We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Bali but so far away”
Review of 1770 Beach Shacks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1770 Beach Shacks
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Close to Bali but so far away”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

As a Baliaholic, the reviews of the Beach Shacks at 1770 had me really hanging out for a fix. I certainly got what i came for!!! The accommodation was indeed in true Balinese style right down to the beautifully folded towels and fresh flower touches on the beds. There were lots of lovely little reminders in every corner of that beautiful country. Location wise : tick. Fantastic restaurant next door : tick. View from the verandah : tick. Personalised attention with booking and greeting : tick. The need for mozzie coils : tick. Just like Bali.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovealifeoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much. We loved that you enjoyed your stay at the Shacks.....a touch of Bali, Aussie style.

We value your feedback.

Jan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at 1770 Beach Shacks in December 2012 and really enjoyed it. The town is small and Agnes Water isn't much bigger, but the beach was most enjoyable and the beach "shacks" were very comfortable. I loved the location of my shack, right across the road from the beach and having a kitchen in the shack saved a lot of money as eating out is expensive in Australia. Nothing but praise for 1770 Beach Shacks and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Recommend a shack with a kitchen as it will help cut costs on eating out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Yes we love that our guests do get to experience the "just across the road from the beach' location, and all the wonderful views etc that come with it in these unique Australian coastal locations.

Very glad the kitchen helped make your stay more comfortable (and more affordable of course).
We are happy to advise that all of our Beach Shacks are self catering.

Thankyou so much for your praise and for taking the time to write this.
Jan and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Beach Shacks in October 2012. Myself and my wife were celebrating 32 years
together and Quensland was the venue. We had a sense before we arrved in Queensland that 1770 would be special and we were right. We found our little piece of paradise here. Amazing, beautiful place with accommodation that should be declared a listed building. The shacks are fantastic with the most amazing views over 1770. We could have spent a month here.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.
We will be back.
Tony & Rene

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony6257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Your appreciation means everything to us. So glad your stay here was this special to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancaster, ontario
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wow...what a place. After a very long day on the M1/A1 highway from Surfers Paradise, we arrived at one of the most unique and idyllic places we've ever stayed at. Corey and Krista greeted us warmly. They immediately helped us with a situation with a tour we were going on the next day. Unfortunately, due to weather (high seas) we were unable to go on the Lady Musgrave Island Tour. I'm sure its amazing, but after travelling close to 10,000 K's from Canada, and driving 9 hours from Surfers, needless to say I was very bummed about not going out to the GB reef. However, the Beach Shacks and Town of 1770/Agnes Water made up for it.
We had the "Escape" room, second from the top. As other reviewers have already raved about, all Balinese style, open air, amazing views, well equipped, cozy, comfortable and that hammock in the corner with a glass of great Australian wine was my home for a couple of days. Amazing sea breeze.

Lovely walk up the beach/ road to the Cook Monument and make sure you drive up to the end of the road for the lookout point and trail. Holy cow what a sunset and view!!!!

Would highly recommend The 1770 Beach Shacks to anyone travelling through the Sunshine Coast/Bundaberg/Rockhampton area. Cory and Krista are excellent hosts.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view and easier walk to the upper car park. Also great wood oven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank racefan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
THANK YOU! After such a long and tiring trip it is fantastic you loved your visit to 1770 and got to experience our famous sunsets over the water and mountains beyond.
Very sorry you didn't get to explore the reef and Lady Musgrave Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Balinese style shacks up side of a hill. Every one has great view of the bay. There is a pub next door, and boats for Lady Musgrove depart from the marina just down the road. Fully self contained, and with a romantic feel about them, with small BBQ's on the deck. The management couple are great hosts. We stayed in the studio one up the top but people we met out on the reef stayed in lower one and had lots of room and a hammock on balcony.
Be warned there are no screens - but we only ever had a couple of moths, and there are coils on balcony. Has fan and airconn- and beautiful sea breezes

Room Tip: All the shacks have great view - the bottom one may have bit of road/pub noise but that would finish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tanga147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay, along with the facilities and activities 1770 has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a pleasant two nights at 1770 Beach Shacks. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment (which sleeps up to six). Well-maintained rooms with everything you need (fully-stocked kitchen) - even had a barbecue pit out in the balcony. Got a bit of a shock when I was told to use the mosquito coils, which Krista supplied, but never did have any mossie problems throughout the stay. There was only one bathroom, which was a bit of a drag. Beds were really comfy, with air-conditioners in both rooms. The long flight of stairs can be a bit of challenge for eldery folks, so remember to drive to the top of the hill first to check-in and bring your luggage in your room (unless you know your room is at the foot of the hill), before reparking your vehicle at the bottom of the hill. The only thing that really ticked me off was that I was charged an extra 3% for using my credit card to pay the balance (which wasn't communicated to me), so please be aware if you're paying by card.

Room Tip: Park your vehicle at the top of the hill when you first arrive. After checking in and moving down yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had our choice of rooms on our stay as we wer the only booking that day. We chose the room closest to the road "Sunset" and were delighted. There is a little road noise but worth if for it's proximity to the beach, car park and hotel, restaurant and cafe next door. The sunset over the ocean is amazing and the amenities wonderful. The hammock on the deck, the barbeque, the queen bed with quaint mossie netting were all great. Corey could not have been more accommodating and friendly. We relaxed and wandered the waterfront, we read and ate a wonderful place and a real find.

Room Tip: You aren't able to book a specific room but we did look at all but the studio. Any of the three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimkath61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Great to share our piece of paradise with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seventeen Seventy
2.1 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
1770 Sovereign Lodge
1770 Sovereign Lodge
#4 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
174 reviews
4.0 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
126 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1770 Beach Shacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Beach Shacks

Property: 1770 Beach Shacks
Address: 578 Captain Cook Dr, Seventeen Seventy, Queensland 4677, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Seventeen Seventy
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Seventeen Seventy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1770 Beach Shacks 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful beachfront self-catering bungalows each offering superb tropical architecture, all with spectacular ocean views from spacious decks. Terraced up the side of a slope overlooking the pristine 1770 Inlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your 1770 Beach Shacks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1770 Beach Shacks Australia/Seventeen Seventy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing