We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot, great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Cook Holiday Village
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot, great stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Came up from NSW for a week with a group of friends. The staff were quite welcoming, even though we arrived quite late.
The cabins were comfortable, clean, and featured all the necessities, and helped make the stay quite enjoyable. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCB619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    81
    31
    8
    14
See reviews for
66
82
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

When we arrived staff were very friendly and helpful, the accommodation seemed well looked after and clean.
An ideal spot for couples and families looking to get away for a quiet relaxing break.
Nothing to complain about, although there are a LOT of 'polite notices' in the kitchen areas reminding you to keep the place clean otherwise face a hefty service chagre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteffLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked this accommodation after reading the reviews on trip advisor, not all the reviews were complimentary !!

From my point of view I found the place suitable for our needs, the relief Management were in place and I found them ok, my wife asked for a hand towel and the guy was a little abrupt saying they don't issue them, no other explanation was offered but this may be normal for Australia but s little unusual for us, we had two good bath sheets.

The place was clean and adequate but in my view - just adequate so much more could be improved upon and as I work in a 'hospitality' industry I can judge this..

So, clean and tidy, reasonable value, loads of room for improvement (a warm smile goes a long way)!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stopped for one night as part of our east coast tour. Husband and wife owners ( sorry cant remember name) were really friendly and happy to help with alternative directions.

We opted fir a powered site shock was reasonably priced and due to the time we arrived, we got to choose our spot, great! All the sure seems shaded which is great for delaying the morning sun heating up the van!

The park itself is clean, with lovely facilities and a well set up camp kitchen! The pool is the best we've come across so far, small but perfectly formed! Clean and ideal for that cooling dip after a long drive. Situated just away from the heart if 1770 ( not that it's lively) it's a short drive to the marina and bar. There is a restaurant on site which is Indian and burgers etc. we wanted veggy burger but they stopped selling this and hadn't updated menu. Constructive criticism for the restaurant ( I think thus is separate from owners of campsite) would be to take chairs off fabled outside to encourage people to fine in instead if takeaway, this isn't very inviting.

All in all a lovely stay and would have likes to stay an extra night to relay and enjoy the pool!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yuppygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend whisked me away from Gladstone to this fantastic little spot in 1770. It's in a great location where you can either laze about in the estuary or go play in the rough stuff on their own private accessed beach.
The cabins were clean and tidy and stocked with all you need to be comfortable.
It's just a shame that their restaurant is only open sporadically.
Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Reading the other reviews, splurge a bit and get a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleby, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked for 7 nights and our friend's were only staying for 2 nights in our camper with us. We arrived around lunchtime on the Monday and were greeted by friendly office staff. We paid for our accommodation separate but my friend was told the lines were down and they could not process eftpos. Her card details were written down by the lady in the office and she was told it would be processed when the lines came back up.
We then proceeded to our site which was on an uphill slope and had a light pole with rockery around it right in the middle of the site making it very difficult to reverse the camper. We had to do it diagonally, unhook it and straighten it up by hand (lucky I had my friends to help as it was heavy and on a downhill slope). When we finally set the camper up with it's 3 rooms we moved a heap of leaves on the site at the rear to find out there was a site marker and our camper was into the next site. Oh well we had no intentions of pulling it down. We parked our cars one next to the site and the other in front of camper.
The following afternoon we were sitting around and a man from the park drove past and reversed back to talk to us. He started by rudely stating to my friends they had not paid for their stay and had to go to the office and pay it before the office shut. He also stated the car on the site next to us would have to be gone by the weekend as they were going to be very busy. He was so rude there was no reason to use the tone he did with us. My friend sent her husband straight to the office to fix up their bill and the card went through with no problems. The following day my friend's were leaving and had car problems. We went to the office and the lady told us in the office they owed my friends some money as they had paid for their accommodation twice.
We were supposed to leave the following Monday but decided to leave on the Sunday as we had had enough. The showers were terrible. One minute you had it at the right temperature and the next it either burnt you or froze you.
The comment about being full on the weekend from the rude man was a joke. The park was nearly empty and no one on either site next to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahN759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managers123, Manager at Captain Cook Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks Leahn759 for your review , in reponse to you review , the friendly office staff that you mentioned is actually the "rude man " as you were staying seven nights he actually let you go and choose your own site , he also noticed you were on two sites and had instructed the office girls not to use that site , he did say to you that we generally get busy and you would need to move one of the three cars you had, off another site by the weekend ( this was Wed afternoon ) .
All our sites are generous in size ,,Sorry you have taken offence when none was intended
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very close to the wharf for ferries to i.e. Lady Musgrave. Shady van sites, the kitchen is small but fully furnished. Some areas (at the top end of the camping) are a little bit dusty. Clean amenities. You're completely surrounded by an amazing nature

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivianross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seventeen Seventy
1.1 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
1770 Sovereign Lodge
1770 Sovereign Lodge
#4 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.3 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#3 of 17 in Agnes Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 2 in Agnes Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Holiday Village

Property: Captain Cook Holiday Village
Address: 384 Captain Cook Dr, Seventeen Seventy, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Seventeen Seventy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Seventeen Seventy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Cook Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captain Cook Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Holiday Village Hotel Seventeen Seventy
Captain Cook Holiday Village Australia/Seventeen Seventy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing