We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff, lovely rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Mon Komo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oaks Mon Komo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, lovely rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had a one bedroom beachview room on the 6th floor for 2 weeks. I found the rooms spacious and equipped with everything you need to be self sufficient. The restaurant/bar downstairs was great and not only had great menu options but was staffed by helpful friendly people.

I commuted to the city a couple of days for work - about 45 mins each way although peak hour coming back can be challenging.

The hotel is right on the beach and you literally walk out the front and onto fantastic walkways and a beautiful lagoon area on the beach. The beach is very kid safe and the destination best suits families with young children or others who enjoy the thought of fantastic scenery walks.

The shopping centre with a Woollies is on the next block so keeping your costs low by cooking your own meals is really easy.

All in all its very impressive for the price.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the beach view rooms - there is a sofa on the balcony and you can enjoy a nice gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussie_travellers_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent 2 week stay at Oaks Mon Komo. It is wonderful to read that we were able to provide a home away from home for you to stay for 2 weeks on business. We are pleased you found your apartment to be spacious and well equipped and in a good location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    134
    36
    16
    17
See reviews for
99
109
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed 1 night in a 2 bedroom apartment for a conference with friends. It was a beautiful apartment and I wish I was able to stay longer to make full use of the kitchen and amenities. The apartment had modern furnishings with the lounge and front bedroom opening up to views of the water! I stayed in the second bedroom (no view) but was happy with en-suite bathroom. Great location as it was a few minutes walk down to the local supermarket, coffee and restaurants.

My only complaint was when a busload of sporting high-school students checked in and took up the two (small) lifts for the next 45mins. This was inconvenient for myself and other guests who were unable to go back to their rooms as we were not able to access stairs. Other than that the service I experienced was o.k. (the food and service of conference staff were excellent!)

The weather was cold and windy but that did not deter me from enjoying the view!
Would definitely visit again with friends as an alternative local getaway from Gold coast/Sunshine coast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Mon Komo. It is wonderful to read that you found your apartment beautiful with modern furnishings and great views of the water. We are pleased you found the location of our resort to be convenient to your needs while in Redcliffe. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Overall this property rates at 3 out of 5 based on my recent stay. This property was lovely, spacious, modern and clean. The sea views and large balcony offer an aspect of luxury you would expect with the prices that they are asking. It is indeed a very high standard of accommodation and the linen and servicing was of a high standard. While the property is very modern, time and money seems to be spent on just the daily necessary upkeep of each room. Frequently used windows and doors were clean but others had dirt so thick you couldn't see out. Both showers in the 2bdrm apartment had problems, one with the hot/cold mixer (either way too hot or way too cold) and the other sprayed water everywhere. In one of the bedrooms the drainage from higher apartments could be heard continuously and rather intrusively, especially when they were showering or flushing the toilet. The air conditioning unit also had wires visible through the grate that wasn't dangerous but diminished the overall look of the room.

One other downside was the lifts that had faults the entire time we were there. Not only were they slow because of security measures in place but the call button on the parking floor wasn't working so guests were directed to another lift and had to walk across the courtyard to another lift. Quite inconvenient I am sure you would agree.

As first stated though overall it was a good stay. These things highlighted other than the showers and lifts hardly affect the stay but would attribute to a more impressive and luxurious stay if they were seen too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Mon Komo. It is great to read that you found the property lovely, spacious, modern and clean. We would like to apologise for the issues you experienced while staying with us with the shower and the lifts. I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager and Maintenance Manger for their immediate attention. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, FL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Modern, clean spacious apt though more stylish than practical in design. Beware of sensitive smoke alarms as we were rudely awakened at 6:30am and had to evacuate in our pjs because someone burned their toast! Obviously a common occurrence as they hand out instructions upon check-in. I was not happy about being ripped off by their Internet service provider to the tune of $100, but the front desk staff not interested in helping, nor did the provider (Reivernet) reimburse. They also failed to mention that if you eat in the restaurant on the premises, there's free wifi provided, which was one of the better restaurants in the area anyway. In fact they don't mention the restaurant at all, I assume from reading other reviews, because it's independent of the hotel. Their gym is a joke, but you can walk down the st and pay to go to a great gym instead.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Mon Komo. We apologise some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments in relation to the fire alarm as it can cause a disturbance. The alarms in the room are installed to meet the strict building code to ensure the safety of guests and at times, can be sensitive. As such we provide instructions to guests in the event of an evacuation. We do hope you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels and Resorts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Park, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for a week recently and found Mon Komo very comfortable. As with other Oaks Hotels we've stayed in, the grout in the shower recess, walls and floor, were mouldy - from day 1. I don't understand why housekeeping allows this. Apart from this we had no problems and found parking excellent and reception very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MK152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent family holiday at Oaks Mon Komo. It is great to read that on several occasions Oaks has been able to provide you comfortable accommodation. I will pass your comments in regards to the shower grout to the Housekeeping Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville Beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night in a 2 bedroom apartment, the building was very nice and modern, the young girl on reception was lovely and very helpful.... we ate breakfast at the restaurant and found it to be very nice and also reasonably priced......
The only down side was that it was very bad weather and the way that the windows are designed, the wind blows through the cracks, my son tried to push his jumper against it to stop the whistling noise, and it kept me awake in my room most of the night as well,.. also the door on the master bedroom that lead to the balcony wouldn't stay shut and kept banging in the wind open & close all night long.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Many thanks of taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Mon Komo. It is wonderful to read that you found our reception staff to be lovely and helpful and you enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant. I will pass your comments onto the Hotel Manager and Maintenance Manager about the windows and doors for their immediate attention. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Faulty Towers had better service and facilities, a real disaster. Do yourself a favour - don't bother wasting your money or time at this overpriced and underserviced venue.

We had a 3 bedroom apartment booked on Saturday night 30th June, 2012. Can't comment on the apartment because due to their stuff up there was no apartment for us. Can comment on the poor service at reception and poor response from management when I called on Monday asking for an explanation.

Booked 2 months earlier for a celebration weekend away we arrived, checked in, parked, waited over 10 minutes for a lift from the basement to our floor, got to our room to find someone else had checked into our room. Waited another 10 minutes for a lift back down, went to reception to report duplication to find that they did not have another room to book us into - they were fully booked !!!

So we had three couples, all who had made arrangements to be away from family overnight (including babysitting) to celebrate an anniversary, a 40th and a 72nd birthday had to turn around - go home - and unpack.

While waiting at reception for them sort out the stuff up there was a line up of other people all with problems with their rooms as well.

Don't count on getting to your room in a hurry, or getting downstairs to go out quickly. With very cheap build design the venue has only two very small narrow lifts and there was a traffic jam of people waiting to get up to their floors the entire time I was waiting in reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Unfortunately, on the day of your arrival we were experiencing technical difficulties with our reservations and electronic key systems, this caused a lot of stress for guests and staff. As such, one of the reception staff accidently checked you and another guest into the same room. When you returned to reception, our staff required a short period of time to identify the error that occurred and re-allocate your room. I have spoken with the staff concerned and they have expressed their apologies if they may have given you the impression that we were unable to accommodate you. As discussed on Monday, Oaks Hotels & Resorts has a very strong policy regarding resolving over-bookings and we do not turn away a guest with a reservation. My sincerest apologies that you believed you were unable to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcliffe
0.2 mi away
LaVida on Anzac
LaVida on Anzac
#1 of 4 in Redcliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Proximity Waterfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Redvue Luxury Apartments
Redvue Luxury Apartments
#3 of 4 in Redcliffe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Scarborough Beach Resort
Scarborough Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Redcliffe Motor Inn
Redcliffe Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Redcliffe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Mon Komo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Mon Komo

Property: Oaks Mon Komo
Address: 99 Marine Pde, Redcliffe, Queensland 4020, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Bay Region > Redcliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Redcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Mon Komo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mon Komo "My Dream Place" on the beach at Redcliffe is the newest resort style accommodation located only 35 minutes from Brisbane’s CBD precinct and close to Brisbane Domestic & International airports. Surrounded by restaurants, cafes, shopping, entertainment, recreational activities and only moments to the beach there is plenty to see and do whilst staying at Mon Komo. With all the facilities of a beachfront resort you can be sure to enjoy the luxury of Mon Komo's spacious hotel rooms and fully self contained apartments, most with spectacular ocean views over Moreton Bay. Spacious apartments complemented by contemporary coastal decor & luxuriously appointed kitchens with stainless steel appliances and full laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oaks Mon Komo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing