We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Quiet Rural Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely, Quiet Rural Setting”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We only stayed a couple of nights in our caravan on a powered site, but we really enjoyed the quiet, restful serenity of the Park. The "other" Park at 1770 down by the ocean, was far too crowded and hectic for us, so the "Rural Retreat" as we caled it, suited us just fine. The Amenities were very clean and the staff friendly... what more could you want!?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozenewsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    32
    8
    16
See reviews for
73
91
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

For those of you who are planning a trip to Australia for the first time, take advantage of alternative forms of accommodation. Hostels can be great for families and campgrounds have cabins that provide all of the necessities for a comfortable stay with reasonable costs. Captain Cook Holiday Village was just such a campground. Our cabin had enough room for the four of us (2 adults and two older teenagers). The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. The staff were great and helpful. The campground also has a public cooking area with a gas BBQ so you can cook your meals outside.

Suggestion
Go for a walk at night to see the cane toads and other nightlife in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_K_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe garden cabin for one night and while it was a tiny bit cramped space-wise, it had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. The deck was lovely and we enjoyed sitting out there, having a glass of wine and enjoying the wonderful bird-life in the trees in front of us. There were also some lovely friendly wee birds that came for a closer look, sitting on the rail watching us - as well as a cheeky brush turkey hanging around as well. It would have been perfect if there had been a restaurant within walking distance, but given that we had full kitchen facilities in the cabin, we ate in the night we stayed instead as there's not really an option of walking to a restaurant. The pool looked really nice and clean but we ended up not having time for a swim after all.
Nothing terrible to rant about, but nothing outstandingly amazing to rave about either. A great place if you're looking for a tidy and affordable place to stay on a lovely bit of the Australian East Coast.

Room Tip: Garden deluxe cabins have a lovely outlook over the pool and have a sense of being very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed her over New Year. It is lovely with a rural setting, and the beach is just down the road. The staff were lovely and friendly, and we had no problems at all. They have a pool - I think they are the only caravan park with a pool in the area. Great for the kids to cool down if you don't want to go to the beach. Markets are one monthly and are just a little walk away. Overall great relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed for a week in this lovely little place around new years (very little late night noise which was great) and found helpful and understanding staff and a fantastic location. The cabin was very spacious and well equipped with the staff coming to collect any rubbish in the mornings. Location was great with a short scenic walk to the beach as well as a short walk or drive to both 1770 and Agnes Waters, there is also a quaint morning market just down the road. The Captain Cook Holiday Village has well maintained communal toilets and showers, coin operated washing machines and dryers and a store stocked with all the essentials making my stay very comfortable and most of all relaxing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I arrived late at night and staff were exceptionally kind and efficient in giving us an introduction to the park and the facilities available. It is located in a beautiful tropical area central to all the attractions in the area. My holiday there was fantastic where all the other campers were lovely and always friendly. The park managers showed perfect service throughout the entire trip and were very helpful for anything we required. I feel it is also necessary to add how clean and new all the facilities were at the park which made the stay that much more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this park to everyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julz_081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

What else can I say to convince anyone else to stay here, helpful staff, reasonable pricing, half way between Agnes waters and seventeen seventy so both places are in reasonable walking distance markets right down the road on Sunday, cabins and the park itself spotless, the facilities well looked after and maintained, would I come back here again ? Undoubtably.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortar342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seventeen Seventy
1.0 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
105 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
#17 of 17 in Agnes Water
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
1770 Sovereign Lodge
1770 Sovereign Lodge
#4 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Holiday Village

Property: Captain Cook Holiday Village
Address: 384 Captain Cook Dr, Seventeen Seventy, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Seventeen Seventy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Seventeen Seventy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Cook Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain Cook Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Holiday Village Hotel Seventeen Seventy
Captain Cook Holiday Village Australia/Seventeen Seventy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing