We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling”
Review of Sundale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundale Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southport
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Appalling”
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Poorly equipped, broken facilities, did not meet health and safety standards.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
The Sundale Motel offers comfortable and convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. The Sundale Motel is under new ownership as at 1 April 2011 and we are indeed striving to address all the issues raised in your review. I know so many guests are reluctant to tell a business owner about their experiences face to face so this site is very valuable in helping us identify our faults and then work hard to correct them. Thank you so much for your comments and we do hope you will indeed come back and give us another go in the near future. Best regards, from the new team at the Sundale Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    3
    10
See reviews for
5
4
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Stayed 2 nights, not serviced,poor security (no safety lock on door) saw cockroaches in bathroom, lots of traffic noise, never again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiesOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

A group of us stayed at this motel to attend a birthday party - we had 5 rooms in all. On arrival I was extremely grateful to be able to check-in early as I'd had an overnight flight and was exhausted. The accommodation is very basic and tired looking and for 130.00 $ would expect better. I gather some rooms have been recently renovated but mine certainly hadn't been. However, my room was clean although if you want to have it serviced during your stay you have to pay extra.
Unfortunately, myself and two other guests had a bad experience with the guy who seems to run the place. On two separate occasions he was rude and had a bad attitude towards some of his guests. I would therefore not wish to return this motel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
The Sundale Motel offers comfortable and convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. The Sundale Motel is under new ownership as at 1 April 2011 and we are indeed striving to address all the issues raised in your review. I know so many guests are reluctant to tell a business owner about their experiences face to face so this site is very valuable in helping us identify our faults and then work hard to correct them. Thank you so much for your comments and we do hope you will indeed come back and give us another go in the near future. Best regards, from the new team at the Sundale Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
1.2 mi away
Broadwater Tourist Park
Broadwater Tourist Park
#1 of 10 in Southport
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#43 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundale Motel

Property: Sundale Motel
Address: 20 Queen St, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundale Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and Convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. Family Priced Dining, Entertainment and Shopping just a stroll away at the amazing Australia Fair Shopping Center. Close to Public Transport. Convenient for Eye Surgeon, all Specialist Health and Dental plus Gold Coast Hospital. Best Accommodation for Sports and Clubs including Southport RSL,Gold Coast Turf Club,Southport Yacht Club, Queen Street Tennis Club and Southport Pool - all moments away. Walk to family entertainmet free at Broadwater Family Park and Wetlands. Easy Access to all major Theme Parks including Seaworld 10 minutes and Dreamworld, Movieworld and WetnWild under 30 minutes. Central Surfers Paradise Night Life and Main Beach Restaurnt Row a short Taxi ride. Located at the start line of the Gold Coast Marathon and close to V8 Super Cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sundale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundale Motel Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing