We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbour Side Resort
Nearby Hotels
Meriton Suites Southport(Southport)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Earls Court Motor Inn(Southport)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra at Sharks(Southport)
$94
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palazzo Versace(Main Beach)
$313
$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$507
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jadran Motel & El Jay Holiday Lodge(Labrador)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea World Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
$174
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sundale Motel(Southport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
7
43
27
33
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
43
27
33
68
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 178 of 178 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We booked this hoilday with discount certificates,what we were promised and what we got were two different things.The room was small,no veranda and discustingly dirty.The bedrooms roof had black mold all over them and the carpet looked like a stain pit.The worst aspect was safety with two young chn,on the third floor in the chns room main room there was a sliding door with a half rail that my 4 yearold climbed over,leading out to a leadge as wide as a gutter.When we complained about the room we were told there was no other,so for my chns safety and hygeine levels we left cheers am

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benjino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Our holiday which was to be at the Harbour Side Resort, Southport Queensland turned out to be a nightmare.
We arrived on the 16th March 2008, we had two rooms booked, one room was for my son and his wife and 2 teenage boys. The other room was ours, just the two of us. We paid the deposit on the 1 December 2007 and a few weeks before we left we paid the balance.
When we arrived at the Resort (after two days of travelling from Melbourne } the room my son had booked and paid for didn't have enough beds. We rang the people from Harbourside immediatley as we were tired and wanted to use the facilities. We were told that someone would come and see us in a few minutes. We waited an hour no-one came. We made two more calls after that and the last time we rang we were told some-one will be there to see us before dark. By this time we had been waiting for two hours or more and as we were all family and wanted to be together we checked out, as it was quite obvious by this time no-one really cared.

The next day we asked them if we could have our money refunded and was told "no" that we had held the owners of the unit to ransom and that we should have waited longer. The promotions guy whose name was Steve actually had the nerve to say "what do you want a bed for at 4:30 in the afternoon for anyway." DONT GET CAUGHT LIKE WE DID. The place wasn't very clean and it was like being cooped up in a dog box. Others were complaining as we walked out of the reception area so it wasn't just us. Steves last words to us were "well take it to court then."
So at the end of the day we had to part out with another lot of money. We ended up staying at a place called "The Crest " which was absolutely beautiful, and the staff there were second to none. If it wasn't for them helping us out our holiday would have been a complete didaster.

Be careful as our holiday turned out to be double the cost.
judy

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jwatts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2005

I stayed here for one night in 2004 and it cost around $80 for the night, no minimum stay so that was good.

Some of the units at this place have been refurbished, and we got one of them (1 bedroom apartment) but if you stayed in a studio, it would have been a shocker!

The apartment was small, but had a clean and modern kitchen, modern furnishings, separate bedroom and bathroom, and a working new airconditioner. However, it is not a resort!!! They have a pool - that is it! And the pictures on the website make the pool look beautiful and so inviting - in reality it doesn't look that good - it is dated and old - needs a makeover.

So the interior was very good - the only negative is that the view from the bedroom was of a carpark for the units next door, and the view from the kitchen was of Harbourside's carpark! The exterior needs an update urgently. Also, being in Southport, you need to catch a bus into Surfers Paradise - and in the Gold Coast - buses do not run on time!! We had to wait over an hour to get to the train station to get back to Brisbane (it is not normally that bad, and it has got better since then). The bus into Surfers takes about 15 minutes at least.

So I would give this place a miss, if only because you can get a place closer to Sufers for around the same price, and near the beach too. This place, like its name suggests, is near a harbour, not the beach!

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank queenjojo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews