We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay travelling north”
Review of Arkana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arkana Motel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Reviewed January 15, 2009

This is a convenience stop on the way north from Brisbane to Cairns. It is on the main road but on one level with car at the door.It was a weekend when I stopped and very quiet. I was made very welcome. There is a small pool and a sitting area once for the restaurant which is now closed. There is a restaurant across the road.The rooms are small but pleasant and probably recently refurbished and at $72 per night good value. There are tables and chairs to sit outside the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkanaMotel, Owner at Arkana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2010

Hi dunera
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time you took to write it.

Yes I agree the rooms are a bit on the small side but unfortunately thats the way they built them 40+ years ago.

Enjoy life and if you are ever in the area again - please drop in.
Cheers
Kim & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Arkana Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2008

We booked this hotel based on their website which claims to have "luxury" accomodations. The room they gave us was very , very small, the furniture was old and nothing like the pictures on the website, in fact it had a built in radio probably from the 1960's that didn't work of course, the bathroom was very long and narrow, the bedspreads were very worn out so I took out the blakets from the closet to use instead but they were all dirty with pieces of grass and stains, and the worst was the following morning when we went to make some coffee, all the coffee cups were dirty. We knew it was only a 3 1/2 star but this place is a dump and I wouldn't even give it a 1 star. Oh, by the way, the pool was dirty too and full of dead bugs.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank U_s_a_Viajera2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkanaMotel, Owner at Arkana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2010

We are so sorry you had a bad experience here. There was one form of marketing that used the word "luxurious", but hasn't been used in quite a while. We now market ourselves as clean & comfortable. It is totally unacceptable to us to have any rooms not in a clean state and sometimes we don't know until the guest tells us. We are always endeavouring to improve our rooms and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maryborough hotels
1.7 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#7 of 11 in Maryborough
51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ned Kelly's Motel
Ned Kelly's Motel
#10 of 11 in Maryborough
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Shades Motel
Blue Shades Motel
#4 of 11 in Maryborough
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 11 in Maryborough
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Maryborough City Motel
#6 of 11 in Maryborough
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkana Motel

Address: 46 Ferry St, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range: $71 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkana Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkana Motel offers three and a half star, air-conditioned accommodation in Maryborough. The motel is situated on the south-side of town opposite Red Rooster. Conveniently located minutes from the city centre, the Arkana Motel is the perfect base to explore the Fraser Coast. Facilities include a tour desk, swimming pool with barbecue area, guest laundry, car wash and trailer/truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arkana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing