We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management need to learn about customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast QLD
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Management need to learn about customer service”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We was on the road for over a month, we were on the way back from Cape York and this place was the most expensive for a overnight non powered site, no biggie but we had stayed in ALOT of places in the last month and knew what was good and bad...they gave us a non powered site that had an angle where our wooden chocks for under the wheels for the camper trailer were inadequate to try and get our bed straight as the grade of the slope was so steep it was unbelieveable, and when we complained we was told that we could move to the right slightly if the site was too steep...yes we did that and it wasnt much better but was an improvement but for the price we paid for the night, a paddock on a major slope was a complete rip off...but the story gets better...After we set up camp again at the new spot and was settling in around dusk to play cards with our son and think about what we would have for dinner that night the manager came storming across the paddock and tore strips of us demanding what right we had to camp where we were! ...no hello or indroduciton to us what his name was, nothing except Im the Manager (obvioulsy missing something in his life and feeling very important at this stage to berate us like he did)...he was furious because we had parked our camper trailer in the view of his deck dining restaurant so the guests looked out at the scummy red dirt camper trialer mob from Cape York...we had our 10 year old son who was there when this all took place...I was gob smacked...dont stay here, rude, arrogant and expensive...and not even on the beach front...and yes the non powered sites are terrrible!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managers123, Manager at Captain Cook Holiday Village, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We are Very sorry you have had a bad experience when staying at the Captain Cook Holiday Village , this is not the way we like to conduct Business , This is not an excuse but rather an explanation , We the managent had entrusted our park in the hands of some relief managers for 3 months whilst we had a break , needless to say this did not work out and they no longer work here, Please except our Sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    32
    8
    16
See reviews for
73
91
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Do yourself a favour and choose somewhere else. If you thought 'Faulty Towers' was a TV show, you will find that it is actually real at this caravan park. We had booked in advance and when we arrived around midday we were greeted with "Your too early!" followed by "Just wait, I'm busy!" We should have just left, but we were in shock. Finally we were told how much to pay and told which site we were on. We stayed only one night because apart from the managers rudeness, the park was dry and dusty, unkempt and hilly.

Room Tip: If you value common courtesy, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managers123, Manager at Captain Cook Holiday Village, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
I'm Sorry but this doesn't make sense to me ,checkin is at 11am for campers why would I say you are to early and I would never say wait I'm to busy , sorry but this doesn't make sense to me . The park might be on a hill but we have had rain so its definatley not a dust bowl?I'm sorry this doesn't add up
thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights over the Easter break 2012 in a garden cabin (No 19.)
The park is located on the right hand side of the road as you are travelling from Agnes Water.

Reception friendly and efficient .I was given a map of the park and on the reverse side was all of the park info. Parking was in a shaded area a short walk from the cabin.

Cabin had a verandah with table and chairs and 3 or 4 stairs to the ground level. Inside - one double bed and 3 singles. Also in cabin - TV, DVD player, fan, air con, cupboard, table and chairs, bed lamps. Small fridge, microwave, 2 stove burners, jug, toaster, cutlery, crockery etc.

Bathroom was a decent size and there was enough room to stow my toiletries bag next to the sink.

Everything seemed clean and there was no evidence of insects etc, inside the cabin. All windows and doors were screened.

The advertised restaurant was closed, which I thought was strange for such a busy weekend. There was some takeaway available at night.

In the park, there was a small swimming pool that was well patronised (read overcrowded) by children. Lots of shady trees and sooting birdsong.

The access track to the beach was approx 800 metres long. You need to wear shoes as there are a lot of sharp rocks and loose stones along most of the way. It is not flat walking. Takes roughly 10-15 minutes to walk to the beach depending on your shoes and level of fitness. Track is mainly shaded though.

Avoid cabin 28 which is situated right next to the water tanks - as there seems to be a noisy pump constantly going on and off right next to the cabin. There were also campers stacked right up next to this cabin - so not a lot of peace or privacy there. There were also campers up close to most of the other cabins as well, but this was probably due to being a busy weekend.

Vision is not good when you are exiting this park, as it is difficult to see fast moving traffic that is coming from the marina direction.

This park is not within walking distance of any shops or restaurants - you need a car. But considering the price compared to some other locations and the time of the year, I thought it was a good choice.

Room Tip: Avoid garden cabin 28 as described in review. Other cabins are close to the main road. Check out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managers123, Manager at Captain Cook Holiday Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thanks for your review , much appreciated , just a couple of things , the cabins that had campers next to were actually all together and they requested these sites , Also our cabins are all insulated and there is very little if any of outside noise including " 28 " , I'm glad you had an enjoyable break and hope to see you again soon
from the team of Captain Cook Holiday Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Travelled to the location in our motorhome, having chosen the Captain Cook holiday village as, amongst other things, it had an on-site restaurant and take-away. As we would be arriving late in the afternoon, (after a long drive) this was important to us as once we got the motorhome set up, we really didn't want to be driving again. There were no other restaurants/pubs nearby, so when we were told that the restaurant and take-away would not be opening until Thursday (this was Monday), we were understandably disappointed. There was no mention of the restaurant or take-away having restricted opening times in either the brochure or on the website. If a facility is advertised, it should be available.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jwwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Nice cabins and a beautiful area. You can camp or have a cabin. The cabins are clean and nicely equipped, with a double bed room with a door, 2 bunk beds and ensuite. They also have a nice compact kitchen dining lounge area, with a little deck out the front. The only down side to this place was it was a bit of a hike to the beach. You can drive most of the 900 meters with a 4wd and walk the rest. We walked the whole way and it wasn't really close enough for our liking. They also have a resturaunt and small store, great friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEQ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had two families staying on 2 powered site 1 nine man tent, 2 six man tents and one four man tent with a 18ft x 24ft tarp and space for our 4wd's. Facilities very clean .Staff very friendly, and helpful to pass on the local knowledge regarding beachs, fishing and how the beat the midgies ...THANKYOU ....We will now be regulars

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sujee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

just came home from a four day trip to captain cook holiday village. Staff excellent, very friendly and helpful, so previous comments about them seem difficult to believe. They were all too happy to help out whenever they could and always with a smile. Kids loved the pool! was very busy beeing christmas holidays but camp sites were well spaced and camp kitchen was an excellent addition. We had to leave early as the midgees were terribble and I came up in welts, my son who suffers excema also was attacked by them as well as my 6 year old. We decided we had to leave early due to this ( apparently 1770 is known for its midgee problem) had we known this we would have chosen elsewhere. Restaurant also was really overpriced, but some great restaurants in the area that do a pick up from holiday park. A kids play area would make a great addition to the park.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tanya f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seventeen Seventy
1.0 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
105 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
#17 of 17 in Agnes Water
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
1770 Sovereign Lodge
1770 Sovereign Lodge
#4 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Holiday Village

Property: Captain Cook Holiday Village
Address: 384 Captain Cook Dr, Seventeen Seventy, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Seventeen Seventy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Seventeen Seventy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Cook Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain Cook Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Holiday Village Hotel Seventeen Seventy
Captain Cook Holiday Village Australia/Seventeen Seventy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing