We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped & expensive GC Marathon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southport Tourist Park
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cramped & expensive GC Marathon stay”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Husband and I shared a 2bdrm Villa for 3 nights for the recent Gold Coast Marathon weekend. Double bed was in a tiny room. Friends stayed in another bedroom with bunk. Beds were ok for comfort. Noisy shower. The Villas are built very close together as we could hear anything and everything!!
Not worth $187 per night.
Only good thing was we could walk to the start line!!!
No customer service skills from owner.... She was completely stressed out and it showed!!! We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yippeeyiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    35
    11
    11
    35
See reviews for
46
27
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This is the 3rd time I have stayed here, the first two times I stayed in a cabin this time I wanted to save even more so I went the van option and was very happy. staff where very polite and helpful, van was clean and kitchen stocked well. The location is perfect if you are here for the theme parks very easy to get to DW, MW, WnW. Shower block was clean and freshly painted from my last visit. Ok so it's not the same standard as the Versace but it also doesn't have it's price tag! Realistically if you want to stay somewhere on a normal persons budget without having to drive out of town then this is your place. I will defiantly be back for a 4th visit thanks to all the staff for yet another wonderful stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently spent a night here while holiday in a motorhome in QLD. Many places were booked out and this place still had a couple of sites available. Our site was right at the back of the park, so was very quiet. Receiption area was very dingy and dated, and tho lady was helfpul, she was a bit "flaky". Facilities clean but very dated and showers/toilets were bit a a rabbit warren! Kitchen area looked ok tho. Roads paths etc could do with some work. And price not that good compared to many other places we stayed and the excellent facilties others supplied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We loved staying here. The staff were very helpful and we were impressed with how they looked after our needs on our week long stay. Dora in particular was a lovely lady who went above and beyond for us - so thankyou!! Upon wanting to write a review for outstanding service, I noticed that the unit that we stayed in has photos and comments on here that are not correct and I took some photos of the kitchen etc to show this. The unit was in a wonderful location, large, clean and had a fantastic roof top garden with a glimpse of the Broadwater and views to the Hinterland. It accommodated our large family very comfortably. Thanks again to Southport Tourist Park

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We turned up at Southport Tourist Park with a 7 metre caravan late Friday afternoon to find out that we are at the wrong place, the owner was most helpful to get us back on to the road and point us in the wright direction for our intended caravan park. Thank you Southport Tourist Park staff and owner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place has its good and bad points.

BAD: Its over Priced
Good: just a quick drive to most locations
BAD: Lack of Property Maintenance
Good: Pool is a nice place to relax after a day in Paradise
BAD: you are required to pay in full for any bookings you make AND they charge extra for Creditcard)

Room Tip: You can find a better place for the same $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GOLDTOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Our original hotel double booked us for our trip so we called this place on Friday and asked if there was any rooms and the young man who helped us was beyond nice. He felt bad about our situation and gave us free linen (15$ per room) and he upgraded our room to the queen size bed's for us too. This man was a backpacker and was just a working at the hotel briefly.
Got to the room & realised there was no airconditioning, a petty little fan that didn't do its job and the bed was so uncomfortable that my boyfriend & I both need a massage ASAP.
On the third day we lost our key to our room at BDO & when we got back to the hotel, it was 11pm. We called the 'after hours' line and you could hear it ringing in the office and no one was answering. We had to wait in the hall way for a few hours until a kind man who worked there helped us out. Because of this, the greedy owners did not give us our $50 dollar deposit back. It certainly doesn't cost $50 to cut a new key right?
The owner Dora continuously yelled at the 4 of us staying there for god knows what.
The communal kitchen is a disgrace, not even a full kitchen. The pool is that small that if one family is in it, you have to sit and wait for them to leave. The owners are complete nut cases.
Just an all around mess except for the nice backpacker working there. The caretaker man who lives there is an absolute creep too and followed my friend into the bathroom and wouldn't stop trying to talk to her.
In the showers there were bugs and dead ants everywhere and the sanitary bins were not regularly emptied.
Will never come here again, terrible customer service & shocking room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Marley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthportTouristPark, Owner at Southport Tourist Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
The above guest with her boyfriend stayed with us on the 23/1/2012. The problem started when they lost a set of keys to their accommodation, and at 3am were knocking on the windows of our private residence and kept ringing the office. We did not respond because of security reasons. After 8.30pm, for late arrivals we give all instructions with keys and maps to the accommodation. In the morning, the one that they referred to as a nice kind man who opened the room and let them in, was Tom the owner, the only one who has access to the key board. When they checked out at 10am, Dora the owner checked their room and found a plastic bag covering the smoke alarm system. It’s a hostel, therefore due to fire regulations a fire panel is connected to all the smoke alarms in all the rooms. They’ve endangered all tenants. We have informed all guests, for anyone who interferes with the smoke alarm in the rooms the fire service charge $300. It’s a criminal offense to interfere with the fire alarm. We found their room filled with smoke; room was left in a mess with dirty plates and food everywhere. When we confronted them they said it was our responsibility to clean it. And when we told them to pay for the lost key and the cleaning they refused and threaten to complain about us on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.3 mi away
Broadwater Tourist Park
Broadwater Tourist Park
#1 of 10 in Southport
552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Aqualine Apartments
Aqualine Apartments
#2 of 10 in Southport
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arrival Accommodation Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southport Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southport Tourist Park

Property: Southport Tourist Park
Address: 8 Frank St | Gold Coast Highway, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southport Tourist Park 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Coast's Accommodation Specialists at Southport Tourist Park, which offers the ideal setting for a family holiday and is conveniently located on the Gold Coast Highway at Southport. We are minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, only 100 metres from the Broadwater and within walking distance of major facilities including shopping centres, cinemas, restaurants and golf courses. We are central to all of the theme parks and attractions of the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southport Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southport Tourist Park Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing