We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really a bargain” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Side Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour Side Resort
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Not really a bargain”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed there thinking the accomodation is cheap but linen was dirty, hot water didnt work, Airconditioner made too much noise. It is basically a tired old place thats good for backpackers but not for families looking for value for money accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    39
    26
    32
    61
See reviews for
55
41
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights got a bargain package, it was very clean and comfortable. The pool area was great for the kids and it is well positioned for the theme parks. Would recommend this resort to others but dont expect the Hilton. It has all you need for a great family budget holiday. The managers were really nice and helpful and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

It's not fancy, but it's clean and good value for money with a nice pool area. The apts have kitchens and laundry areas. It's well located but you'd want a hire car to get you around. Restaurants in walking distance, park across the road and a beach.

I paid for a standard 1bedroom apt which is meant to come with a second bed in the lounge (advertised that way). They assumed my friend and i were sharing a bed and put us in a room different to advertised (no second bed).

When I asked for it to be resolved somehow the reception argued with me about it. She said all the rooms are different and the tariff assumes staying in the one bed and therefore I should pay for an extra person!! I didn't pay extra thats for sure and they sorted out another apt for me right away (a basic one, not a 'standard'). It was resolved well but be extra sure when making a booking to confirm bedding arrangements and don't expect to get what's on the website.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanilender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

booked 6 different rooms. on arival they try to charge up extra into i pulled out my folder with all quotes ect in them and they went back to normail price.our room was booked for 2a 2k but only had a double bed and 1 single and said the other child can sleep on the couch not what i payed for!!! our air con didnt work as the battery for the remote were flat could get hold of staff so put our own in (and took them when we left) on the good side thats all there was to moan about the kitchen had what we needed the whole room was clean the pool wasnt heated but the kids still had fun in the spa

Room Tip: this place is great if you not a person that needs 5 stars you get what you pay and more
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank family-trips-are-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Aircon did not work. Bathroom was filthy. Beds disgusting and there was a coffee cup on the ground in the loungeroom WITH coffee in it. Clearly the place had not been cleaned. I'm didn't expect some amazing room but I did expect it to be clean.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We booked this hotel via internet site relying on what we saw. We were disgusted at the lack of cleanliness and how it looked just like a converted laundry with the pipes still everywhere.
On approaching management we found them defensive. We asked them to look at our unit but they declined.; and we could not look at any other unit at this complex to compare. As it was the Christmas/New Year break we could not find anywhere else.
We would not recommend this place (at least the studio unit) to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Recently we took our family to Harbourside we were very happy with the service we received and our two bedroom unit was very clean and tidy. We enjoyed a BBQ by the pool while the kids were swimming and enjoyed the spa together. I really liked walking along the waterfront across the road and the kids loved the parklands. We walked to the shops and club for dinner and the bus stop was at the door so it was very conveniently located. I think that it was great value for the price!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.8 mi away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
0.0 mi away
Aqualine Apartments
Aqualine Apartments
#2 of 10 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rays Resort Apartments
Rays Resort Apartments
#9 of 10 in Southport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
0.1 mi away
Palmerston Tower Apartments
Palmerston Tower Apartments
#6 of 10 in Southport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Side Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Side Resort

Property: Harbour Side Resort
Address: 132 Marine Parade, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Side Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Side Resort basks in the sun in one of the premier locations on the Gold Coast. Situated directly opposite the harbour-like Gold Coast Broadwater, Harbour Side Resort consists of 50 fully furnished, decorator designed, self-catering holiday apartments and motel-style studio rooms. There is a large resort-style swimming pool, a large separate spa, a shaded entertainment pavilion with two BBQ’s and a half-court tennis court to enjoy without venturing out of the resort.Staying at Harbourside Resort means that you are right in the heart of the Gold Coast's tourist mecca. Close to the Gold Coast Hospital, Griffith and Bond University. Public transport just minutes away. Just 20 minutes drive from Movieworld, Dreamworld, Wet'n'Wild and Whitewater World, just 5 minutes drive from Seaworld and 7 minutes drive from Central Surfers Paradise. Harbour Side Resort is the perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Gold Coast and the surroundings.Harbour Side Resort has studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, which can accommodate from 1 person to a big family of 6 at a convenient location for you to enjoy your next holiday. Check with our reception when you plan your holiday at the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Harbour Side Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Side Hotel Southport
Harbour Side Resort Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing