We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & Accomodating Owners and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southport Tourist Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southport Tourist Park
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly & Accomodating Owners and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We loved staying here. The staff were very helpful and we were impressed with how they looked after our needs on our week long stay. Dora in particular was a lovely lady who went above and beyond for us - so thankyou!! Upon wanting to write a review for outstanding service, I noticed that the unit that we stayed in has photos and comments on here that are not correct and I took some photos of the kitchen etc to show this. The unit was in a wonderful location, large, clean and had a fantastic roof top garden with a glimpse of the Broadwater and views to the Hinterland. It accommodated our large family very comfortably. Thanks again to Southport Tourist Park

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    10
    11
    34
See reviews for
45
26
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We turned up at Southport Tourist Park with a 7 metre caravan late Friday afternoon to find out that we are at the wrong place, the owner was most helpful to get us back on to the road and point us in the wright direction for our intended caravan park. Thank you Southport Tourist Park staff and owner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place has its good and bad points.

BAD: Its over Priced
Good: just a quick drive to most locations
BAD: Lack of Property Maintenance
Good: Pool is a nice place to relax after a day in Paradise
BAD: you are required to pay in full for any bookings you make AND they charge extra for Creditcard)

Room Tip: You can find a better place for the same $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GOLDTOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Our original hotel double booked us for our trip so we called this place on Friday and asked if there was any rooms and the young man who helped us was beyond nice. He felt bad about our situation and gave us free linen (15$ per room) and he upgraded our room to the queen size bed's for us too. This man was a backpacker and was just a working at the hotel briefly.
Got to the room & realised there was no airconditioning, a petty little fan that didn't do its job and the bed was so uncomfortable that my boyfriend & I both need a massage ASAP.
On the third day we lost our key to our room at BDO & when we got back to the hotel, it was 11pm. We called the 'after hours' line and you could hear it ringing in the office and no one was answering. We had to wait in the hall way for a few hours until a kind man who worked there helped us out. Because of this, the greedy owners did not give us our $50 dollar deposit back. It certainly doesn't cost $50 to cut a new key right?
The owner Dora continuously yelled at the 4 of us staying there for god knows what.
The communal kitchen is a disgrace, not even a full kitchen. The pool is that small that if one family is in it, you have to sit and wait for them to leave. The owners are complete nut cases.
Just an all around mess except for the nice backpacker working there. The caretaker man who lives there is an absolute creep too and followed my friend into the bathroom and wouldn't stop trying to talk to her.
In the showers there were bugs and dead ants everywhere and the sanitary bins were not regularly emptied.
Will never come here again, terrible customer service & shocking room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Marley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthportTouristPark, Owner at Southport Tourist Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
The above guest with her boyfriend stayed with us on the 23/1/2012. The problem started when they lost a set of keys to their accommodation, and at 3am were knocking on the windows of our private residence and kept ringing the office. We did not respond because of security reasons. After 8.30pm, for late arrivals we give all instructions with keys and maps to the accommodation. In the morning, the one that they referred to as a nice kind man who opened the room and let them in, was Tom the owner, the only one who has access to the key board. When they checked out at 10am, Dora the owner checked their room and found a plastic bag covering the smoke alarm system. It’s a hostel, therefore due to fire regulations a fire panel is connected to all the smoke alarms in all the rooms. They’ve endangered all tenants. We have informed all guests, for anyone who interferes with the smoke alarm in the rooms the fire service charge $300. It’s a criminal offense to interfere with the fire alarm. We found their room filled with smoke; room was left in a mess with dirty plates and food everywhere. When we confronted them they said it was our responsibility to clean it. And when we told them to pay for the lost key and the cleaning they refused and threaten to complain about us on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southport hotels

Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

BEWARE of these scammers. After being very nice at the first visit, the owner Dora and her daughter turned out to be really nasty people that tried to extract every bit of money possible out of me and my family. They had parked us next to the highway and thier own living quarters, at night we could hear them moan about about every tourist that booked in that day and how they should have charged them more and they argued about who they gave upgrades to. The linen cost is a huge RIPOFF, $15 hire for a sheet!!! Its cheaper to buy the stuff at kmart. When I questioned about broken taps in my villa, they threatened to kick me out unless I paid for the repairs and to not refund any of our money. It was broken when we walked in. I found these people rude and extremely greedy. the location is poor as it is right next to the Gold Coast highway, so it is always noisy. I would not recommend this place to anyone. The villas are stuffy and hot too. The toilet noisy and the hot water heater is located in the main bedroom so that heats up the room more. There is no fan in the main bedroom. I stayed in a villa and they are ALL like this. The kitchen facilities are poor. 4-6 beds but only 3 forks, 2 knives, 2 cups, 3 plates. If you have a large family bring your own cutlery as they wanted to charge me for asking for extra cutlery.

Room Tip: Dont come here. I also saw the owner Dora, abuse and threaten her backpacker staff. I felt sorry for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthportTouristPark, Owner at Southport Tourist Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
This guest C.S booked a family of 5 into a Ensuite Cabin they were only in there for 5-10 minutes before coming to the office to complain that the Air conditioner was not working they then asked for a refund.We upgraded them to Villa 18 and they seemed very happy. We also called in a Air Conditioner Repair man and he checked it over and there was nothing wrong with it, we still have the receipt from this. There was no more complaints until check out when they notified us of a broken tap in the villa Villa18. She insisted to pay, we said no that's fine.
We told her its part of our service to replace, repair and have everything in working order. She also claims that we charged them for extra cutlery and the broken tap. That’s untrue because if she did she should have a receipt. We provide a fully equipped kitchen for the number of people staying. The Villa18 is located 50m from the highway from the back and 45m from office residence. It is impossible to hear any conversations from the office residence because the office is at the entrance, next to the pool area, guest parking, main road and not part of other accommodations. They paid $50 for full bedding, pillow, blankets, and towels once off but they had the choice to bring their own. The office staff has better things to do in their working hours than gossiping about customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights here. Booked budget caravan for $60 per night. When we arrived the owner asked us if we would like to upgrade (as the caravan does NOT have air-con...my mistake) \So we upgraded for a discount price. Had a swimming pool. Quiet. You can choose to have an en suite cabin.

Only downside was the curtains were very thin, so was very bright, very early. But this is me nit picking now...

TIP: They offer standby rates, even if you call them (it tells you on their website) so DO mention this to save a little extra $$$

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Lovely place to stay, nice people, good facilities, kid friendly, great location, clean ammenities and basic cabins are ideal for those on a budget with a family. Would be more than happy to recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthportTouristPark, Front Office Manager at Southport Tourist Park, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will hopefully be seeing you soon.
Thank You.
Soutport Tourist Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.6 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
0.2 mi away
Broadwater Tourist Park
Broadwater Tourist Park
#1 of 10 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earls Court Motor Inn
Earls Court Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Southport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Bay on the Broadwater
0.4 mi away
Aqualine Apartments
Aqualine Apartments
#2 of 10 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.7 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southport Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southport Tourist Park

Property: Southport Tourist Park
Address: 8 Frank St | Gold Coast Highway, Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Southport
Hotel Class:3 star — Southport Tourist Park 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Coast's Accommodation Specialists at Southport Tourist Park, which offers the ideal setting for a family holiday and is conveniently located on the Gold Coast Highway at Southport. We are minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, only 100 metres from the Broadwater and within walking distance of major facilities including shopping centres, cinemas, restaurants and golf courses. We are central to all of the theme parks and attractions of the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Southport Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southport Tourist Park Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing