We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of 1770 Beach Shacks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1770 Beach Shacks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We came upon the Beach Shacks quite by accident and stayed for two nights. Beautiful location, great hosts, unique in so many ways. The sunsets were gorgeous and there was a pub and restaurant next door. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. Loved to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Sunsets at 1770 have to be seen to be believed sometimes...glad you found us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for 1770 Beach Shacks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We checked in after dark. When we awoke at sunrise next day the view was mind blowing.
The rooms have character - this is no bland motel chain. The hospitality is 1st class. Pub & bistro nearby.
Great location for a honeymoon or romantic stay.

Room Tip: Stay here for business or pleasure
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PMcAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. Yes those views are awesome, and we are very excited to hear that you appreciated the unique character of the Beach Shacks and our location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It's a small place Seventeen Seventy however their are A LOT of choices for accommodation is such a beautiful spot. After scanning TripAdvisor we picked here. And boy were we glad we did! This place is in THE PERFECT position in town.

Corey and Krista, spoiled us by upgrading our room from a single bedroom to a two bedroom, with a bottle of champers to boot. All because we were there for hubby's Birthday. We got shack #2 second one up the stairs and boy what a set of stairs! This place is 'not' really suited to those with bad knees! Our shack was called 'Light House' And the quirky theme was Balinese and brilliant. Timber, bamboo, push out panel windows , timber floors, timber beds, just very authentic and full of ambience. Great and simple kitchen with everything you need and a BIG fridge. Outdoor bbq on your deck, hammock, table and chairs and banana lounges and with that view....you will be spending A LOT of time out there. Main bedroom opens on to the deck with big french doors. Mossie net covers the bed and sadly yes you need it. Really comfortable mattress too. Second room had a double bunk and a double bed. Bathroom had a walk in shower and was plenty big. Living area is divided in to a dining area and the lounge TV area. Big flat screen TV. There is also a DVD player and a good stereo.

This is a place you could spend plenty of time in. We were there two nights and wished it was two weeks! It's kept spotlessly clean. Nice linen, towels and toiletries. Cool sea breezes and right opposite the beach and water. Watching the sunset is a local past time and it's perfectly positioned to do it from your deck.

I can't recommend this place highly enough, we will go back and for longer! However the bar/restaurant next door...though handy is VERY expensive. $4.50 for a coffee will give you the idea. And that's a shame, but I think they are charging for the location? Which luckily 1770 Beach Shacks is not. It's incredibly good value for location, service and accommodation.

Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: The shacks run up the hill via a set of stairs. Number 1 is at street level, Number 2 next up etc e...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazbahtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for giving our Beach Shacks such high praise. We are absolutely delighted that you and your husband had such a special birthday treat...and you are right about those sunsets!!!
Managers Cory and Krista took great pleasure in making your visit that much more special.
Love your pics
Also love that you appreciate the timber, casual tropical style theme...... yes a casual decor theme, but we are always striving for the utmost enjoyment experience in accommodation.....and also agree, the stairs aren't for everybody.......but hopefully worth the climb.
Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.
Kind regards
Jan and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Went there for two nights with high expectations because of the reviews and the price - and they were even surpassed! Huge balcony with BBQ, table for four, two Lounge chairs and a hammock! Huge open area with Kitchen, couch and another huge table to dine in. If you can afford it, definetly a place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this fabulous review. Your enjoyment of 1770 and our Beach Shacks is our focus....so we are very happy that your expectations were met.

Kind regards,

Jan and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Beach Shacks for 2 nights with our Aussie friends before and after taking the day trip out to Lady Musgrave Island. Our bedroom was lovely and we liked having the windows wide open to enjoy the breeze and hear the birds. The lounge and dining area was spacious allowing the four of us to kick back, eat dinner at a large table, and enjoy the views. The veranda was lovely as well.
We cooked dinner both nights, so I can't speak to the dining nearby, but the kitchen was roomy and the four of us could comfortably cook and visit at the same time. Lots of stairs to our room, but it was worth it! It was just a short drive (5 min) to the dock where the boat leaves for L.M. Island.

Room Tip: As I've mentioned in previous reviews, stairs aren't easy for me, so perhaps a lower room mi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sushar303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Sounds like you and your Aussie friends had a great catchup and we are thrilled that you found your Beach Shack so spacious and comfortable.

Kind regards,
Jan and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our first ever overnight experience in Australia; a 3 night stay in the top of the 4 beach shacks appropriately named the Tree House. We wanted to be close enough to cross to the Great Barrier Reef and 1770 seemed the ideal location. We chose the 1770 Beach Shacks as it promised to be a very different experience to the usual 4 & 5 star hotels that we frequent. It was a very long 6 hour drive from Brisbane airport after a 9 hour flight from Tokyo and whilst this rustic facility does not offer modern marble and glass luxury, staying at the Tree House proved equal to any 5 star experience that we've had in recent years. The location and views are stunning, the atmosphere relaxed to the point of falling over. Queensland is pretty hot and steamy in March so the aircon was very welcome. The location was the complete antidote to the previous 6 days in the metropolitan 30m population of Tokyo - 1770 has a resident population of just 28 (yes, twenty eight!!). The owner Dave was friendly and helpful and the pup at the bottom of the cliffs provided excellent food at reasonable prices. This is the perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: There are only 4 shacks and ours was for couples only.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Propajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Wow! That was a huge contrast in locations in a very short time. Your review is wonderful for us to read. It's heartening to know that 1770 and The Beach Shacks delivered such a satisfying experience for you......hope you can come back again for some more of that total relaxation.

Kind regards

Jan and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We arrived cold and wet from a day on our motorbike and we were greeted with a warm smile and helpfulness. The hosts were great and very accomodating we loved our stay - only wish we didnt have to leave the next day :-( Also, the restaruant downstairs at the pub was great, not super cheap, but not outrageous and GREAT food for dinner. Brekky was great value at about $13 for a massive vegetarian brekky ! Would return in a heartbeat !

Room Tip: If there's just two of you, then the Tree House is perfect - right up the top and the views are...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Very happy that you enjoyed the 'Tree House' and a warm welcome after a cold wet ride.
Thank you for taking the time to write this.

Kind regards
Jan and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seventeen Seventy
2.1 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
1770 Sovereign Lodge
1770 Sovereign Lodge
#4 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
2.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
178 reviews
4.0 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#3 of 17 in Agnes Water
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1770 Beach Shacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Beach Shacks

Address: 578 Captain Cook Dr, Seventeen Seventy, Queensland 4677, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Seventeen Seventy
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Seventeen Seventy
Price Range: $167 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1770 Beach Shacks 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful beachfront self-catering bungalows each offering superb tropical architecture, all with spectacular ocean views from spacious decks. Terraced up the side of a slope overlooking the pristine 1770 Inlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1770 Beach Shacks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1770 Beach Shacks Australia/Seventeen Seventy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing