We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night's stay at the Sundale”
Review of Sundale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundale Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Due to circumstances we took our chances and booked last minute at the Sundale. The room was very rundown, small and poorly maintained. It was a terrible room which looked nothing like the photos on the website.

Various things, eg the flush mechanism on the toilet, the venetian blind and the kitchen light were either broken or not working reliably.

At $195 the room was completely overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for reviewing The Sundale Motel and rating our Location, Sleep Quality and Cleanliness as acceptable. We do agree that finding a room on the Gold Coast at the last minute in peak Christmas School holiday times for a single night without a reservation can be exceptionally difficult. The Sundale Motel has a convenient 24 hour online booking service and we are here to check you in no matter what time you arrive. The Sundale Motel tarriffs are seasonal and we are happy to negotiate rates depending on your length of stay, number of guests and availabilty at the time of enquiry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

Just stayed at the Sundale Motel. Has been freshly painted but not worth $150.00 a night at any time. It's advertised price at the entrance of $89.00 is a realistic figure. Our son stayed at the Vibe Hotel, 21st. floor for $160.00.In our room there was no A/C, no wardrobe, no bedhead, no box of tissues, poor quality towels, no privacy blinds on the shower and kitchen windows. Light from the rear complex shines in all night. There is only a privacy curtain on the sliding entrance door, a net curtain is also wanted otherwise when the privacy curtain is opened for natural light, anyone during the day get"s a full view inside. The bed is on castors and freely moves over the tiled floor,(no, not for that reason). Don't be fooled by the be quick, nearly fully booked routine, it wasn"t. I suggest phone direct and if they won't accept around the onsite advertised price keep on looking.

Room Tip: At $89.00 is it"s value. Inspect before you decide. Old complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

good spot close to the pub easy walk to shops walk over to the broadwater for a swim with the kids. More helpfull and pleasant than the joint that mucked up our holiday booking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Hello Marc J,
Happy travellers are what we are aiming for so thank you for taking the time to tell us about your journey and the good time you had here at the Sundale Motel Southport. Yes, it is an easy walk over to the wonderful Broadwater Parklands and best of all it is FREE fun for the kids! There are heaps of cheap eats close to us too (including the Pub you found)! Anyways, that's great and I am so pleased everything turned out so well for you and your family in the end. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us at the Sundale Motel and hopefully we will see you all again soon. Bye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is incredible value. Yes it is a cheap motel. But for around $50 a night you can get a beer out of the fridge, sit on the balcony overlooking the palms and pool, and you are on the Gold Coast.
Water is hot, toilet seat stays up, TV's digital, and the people are very friendly and helpful. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Hello Chris P,
Thank you for taking the time to review my motel. We have enjoyed your company over the last few weeks and I'm glad that our weekly rate fitted with your budget while you worked here in Southport. I really do appreciate you taking the time to drop me a line to let me know we are getting it right. We certainly get lots of great comments from our guests during their stay but not everyone chooses to use a forum like this to tell us when they are happy. So, thanks again and happy travels! Cheers, Janine - Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The owner or staff whoever the man there was very rude not welcoming at all when you are checking in. If you love giant cockroaches walking in the bathroom and spiders in bed room it's great!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Hi Ngima,
Overall it seems that you were satisfied with our location on the Gold Coast and value for money here in Southport but I am truly sorry to see that your stay at the Sundale was spoilt by a spider/cockroach seeking shelter from the rainy weather we've been experiencing. I certainly understand how you must have felt to come across one as I dislike them rather strongly too. But, please be assured that we do take all measures to keep them out in the garden in their own environment. As for my managers approach upon check-in I have brought your review to his attention and we would like to extend our apologies for not making you as welome as you deserve. Thank you for letting me know about your stay and best regards, Janine - Owner Sundale Motel Southport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The service was friendly and the price was perfect for the amount of time we stayed there... it was close to all amenities we were needing for a great night out on the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eula_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely comment about our business. We really are trying very hard to get it right everytime and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Janine - Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Older style motel which we were prepared for, however facilities were extremely poor. Beds the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in, no air conditioning and couldn't really leave the door open as there was no privacy. Bed sheets were clean but bedspreads were clearly not washed for a long time. For "budget" accommodation, it was not particularly cheap and I regret not paying a couple of bucks more to stay somewhere much nicer. I booked online and regret parting with my money before seeing this place. Location was central - walking distance to the centre of town but not worth it. I would caution people to check out the prices of nearby accommodation before committing to staying here. There are much nicer places for the same price. Convenient to Sea World and theme parks but not worth it. On the plus side - management was friendly and polite unlike as mentioned in other reviews here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banksia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

The Sundale Motel offers comfortable and convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. The Sundale Motel is under new ownership as at 1 April 2011 and we are indeed striving to address all the issues raised in your review. I know so many guests are reluctant to tell a business owner about their experiences face to face so this site is very valuable in helping us identify our faults and then work hard to correct them. Thank you so much for your comments and we do hope you will indeed come back and give us another go in the near future. Best regards, from the new team at the Sundale Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.7 mi away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodroffe Hotel
Woodroffe Hotel
#1 of 2 in Southport
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
1.2 mi away
Broadwater Tourist Park
Broadwater Tourist Park
#1 of 11 in Southport
581 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundale Motel

Address: 20 Queen St, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundale Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and Convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. Family Priced Dining, Entertainment and Shopping just a stroll away at the amazing Australia Fair Shopping Center. Close to Public Transport. Convenient for Eye Surgeon, all Specialist Health and Dental plus Gold Coast Hospital. Best Accommodation for Sports and Clubs including Southport RSL,Gold Coast Turf Club,Southport Yacht Club, Queen Street Tennis Club and Southport Pool - all moments away. Walk to family entertainmet free at Broadwater Family Park and Wetlands. Easy Access to all major Theme Parks including Seaworld 10 minutes and Dreamworld, Movieworld and WetnWild under 30 minutes. Central Surfers Paradise Night Life and Main Beach Restaurnt Row a short Taxi ride. Located at the start line of the Gold Coast Marathon and close to V8 Super Cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sundale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundale Motel Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing