We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!”
Review of 1770 Beach Shacks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1770 Beach Shacks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

What a beautiful little gem! The shacks are perfectly appointed, immaculate and the location could not be better. We enjoyed the most incredible 10 days here over Christmas and would highly recommend them to anyone wanting a relaxed beach holiday :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrisbaneJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Manager at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

We thank you so much for taking the time to write this extremely complimentary review, and we are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Beach Shacks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 107 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

Loved this place, so different from the norm and the location is unbeatable. There is only 4 villas/huts with the bottom two being 2 bed-roomed. There is plenty of stairs to go up if you are staying in the top two rooms however you can enter from the top of the resort. There is a guest washing machine behind villa 2 but it is bore water and can stain however Agnes Water has a couple of laundromats.
Only the bedrooms are air conditioned but the living areas have ceiling fans which work just fine. Beautiful big balconies with a hammock at one end which the kids never got out of. Lovely area on here for BBQ's or there's a hotel next door that has nice meals and cold beers.
Every one is very friendly and will help to make your stay that bit more special. Make sure to do the Lady Musgrave tour on the Spirit of 1770 boat, great day out, one we'll never forget to the Great Barrier Reef, but take sea sickness tablets before you leave.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ellietia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770BeachShackMgmt, Owner at 1770 Beach Shacks, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

Your excellent review is very much appreciated. As an added bonus we are very happy to advise that our little piece of paradise here at 1770 is finally being supplied with 'town water', so soon we will be 'bore water' free. A few long awaited modern conveniences will be a wonderful support to our unique unspoilt area.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My family stayed four nights in the smallest accommodation, a studio on the top terrace. With a two year old daughter, we would have preferred something with a separate bedroom, but the Aussie school holidays had filled the place up by the time we tried to reserve. Good: the view, the hosts (incredibly gracious), the general construction and decor of the facility, the view, the small kitchen was fairly well equipped - we cooked in 3 of four nights. Could be better: the windows have no screens, which is apparently not usually a problem, but our visit coincided with several days of rain, which brought out various biting insects, for which our only defense was to keep the windows shut, robbing ourselves of the breeze. The only other challenge, as in most of Australia, is that traveling on the US dollar tends to feel increasingly expensive. The cost was around $200 US/night, which felt high for the size of the unit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coalbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Everything here is perfect, the Town of 1770 is the most relaxed place I think I have ever had the pleasure to visit. The locals are welcoming and you get a real small town feel. No photo's of this accomodation can do it justice, every attention to detail has been meticulously pulled off to great success, right down to the hammocks on the balcony. Stunning views from all the villas. It may seem pricey when booking but if you want a holiday with the wow factor this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonto101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My husband and his parents stayed for 2 nights in March. We all loved the view, the shacks themselves and thought the staff were very helpful. The view from the shacks is spectacular and so nice to be able to eat on the open deck in the evening as the sun sets. I think that it is great value for your money and we felt like we were staying in the lap of luxiory. I would recommend this establishment to my friends and family with no worry. The Town of 1770 is quiet, not crowded with tourists and has everything you need.

We also did a tour to Lady Musgrave Island which was lovely and very worth the money spent.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Stayed here for a night in June 2009 and wished I could have stayed longer. I stayed in room 4 and had a gorgeous view of the water from the room and also from the private balcony. There are only four rooms in the complex and given the set up I expect all should have similarly great views. I was worried about mosquitos etc but the bed had netting and the room had airconditioning and windows which I closed before dusk so I had no problems. The room had a stereo and dvd player available for use but still had reception for the tv channels. The 'shacks' are right in front of what looks like a newly established boardwalk and picnic area along the beach and basically next door to a cafe and bar where I enjoyed a nice meal and beer. There is minimal off street parking and fairly steep stairs to the rooms so would probably not be suitable for people in wheelchairs or who have difficulty walking. The room included a day bed, microwave, table, utensils and cooking equipment so quite a good set up. Cost was $168 for a night but I thought it was worth it as I had a very comfortable, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KALAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

The pictures on the website were promising, and we were nog disappointed. The Beach Shacks combine comfort, and really nice decoration with magnificent views. We stayed in a two bedroom appartment. Everything you need is there. Owner is friendly and can give you tips for visits to Lady Musgrave Island (beautiful).
There is nothing much happening in Town of 1770, but it is a great place to relax. We had a nice meal at the restaurant under the Beach Shacks. Also check out the café/shop near the marina. Great coffee, cakes, quiches, and other food stuff.
We found this place great for a few relaxing days, and good value.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seventeen Seventy
2.1 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
1770 Sovereign Lodge
1770 Sovereign Lodge
#4 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
181 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
4.0 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1770 Beach Shacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Beach Shacks

Address: 578 Captain Cook Dr, Seventeen Seventy, Queensland 4677, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Seventeen Seventy
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Seventeen Seventy
Price Range: $163 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1770 Beach Shacks 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful beachfront self-catering bungalows each offering superb tropical architecture, all with spectacular ocean views from spacious decks. Terraced up the side of a slope overlooking the pristine 1770 Inlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1770 Beach Shacks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1770 Beach Shacks Australia/Seventeen Seventy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing