We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old and needs maintenance”
Review of Arkana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arkana Motel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room decor and fittings were all old and in need of repair. Bad smell in room, old and noisy air conditioner and peeling paint and mould in bathroon. This motel was very over priced considering its condition. We certainly expect better conditions than this. Also WIFI at $7.50 per hour!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnthonyHendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

we all had a wonderful stay and the owners were very helpful and thoughtful.
we enjoyed our stay and it was close to all amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at the Arkana with my daughter ,her partner and my Grand-son.We shared a Family Room for 1 night.
The room was spacious,clean and well equipped.
sitI found the reception staff most friendly.
The tarrif was pleasently low and good value!
Meals served in room were hot and appertising also good value.
The restaurant was closed for renovations but we were forwarned and the staff arranged a courtesy bus for us to dine at the RSL.[worth a visit]

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor so easily accessible. Airconditioned and Wall heater available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyous39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkanaMotel, Manager at Arkana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Hi joyous 39

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you back again.

Cheers
Kim & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night when making a trip from Gold Coast to meet relatives in Maryborough.

Actually we only slept her, so there isn't too much to review.

Bed was huge (King size), receptionist nice, nothing special, but could stay another time also.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ismo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkanaMotel, Owner at Arkana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Hi Ismo56, thank you for your review. Hope you can visit again and for longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We arrived early and our rooms were not ready, but we were able to leave our cars and head into the Portside Food and Wine festival. The rooms are basic and clean, the grounds are neat and tidy and a nice area provided to sit outside with friends (we had 3 rooms booked) Fresh milk is provided for tea or coffee. Our reservations were dealt with in an efficient and friendly manner.
Nice little pool area, though the pool was closed. Room service breakfast was promptly delivered with a smile, and we all found the brekkys to be good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisnwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkanaMotel, Owner at Arkana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Hi Krisnwoz, what a great weekend you stayed. The busiest of the year for Maryborough. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back next year. Just remember the Portside Food & Wine Festival & Pub Fest will be held on 4th & 5th May in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

stayed here on our way home south. the lady at reception was very friendly and welcoming. the rooms are standard basic with comfortable beds and clean room. we had a corner room so our parking were a few spots away, all ground floor which is a plus. they had a restaurant on site, but we didn't dine there that night. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkanaMotel, Owner at Arkana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2010

Hi dchiu
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Arkana Motel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again.
Cheers Kim & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

This is a convenience stop on the way north from Brisbane to Cairns. It is on the main road but on one level with car at the door.It was a weekend when I stopped and very quiet. I was made very welcome. There is a small pool and a sitting area once for the restaurant which is now closed. There is a restaurant across the road.The rooms are small but pleasant and probably recently refurbished and at $72 per night good value. There are tables and chairs to sit outside the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArkanaMotel, Owner at Arkana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2010

Hi dunera
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time you took to write it.

Yes I agree the rooms are a bit on the small side but unfortunately thats the way they built them 40+ years ago.

Enjoy life and if you are ever in the area again - please drop in.
Cheers
Kim & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maryborough hotels
1.7 mi away
Maryborough Motel and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
Carriers Arms Hotel Motel
#7 of 11 in Maryborough
51 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cara Motel
Cara Motel
#1 of 11 in Maryborough
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Shades Motel
Blue Shades Motel
#4 of 11 in Maryborough
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Maryborough City Motel
#6 of 11 in Maryborough
20 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Kimba Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkana Motel

Address: 46 Ferry St, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range: $66 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkana Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkana Motel offers three and a half star, air-conditioned accommodation in Maryborough. The motel is situated on the south-side of town opposite Red Rooster. Conveniently located minutes from the city centre, the Arkana Motel is the perfect base to explore the Fraser Coast. Facilities include a tour desk, swimming pool with barbecue area, guest laundry, car wash and trailer/truck parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arkana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing