We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shi-loh Jamaican Restaurant

Shi-loh Jamaican Restaurant
Reserve with
Shi-loh Jamaican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 211 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sunset Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Food is incredible, cooked with so much love and so authentic. Vibe is super chill and laid back. Staff are so friendly and easy to chat with making the experience overall so relaxed, fun and enjoyable. Not a 5 star setting or anything flash but if your wanting a great, authentic meal, chilled music and a relaxed setting this is your place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thini92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Well let's get right to the bad and the ugly as there nothing good about this experience...
maybe the waitress and chef had a really really off night as the service was awful (I'd hate to be stereotypical but I think the waitress was stoned) and the food was a disgusting wet sloppy tasteless mess. As a Melbourian I am certainly spoiled when it comes to affordable quality food but anyone on this forum who thinks this is a decent meal you need your head examined. Prices border on outrageous and the decor was dingy. Don't waste your time or money.
From Never again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY IMPRESSED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been on several occasions and the food has been amazing,and going again next friday,as they are worth a re visit time and time again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hungry1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not going back there.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Expensive, shady, and awkward would sum up the experience pretty well.

Myself and two others were first greeted into a quiet, yet friendly atmosphere, but upon sitting down things just turned awkward. We were having a look at the menu which had things like "usan bolt chicken" and "Bob Marley Chicken" without any sort of description, but ridiculous prices, and the owner not offering any advice. He managed to stand there and kind of order for us, because from what i can gather, every meal is essentially the same thing....and having spent a substantial amount of time in Jamaica myself, let me tell you, it wasn't too authentically Jamaican. The food was alright, however i think it came from a series of packaged products - not much work involved in prep at all.

When it came time to pay, the owner became quite shifty when he announced the price, and did so under his breath. I thought something was amiss, but wasn't quite sure, though after checking their site, I now realise he charged nearly $20 over what his menu said. which was not worth it at all. I'm disappointed to say the least, but not surprised.

I guess what needs to be done for the future is just honesty - Honesty on the menu, honesty on prices, and honesty to the customer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canonspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“REALLY COOL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a restaurant with a refreshing difference!! Great food (not expensive), casual, chilled, good music....and friendly, funny owner. Going back again tonight - I'm excited!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shi-loh Jamaican Restaurant also viewed

 
Southport, Gold Coast
Southport, Gold Coast
 

Been to Shi-loh Jamaican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing