We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views Awesome Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1770 Sovereign Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights (original planned 2) and were awestruck at the amazing views and excellent service we experienced. From the moment we booked till the time we checked out everything was done in a professional and caring manner. The rooms are spacious and facilities clean and practical. There is an Indonesian theme with statues etc which was disappointing considering the resort is in a special heritage town in Australia; surely an Australian heritage theme would attract more attention from overseas visitors. But failing that oversight the management were friendly and attentive. No complaints at all .. We would definitely go back for more and recommend Sovereign Lodge as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is worth the extra cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 64 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We did not even get to stay at the resort we had cancelled the booking with in 24hours before we arrived we could not phone them as the telephone line was down so in the end after trying all morning. I ended up emailing them and was told that is fine, no where was i told there they were keeping the deposit. My partner checked the credit card and there was the $100 taken out when i rang to complain i was told it was a credit for my next stay an refused to give it back i am now in dispute with them and there is no way i will stay at this resort now or in the future so be very careful on what u do if u cancel the booking

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
12  Thank slavetothis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a disappointing stay - after being accused of STEALING by management we were humiliated and forced to stay in our rooms. After leaving, I received communication that i had DAMAGED the room. This was completely false. What's false is the advertising this property has. It's a shame because it is a beautiful place however for $240 a night and being forced to hide - I hope that no one else makes the mistake of staying here.
A friend of mine stayed at this porperty a few weeks ago and experienced a similiar experience. If you are young - beware - you will be accused and humiliated!
Go camping and pay less and experience more.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Smiffchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this place for 3 nights in August before moving to Agnes to stay for 3 nights and I really wish we stayed here the whole time. The lodge is truly beautiful and the rooms do tastefully furnished. I stated in java and never wanted to leave the bedroom it was so nice! Great shower too. Really felt like our own little home. The only thing was the kitchen wasn't a full kitchen but it had enough of everything and a BBQ too donut didn't matter. The driveway was kind of at our front door in java which meant we needed curtains shut for full privacy.

With the view from the deck at the front and the proximity to the water you really can't beat this place. I am already planning my next trip - I want to save up And stay in the penthouse! Also the staff were very sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazpotato78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This property is located in a quiet little town with a nice relaxing vibe. It has some wow factor due to the gorgeous Bali furnishings and well maintained presentation. We stayed in the unit called Java which has a covered carport for three nights recently. Pool area is really lovely and often we had it to ourselves as there are only a few apartments. Onsite manager very professional and friendly. The bed was comfy, lovely big shower in bedroom, TV in lounge and bedroom, aircon and fans were good, big fridge, microwave, electric frying pan and all the crockery and cutlery we needed. We didn't use the BBQ as if you didn't clean it there was a $75 cleaning charge.

The apartment was expensive @ $185 night considering there was no dishwasher, no laundry facilities (apart from iron and ironing board), nowhere to store groceries as all the cupboards are locked and no wardrobe to hang clothes in this apartment - there are some drawers in the bedroom.

Great restaurant within walking distance called The Tree - food was delicious and you can walk to the marina where the Lady Musgrave tours leave from.

Having said all of this, really enjoyed our stay and the pool area was our favourite part.

Room Tip: The penthouse has a great big verandah that you can sit and enjoy the view from although it is much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

cons - great central spot, quiet location (very little traffic noise) - breath taking views, magnificent pool and barbecue facilities, comfy beds, well stocked kitchen, helpful staff.
pros - rooms small - some noise from neighbours - a little expensive to similar local accom.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averageaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We booked in to this little gem on the spur of the moment when we visited 1770 as we passed through travelling north. The staff were friendly and made a point of escorting us to the room and showing us around. The accommodation was neat as a pin and very clean. Each room has a unique theme and modern facilities. We were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay immensely. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onemoretime1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seventeen Seventy
2 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
112 reviews
1 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Agnes Water
5 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Edge On Beaches
The Edge On Beaches
#5 of 17 in Agnes Water
183 reviews
3.9 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1770 Sovereign Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Sovereign Lodge

Address: 1 Elliot St, Seventeen Seventy, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Seventeen Seventy
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Seventeen Seventy
Price Range: $111 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1770 Sovereign Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 6 hour drive from Brisbane, 1770 Sovereign Lodge Resort is in the heart of the town of 1770- the birthplace of Queensland. 1770 Sovereign Lodge Resort is nestled on the side of a hill with the most magnificent sea views and National Parks. With heritage listing, the area has excellent swimming beaches and is the gateway to Lady Musgrave Island and the Bunker group of Islands. This is home to some of the best diving sites in the world along with fishing, snorkeling and surfing. 1770 Sovereign Lodge Resort is a boutique beach front holiday accommodation with traditional Balinese design and furnishings. The Penthouse boasts possibly the best accommodation in the area along with resort pool, the only pool in 1770. At your doorstep you can access the daily cruises to Lady Musgrave Island and Lagoon on the southern part of the Great Barrier Reef, and also a day cruise to Fitzroy Reef this is a must for any reef visitor - it really is fantastic. We also have Eco and environmentally 'Larc' Amphibian Tours that are popular with tourists, along with other local adventure tours and kayaking. We can do the bookings for you, to ensure you have a hassle free yet memorable holiday. The town of 1770 is the ultimate holiday destination, offering holiday makers unspoiled beaches, plus surrounded by a national park providing a secluded natural beauty along with pristine beaches and spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your 1770 Sovereign Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1770 Sovereign Lodge Australia/Seventeen Seventy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing