We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karumba Point Sunset Caravan Park
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We came on part of a trip over the Savannah Way in November. Park was almost empty as we were after the dry, but gathered it is 100% full over the dry - so bookings would be essential. Lovely park with a fabulous location. Well run, nice pool, clean amenities, plenty of shade. Definite spot to recommend.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank floraforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 113 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were in a caravan, they had the cleanest amenities I have come across whilst travelling, staff very helpful, pool great for kids, would definitely recommend !!!! Very close to beach for fishing etc

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Africa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have been here for a few days and have found all staff incredibly friendly, helpful and keen on
presenting a neat and tidy park in a wonderful location.
The water is close by and the park has heaps of shady sites.
The amenities are clean and well kept.
I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We got in last minute and got the last spot (out of 150!). We got a powered site but paid for unpowered which is what we asked for. It's booked out or very full during most of the dry season so you should probably call to book in before you get there. BUSIEST CARAVAN PARK I HAVE EVER SEEN!
$33 unpowered and $37 powered sites for 2 people and $13 for extra persons if I remember correctly.
It's right in front of the beach and boat launching ramp, which is nice, and there are a few shops around.
Very good ambiance and very one is friendly, everyone in there is a fishing nut. Cleanliness was very good -considering the amount of people who use the facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidoptimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just spent 5 nights at the Karumba Point Sunset Caravan Park, staying in a powered site in our own caravan. We have been on the road for 7 months and I have to say this is one of the best caravan parks we have stayed in. Even though the park had no vacancy for the whole time we were there, the amenities were spotlessly clean. The park was good value for money and has the best position in the whole of Karumba - close to beach, boat ramp, grocery shop and tavern. Would definitely recommend this park to others - if you can get a vacancy!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Mewett_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Mid May 2011 - the drive across from Cairns may be a wee bit long, but it is interesting - the base of the Cape has it's own uniqueness - 99% of the road is great - the 1% that isn't - the utterly worst road repairs I've ever ever seen - an utter joke - be VERY careful of filled-in pot-holes... we saw the crew "working" - unbelievable, drop cold asphalt in a hole and stamp with yr heel - lasts 2 cars then creates a crater rim.....VERY dangerous in the middle of knowhere..... and we were in a big 4WD Pajero - a couple of times I thought "that MUST have smashed the front suspension......" - they are hard to see and in parts - all over the road so you can't go around these holes.

Anyway - Karumba - nice place - went there for 1 reason ONLY - to see the sun set over the Gulf - legendary - thing is that if you are 2 minutes late - then a wasted journey indeed...... we made it with about 5 min to spare - after 950km solid drive that day..... so getting in on time is very important if you are only there 1 night.

Not booking is a BIG risk, unless you want to sleep in yr car - we didn't pre-book - Karumba and Karumba Point were totally full, and there are numerous places to stay - odd mid-week, early winter, in literally, the total end of nowhere.....!!! Fishermen....!!! But particularly tour buses book-out whole Motel Complexes at both Karumba proper and at Karumba Point

At K/Point, the dairy/shop/souveners//takeaway/backpackers - Ash's - (can't miss it - and do have good food - but, a note to them - t/shirts/caps etc - not everyone wants a f'ing fish on them... try selling some plain ones with the place on it.....) VERY kindly volunteered to ring around for us - but to no avail.... bugger. However, a "random in the shop overheard and suggested we try the sunset Caravan Park as he'd just squeezed a tent in there.

Bingo - the very last cabin - then, the price - A$95 for the night - off season rate....!!!

Now, this is a motor camp cabin, not a motel..... as big as a WW2 army hut, cold water only, basic cooking, air con, good undercover parking, TV, double(ish) bed and bunks, so you could actually squeeze 6 in there, but you wouldn't really want to, and you'd have to sit on the beds - better than a basic cabin, but not much.

A big bad - the white mattress covers on the bunks - utterly disgusting - filthy............ - we had linen supplied on the double, and there were only the 2 of us - but, personally I'd hand out the covers for the bunks at check-in - - the bunks are clearly used to put everything on - but, no excuse for not cleaning them.

A$95/night for 2, off season is too much - but, what can you say - they are full......

Surroundings in the M/Camp are quite nice, ablutions block, near the entrance, is clean, and with good lighting, but, a wee bit dated. Trees all over the place, which means shade in summer.

Attached to the Office block, at the entrance to the place, is a shop, and a large undercover outdoor seated area - I think that it acts as a diner and bar during the right time of year - very good idea.

The cabins (and there aren't too many of them so get in early) are pretty close together - be hard to walk between - close to ablution block so that's good - people tend to have windows open.... but, we were surprised, the place was dead quiet - people go to bed early and, as we found, get up before dawn... fishing...!! Here's the thing - it is such a quiet place - you can hear people talking quietly.

Get out of bed then.... get your camera - and warm clothes (dawn is chilly) - the dawn is totally STUNNING - almost as good as the sunset.

It's a nice place - and, don't forget exactly where you are on the planet.....but, be prepared to pay. And, from memory, a Kiwi owns the place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chris_KiwiChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Close to pub, ramp, grocery shop which has everything even a little deli. We stated in a cabin close to amenities, there was lots of caravan spaces with room for your boat as well. Cabin had double bed with 2 sets of bunks and a little kitchen. There is a large area to clean your fish as well. Fishing wasn't very good while we were there but we were assured by other guests who come every year that that is unusual. We enjoyed our weekend very much an will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank squeek_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karumba hotels
0.2 mi away
End of the Road Motel
End of the Road Motel
#1 of 1 in Karumba
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ash's Holiday Units & Cafe
0.2 mi away
Gee-Dee's Family Cabins
Gee-Dee's Family Cabins
#8 of 12 in Karumba
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karumba Point Sunset Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karumba Point Sunset Caravan Park

Address: 39 - 53 Palmer St, Karumba, Queensland 4891, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Karumba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Karumba
Price Range: $98 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Karumba Point Sunset Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing