We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Settlement Cove

Settlement Cove
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Brilliant for families to enjoy, even the oldies go there early in the morning. Its always pristine and there are life guards there through the day. A perfect spot for families to spend the hot day with the kids. Lots of shade, plenty of playground and of course several levels of pool enjoyment for all ages.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynnie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    48
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moreton Island, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a first free class swimming precinct. There are wading pools for the littlelies too. Dotted around the large free form pool are free barbecues and picnic tables. During peak times and summer the precinct has Lifeguards on duty.All in all a wonderful place to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“settlement cove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Found this luckilt t beggining of our stay in Redcliffe we stayed at thelush Proximity apartments right on the front, turn left down the slope just after the jetty it leads to this beautiful family lido, plenty of shade if needed also covered bbq areas with gas bbq some families were having their xmas parties down there all trimmed up! I think you must be have to be there at the crack of dawn to get one! The whole area is supervised by life guards and is on level with the beautiful ocean. Really safe and fun. Good changing facilities, cafe ice cream etc. We went most days, so glad we found it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Go here on a weekday, great for children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice place to take the kids. Having heard how busy it gets on weekends/school holidays we came here on a week day. It's worth coming to because there are not only the lagoon pool and toddler/baby pool but also a playground that's all on sand under shade sails. It borders onto the sea, so it's a nice area to be in, especially when there's a sea breeze. It got quite windy when we were there which was cooling but it was a windy day overall.

Make it a day trip, visit the Redcliffe Museum (free), the Bee Gees Way with the statue and memorial photos all along the wall. The small beach at the pier is not that great, which is probably why it gets busy at the lagoon. Didn't venture south of the lagoon to see if there were any other beaches and what condition they were in.

For some reason they closed the lagoon pool shortly after we arrived, don't know why, but one guy was doing some cleaning, the toddler pool was still open. When we first arrived we kept hearing a warning message every 5-10 min over the loudspeaker to watch your kids in the water, blablah, found it a bit annoying after a while. It stopped when the lagoon pool was temporarily closed, there were also signs up not to swim, that it was unsafe. Again, no idea why. But if I had to listen to that message on repeat the whole time it would've got on my nerves.

Probably will stick with the Southbank man-made beach as we are from Brisbane, and it's not really worth 1hr 15min on the train and bus, but it was nice to come here once. Redcliffe itself I found a bit run down. But don't let that put you off coming here. If you don't like crowds, come here during the week, and not when it's school holidays or weekends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A must do with kids...and it's free!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

On a hot day this is a must do with the kids, the only reason I haven't scored it 5 points is that it is really busy on a weekend and you can often struggle to find anywhere to sit...especially with any shade options and the other minus point is that there is only 1 van that sells minimal options on food/drinks/chips/ice creams and again, on busy days the queue is pretty big. Having been here a few times now, I advise taking your own food/drink in a cooler bag and take a big blanket to sit on, some people even take their own small shade canopy.
The lagoon itself is located right next to the ocean so the outlook is very pretty, the water is clean, though sometimes can be quite cold and it's fairly shallow in most areas so great for kids who are not the most confident swimmers and struggle with tides and currents in the ocean. There is even a small paddling pool for smaller kids and a park which is well shaded if the kids want a break from being in the water. There are lifeguards on duty to keep an extra watchful eye over everything and a couple of toilet/shower blocks to get changed in etc though I have sometimes seen a fair bit of rubbish in them during school hols....not sure how often they are checked. There is a first aider on site at weekends and plenty of parking nearby on the street and in the local car park (5min walk away) though there are charges for parking. The lagoon is pretty big and kids love it, actually so do adults, nothing better than having a paddle on a hot day. Try it, i doubt you will be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkiePom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settlement Cove also viewed

Redcliffe, Moreton Bay Region
Redcliffe, Moreton Bay Region
 
Redcliffe, Moreton Bay Region
Redcliffe, Moreton Bay Region
 

Been to Settlement Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing