We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90th Birthday party @ conference centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My family held a 90th Birthday party at the M'bro Motel & Conference Centre on the 13th April, 13. We contacted Brad and Benita several times prior to the date to discuss the party, food, seating arrangements etc., Each time the service was outstanding and we were made to feel very welcome. Guests stayed at the Motel overnight and thoroughly enjoyed their accommodation and the wonderful friendly service was second to none.
The Conference room for the party was excellent, clean and bright and on ground level for the elderly. Brad and Benita helped the family set up the room attending to every detail.Brad even opened up two motel rooms especially for the party guests for their convenience and comfort.
The food prepared was absolutely mouth watering. We asked for a select of four different foo foods to offer our guests. Brad provided the guests about 15 different choice dishes.
After the party, Brad and Benita (who was ill on the day) wrapped up the left over food and provided platters to transport the food to the family home for supper later in the evening.
My family cannot thank these dedicated, hard-working, co-operative, fun loving people enough for making our Mum's 90th B/day a day to remember.
Thanks Brad and Benita - Big Hugs.
Sue Flavel. 21st April, '13

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 128 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night when driving from Airlie beach to Brisbane.

Clean room ,friendly staff and great priece

Noisy airconditionunit , the curtains are not blocking out any light, and the kitchen is a little sparesly equipped.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pukkverk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

. . . . that the person with the dog smell and flaking paint never said anything till they were gone. The folks running the joint bend over to make a stay from the traveller welcome. Check the good reviews folks, a good night is assurred in my opinion.
I haven't stayed since my last review but will when I am up that way.
Just haveing a rant, unfair dog smeller; you tell them and if they are the same folks that I meet the problem is fixed before the words have left your lips.

Room Tip: Sun beats down out side rooms in the arvo; head for the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby E, Owner at Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thanks Rowan F for your response.
We wish people who wish to complain would come to us first so we can fix the problem before they complain on-line.
As you know, and mentioned, we are happy to try and fix whatever we can when the guest is there so they are happy, it is easier to please someone while they are there than after they are gone.
Thanks for your support and see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good friendly service, provides all of the amenities listed in the room at a value for money price.
Ok it is more functional than stylish but you get what you pay for. Easily accessed from the Bruce Highway. It is a km to the town centre & few other facilities nearby.
It worked great for us as a stopover point to break up a long journey south.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 974PhilW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby E, Owner at Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thanks Phil W for the great review!

We try to offer great value, and we appreciate your feed back saying exactly that.
We have good value, clean rooms offering services that makes your stay easy and comfortable.

We hope you pass the word around and look forward to a return visit!
By the way, ask for a refreshing beverage on check in next time, its on the house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great service, friendly management and value for money! I would highly recommend this establishment. The manager Brad is a great guy, nothing was a problem! I had trouble with our Data Projector at the commencement of a 3.5 hour training session I was conducting at their Conference Centre and when Brad realized, he offered to allow me the use of the Motel's data projector to get me out of trouble. If Brad had not been so forth coming then it would have been an awkquard training session.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby E, Owner at Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hi Darren,

thank you very much for the great review which you left for us on Trip Advisor.
We strive to provide great value and service to our guests and really appreciate it when we receive feedback like yours.

As always, our managers did more than expected of them on the day, and it was great to hear that your conference went off without a hitch.

We look forward to your organisation returning in future

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were stranded by floods recently and the staff were so helpful and friendly - and they were very thoughtful that we were running short of funds.

They provided free wi-fi which was helpful for the kids and also assisted us with flood information. They also provided us with some extra biscuits and towels.

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

The staff went above and beyond all expectations at a distressing time for us - which was very greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby E, Owner at Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hi Wendy B,

sorry in the delay in getting back to you after leaving such a great review on Trip Advisor.

Thankfully your stay with us was as comfortable as possible during the recent floods, the free wifi is a bonus which many guests dont expect.
Our managers do a great job, and we pride ourselves on great service all the time.

We hope to see you again one day.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Disappointed with the room, no block out curtains on the windows, strong dog smell on the beds and in the room. Bathroom had large areas of flaking paint- something you'd put up with in a caravan park shared bathroom- not a room that's $140!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby E, General Manager at Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Australia 44,

Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at our motel, we take your feedback very seriously.

We are a pet friendly motel however strictly do not allow pets in rooms. We did inspect room 21 after seeing your review on Trip Advisor and found no evidence of pet fur or odour in the room. I would suggest the smell you found would be from being locked up for a period of time. In future we will ensure the room is aired and freshened up prior to arrival of guests.

The flaking paint is an issue which we are addressing in our renovations for 2013. Being a 50 year old motel the materials are aging and the last 2 years of floods have taken their toll.

For future reference when you stay in motels if you do have any issues please bring it to the attention of management immediately so we can address these issues to standards you are happy with. We strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible while they are here and find it difficult to please them once they have gone. On the night you stayed with us we could have easily moved you to another room to ensure your stay was happier.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maryborough hotels
1.3 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#7 of 11 in Maryborough
51 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Kimba Lodge Motel
0.6 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 11 in Maryborough
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Blue Shades Motel
Blue Shades Motel
#4 of 11 in Maryborough
96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ned Kelly's Motel
Ned Kelly's Motel
#10 of 11 in Maryborough
39 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Maryborough City Motel
#6 of 11 in Maryborough
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre

Address: 298 Walker St, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia (Formerly Wide Bay Motel and Conference Centre)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range: $66 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms for single travellers or dorm style. Budget rooms for couples or superior rooms. These rates are for two people sharing the same bed. FREE Wi-fi, all rooms are air-conditioned, ensuite and digital television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing