We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Local motel.. fantasic large breakfast.. an old world welcome and great value..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Shades Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Shades Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic Local motel.. fantasic large breakfast.. an old world welcome and great value..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

A fantastic Local motel.. fantasic large breakfast.. an old world welcome and great value.. the rooms where very clean and well looked after... older style maybe but a great comfortable bed, clean shower and clean toliet what more could you want...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thankyou for your review. We are always so chuffed when our guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you again.
All the best
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
21
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in the area on business for 5 nights. We had an executive room providing a bedroom, bathroom, small Lounge & kitchenette. We had a medium fridge, two TVs with Foxtel. Very comfortable bed, hot full pressure shower & very quiet. Situated a little out of town but with our hire car only a few minutes from anywhere. Traditional style motel that offers that bit extra.great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Caz B
Thankyou for your review. The excutive room is extremely quiet and a great size for a motel room when you are staying a few nights. Cleanliness is the top of our priorities when we have those rare spare few hours. Thanks Again
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Whilst the rooms in this motel are very basic and in most instances - small, they are comfortable, adequate and most importantly - clean!
The shower is HOT and you cannot fault the water pressure and the beds were extremely comfortable, which is great after a long days travelling. For an over-nighter it's more than fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Cleanliness, great shower and comfortable bed is what its all about.
All the best
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first time on Saturday night 11 May 13. We were greeted pleasantly by the very friendly manager, and offered an upgrade to a queen suite with separate lounge. A nice touch, which was appreciated.
Given the outside highway, our room was very quiet and comfortable. The only complaints were the very tight parking for our Santa Fe, and small rough towels. Everything else was fine, and appreciated.

Room Tip: If it is busy and you have a larger car, the back suites near the conference centre, are very diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpack99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Backpack99
Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the room.
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here recently while visiting friends in Maryborough. It is entirely what you would expect from a country town motel. The room is adequate, but not generous. The decor is clean and tidy, but not glamorous. I found the bed a little too soft, but that may just be preference.

On arrival, I was checked in quickly, and the room was clean. The motel provides soap, shampoo and conditioner. The mini bar prices are quite reasonable. When I booked through wotif.com, I received $25 towards breakfast each day. I skipped one day, but on the second day was able to have a full cooked breakfast (with three eggs!), and some juice, for under $25. On check out, it was noted that I had not used one day of breakfast, and so I was not charged for the items I used from the mini bar.

On the whole, I would be comfortable recommending this motel to those who understand that it is not a five star city hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Chris B
I am glad your experience was pleasant. Your room was the standard room and is an older style room however extremely clean and comfortable. Your matress is 4 months old and we have had wonderful comments on them so we put them through most of our rooms. Our breakfasts are plentiful and you certainly never drive away hungry. Thankyou for your adequate review. Happy travels.
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were recommended this hotel after one we stopped in previously was full, we had a 2 night unplanned stop over due to the floods. The manageress was extremely helpful and was able to keep us informed on the situation with the roads affected by the rising water. The rooms were large and spacious with good A/C and well appointed bathrooms and spotlessly clean. Would wholly recommend Blue shades for a scheduled or un-scheduled stopover.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourndego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thankyou for leaving feedback for our motel. It was a challenging time with our 3rd flood in 3 years. I am so pleased you enjoyed your "forced" stay. Rain, hail or shine we give the best experience to our guests we can. All the best.
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stopped there for 1 night on our way to Brisbane. Very spacious room with more than adequate amenities. A Queen size bed and a single. We both had an excellent sleep on very comfortable mattresses. Rooms spotlessly clean. Ample free parking directly outside made moving luggage easy. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornbeefhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Blue Shades Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello
Thankyou for your positive review. We are so pleased you had a great nights sleep and appreciate that you mentioned the cleanliness as we do work hard on providing clean rooms, we are always working on providing a comfortable and clean environment. we hope to see you back again on your travels.
All the best
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryborough
1.8 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#6 of 11 in Maryborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
McNevins Maryborough Motel
McNevins Maryborough Motel
#3 of 11 in Maryborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kimba Lodge Motel
1.3 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 11 in Maryborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Shades Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Shades Motel

Property: Blue Shades Motel
Address: 35 Ferry St, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Shades Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Shades Motel is now under NEW MANAGEMENT! We are making some changes and important improvements for our guests as we move into 2017. The Blue Shades Motel is on the Southern entry to Maryborough, about 250m on your right once you have crossed the Mary River over the Lamington Bridge. Its on the corner of Queen and Ferry Streets. The Motel consists of 35 rooms ranging from Standard to Executive, with several Family sized room options also available. Wifi and parking are complimentary for all guests. Room service breakfast is available, or you may choose to have breakfast our the dining room (reopened on 23 December 2016 for Breakfast). Dinner is available across the road and charged back to your room. A BBQ near the pool area is available for use. If you are thinking of a function or conference we have a large conference room with a courtyard available as well. We are happy to assist with any of your queries and look forward to welcoming you on your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Shades Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Maryborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing