We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT AS ADVERTISED!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arrival Accommodation Centre
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“NOT AS ADVERTISED!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place was described as a hotel but it was more like a hostel. i would have enjoyed sleeping in a prison cell more than staying at this piece of wood. The pool was absolutely disgusting it looked like a bath where people would go to wash their dirty feet. It was very disappointing, the positive reviews did not live up to the reality. We originally booked this room for 2 nights but ended up booking a different hotel for the second as the first night was unbearable. Lack of entertainment as the shared TV downstairs did not work and the room was boiling as there is only a single fan.

The tea/coffee was also expensive $2.50 for a small cup of yaks vomit. Would only recommend this hostel to people that are looking for cheap and don't mind getting CHEAP. However, shouldn't cost as much as it does.




Despite all the bad points it had quite good cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jemsmeex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    8
    4
    19
See reviews for
9
9
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Honestly the worst I have ever seen. Somewhere between a North Korean prisoner of war camp, a half way house or something from nightmare on elm street. The smell was horrific. The bathroom looked like something out of the 70's but with a lack of quality plumbing as the taps were constantly in a flow. The bed was like sleeping on a fold out camping table with springs(word used liberally). On a positive note the fan was well positioned and the light was nice and bright so much so that it could have been used as a street lamp. The place could do with being knocked down to put it out of its misery...my god the smell. I'm glad they don't put much in the room apart from bed and locker because there is less to muck up...one can only imagine what would happen if they had a bathroom in the room. Biggest dive I have ever seen, sleep rough it'd be much better.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Taiwanjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
266 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Normally I stay at four star resort style places. Travelled solo so took cheap option. Really better than I expected. Owners friendly. People staying there were friendly in the common tv area. Room was basic - booked single room and got single plus double bed on the top floor. The bed was like what I think I had when I was 12 years old. Bathroom was clean and basic - took thongs. Walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 13 or 14 at the back and top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is more like a halfway house than a hotel. Bare minimum room, think prison. You get nothing but a bed some run down op shop furniture (desk, wardrobe) and that is it, $2.00 charge if you want a towel for your stay. I kid you not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Arrival Accommodation Centre in Southport for nine nights. I booked a single room with a single bed but was given a room with two single beds in it. It's important to note that the Arrival Accommodation is not a hotel or motel, in fact I would not consider it a hostel. It's simply just a bed with a roof over your head. My room was clean which was good, however it seems that the owners are too lazy to clean the communal bathrooms daily. Men and women share the bathrooms together. So because the owners don't bother to clean the bathroom daily I could not help but wonder if they bother to clean the communal kitchen daily, I have to admit the kitchen looked clean but I suspect it was people staying in the accommodation who cleaned the kitchen and not the owners daily. The pool was small, but acceptable. The Accommodation Centre is close to public transport and is only an easy five minutes walk to Australia Fair shopping centre, its only a short bus or taxi trip into Surfers Paradise. I recommend the Accommodation Centre if your a young single male only looking for a bed for the night, but for everybody else I would advise that they avoid the Arrival Accommodation Centre in Southport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldude25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a fine, safe place to stay but it's not near the beach, or any main attractions in the area, so it's really just a place to sleep. You can walk around the area, but it's not extremely well-lit at night, if that concerns you.

Staff is nice, the rooms were a bit bare but clean, with plenty of lighting, outlets for charging, etc. Showers/bathrooms are clean and quite large.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessielinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Arrived at accommadation and was given key to our room, looked so shabby & dirty asked for key to another room but that was no better, told reception it was not what we saw on their web page, was advertised as a Hotel, also another lady was at the counter saying it's not what she has seen on the web page either and asked to speak to the Manager, he would not answer the phone when receptionist rang so she took their business card & left, we left also after paying for four nights in advance, layed a complaint but never go our money back, our advise to others is do not stay at this place, staff not helpful at all.

Room Tip: Did not stay, one look & left, shocking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank joy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
0.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
1.6 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#38 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrival Accommodation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrival Accommodation Centre

Property: Arrival Accommodation Centre
Address: 69 Queen Street, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arrival Accommodation Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have free Wi-Fi and Pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Arrival Accommodation Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrival Accommodation Centre Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing