander Holiday Resort
The Islander Holiday Resort
#7 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.5 mi away
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Point Lookout
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.6 mi away
Samarinda
Samarinda
#2 of 4 in Point Lookout
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allure Stradbroke Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allure Stradbroke Resort

Property: Allure Stradbroke Resort
Address: 43 - 57 East Coast Road | Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Stradbroke Island Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Stradbroke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allure Stradbroke Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allure Stradbroke Resort is a collection of 82 stylish self contained Beach Shacks and Villas. Allure Stradbroke Resort hosts a number of modern facilities including a heated swimming pool, gymnasium, children's playground, tour desk and oniste Cafe. Linen is included and all Beach Shacks and Villas they are equipped with standard sundries including basic toiletries and washing powder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allure Stradbroke Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing