We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Side Resort
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great value for money, stayed at harbourside for 8 nights and had the best time. Great location everything nearby. Found the rooms very clean and just what we needed. The grounds were also clean and great pool/spa. We were treated very well by staff and they were very friendly. Can't wait to go back on our next family holiday. If you are staying here visit the railway hotel for great steak meals only $5 bucks can't lose.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustraliaImpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 176 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have stayed at this resort 3 times during business trips, I have found each time the rooms clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is great and just what I need for my stay. I have been reading the reviews and yes the resort is not 4 star but for the price it is comfortable. As I travel extensively if I read all reviews on resorts I would have a very hard time finding accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

For the budget price you don't expect a lot of facilities and extras, but being clean should be a basic. The windows were dirty, the blinds dirty, the curtains mildew stained, as was the ceiling in the bedroom. The aircon units were disgusting and even if they worked I don't think I would be game to turn them on. The kitchen surfaces (on top of the fridge and extractor) were grungy. The beds, while clean and presentable, were so firm as to be akin to sleeping on a park bench. Guess this is a matter of personal preference though.

On the other hand, the shower was great. Plenty of water pressure and lots of hot water. With a bit more attention to detail (in the cleaning department) this could be quite an acceptable budget stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biscuits55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Manager at Harbour Side Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for the comments. We recently took over the management of the resort and will put some effort in the house keeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights with family and was so disappointed. For the price you wouldn't expect too much but the room smelt, the lounges were stained, hairs on coffee cups, blinds caked with dirt and a washing machine in the middle of the bathroom!!! Odd!

Cheaper accommodation shouldn't mean lack of care in cleanliness and maintenance - I recommend getting those lounges properly cleaned, I didn't want to sit on them so I covered them over with a blanket. Yuck!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coleswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Manager at Harbour Side Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We recently took over the management of the resort. We will put in some good effort in house keeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Booked for 4 nights online as the brochure looked good..... it was very WRONG!! And very deceptive bordering on outright lies. All sheets, blankets, pillows and lounge had stains. Curtains tattered and had holes. Air conditioning unit broken and filthy dirty. Paint peeling, ran out of hot water. The room smelt foul. We went and brought our own cleaning products to try and clean the room and make it safe for our family. We woke every morning with bites over us.. Decided to forgo our last night and come home early. best decision we made!, Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Better off sleeping in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Manager at Harbour Side Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We recently took over the management of the resort. We just had some new paintings and most of the furniture has been upgraded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were conned by the name of this resort, this place is a old motel, resort by name only, very tired needs painting and a complete remodeling.There was little or no hot water the noise from the traffic was over bearing and the room was very basic for what we payed.The web site was very deceptive for booking at this motel.When we left we told the reception about the hot water and noise,from other reviews this has been on going for quite some time.

Room Tip: Stay of the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

After getting of a plane we arrived to be greeted by a speaker box! A rude lady on the other end! The rooms are filthy and very basic! Me being 6'3 slept on a single bed in the loungeroom with stains all over the blanket and floors! The shower had absolutely no pressure cleaners need to be given a duster as there was dust everywhere which was very worrying because me neice had athsma quite bad the pool was way tooo cold(which probz cant br helped) but the spa was extremely hot will not stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cozza91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.9 mi away
Limassol Motel
Limassol Motel
#5 of 6 in Labrador
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
0.2 mi away
Broadwater Tourist Park
Broadwater Tourist Park
#1 of 11 in Southport
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Side Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Side Resort

Address: 132 Marine Parade, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Southport
Price Range: $68 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Side Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Side Resort basks in the sun in one of the premier locations on the Gold Coast. Situated directly opposite the harbour-like Gold Coast Broadwater, Harbour Side Resort consists of 50 fully furnished, decorator designed, self-catering holiday apartments and motel-style studio rooms. There is a large resort-style swimming pool, a large separate spa, a shaded entertainment pavilion with two BBQ’s and a half-court tennis court to enjoy without venturing out of the resort.Staying at Harbourside Resort means that you are right in the heart of the Gold Coast's tourist mecca. Close to the Gold Coast Hospital, Griffith and Bond University. Public transport just minutes away. Just 20 minutes drive from Movieworld, Dreamworld, Wet'n'Wild and Whitewater World, just 5 minutes drive from Seaworld and 7 minutes drive from Central Surfers Paradise. Harbour Side Resort is the perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Gold Coast and the surroundings.Harbour Side Resort has studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, which can accommodate from 1 person to a big family of 6 at a convenient location for you to enjoy your next holiday. Check with our reception when you plan your holiday at the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour Side Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Side Hotel Southport
Harbour Side Resort Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing