We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy to everything - but mind the train.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Aspire Apartments
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ipswich
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Handy to everything - but mind the train.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for work for 3 nights and found the staff and facilities to be very good. Well equipped kitchen with everything you could need for a simple meal plus the bonus of a coffee plunger. Near the reception area there is a barbeque area which we made use of – the Barbie was clean and easy to use. Basic gym with equipment that worked well including bikes, treadmill, cross trainer and weight deck. There is also a lovely pool which we didn’t use.

There is a shopping complex with a Woolworths supermarket very close by as well as the Top of the Town district for exploring cafes, op shops and people watching.

The only down for this location is the noise from the nearby train lines that ferry coal to and fro from the nearby mine site. Request a room away from the line – or do as I do and always, always, always travel with ear plugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, away from the train line. Beautiful vistas over the city of Ipswich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QMochalatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAspire, Manager at Oaks Aspire Apartments, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Oaks Aspire. I am please read that you enjoyed the apartment and made use of the facilities located in the building.

We are located in the heart of the Ipswich CBD and within walking distance to Woolworths and cafes.

In regards to the noise that you encountered please be sure to request and room away from the train tracks for your future stays at Oaks Aspire.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    49
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
49
39
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallaville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We always stat at Oaks Aspire when traveling tonIpswich. Easy check in and out. Great, clean, tidy, and spacious rooms. Excellent facilities. Easy to find and close to a shopping centre and movies. Easy access to Queensland Raceway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAspire, Manager at Oaks Aspire Apartments, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Eve,

Thank you for writing this feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read a regular guest's comments about our clean, spacious and modern rooms and of course our customer service. We will pass on your appriciation to our staff members and they will be quite happy. Yes, we are located in the heart of Ipswich CBD and shopping centres, cafes and resturants are just few minutes walking distance from our property.

Please go on Oaks website to find about "myOaks" and you can start saving on your future bookings at any of our Oaks properties.

Once again thank you for taking time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you again at our property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was frustrating trying to find the hotel. It appears there are two West Streets in Ipswich and our GPS took us to the wrong side of the railway tracks. We phoned for directions and found the hotel OK but needed a bit of help to find reception. Never mind, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a good sized balcony. It was disappointing to find the spa was not working and was cold. It was reset however we could not wait for it to heat up. We did use the sauna to warm up, also the pool was a very nice temperature. Most probably check out other hotels for future visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAspire, Manager at Oaks Aspire Apartments, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Beverley,

Thank you for taking time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read your comments about our spacious and modern room and also the cleanliness. We offer very competitive rates for our modern apartments and are located right in the heart of Ipswich CBD with walkable distance to the train station, Civic Centre and shopping centres.

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused due to the issues you have mentioned, however, good to know that our staff members tried to help you on those occasions.

Once again we thank you for the feedback and we trust that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you at our property in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Anna at front desk was wonderful. Others were not. Fitness equipment marginal. Great apartment setting w. generous sized fridge, microwave, dishwasher, laundry, flat screen TV, kitchen utensils and supplies included. Intenet access was expensive. Fully air conditioned.No room cleaning on Good Friday holiday. Takes ca. 2hr. 20 min.to reach Brisbane CBD and 3 hrs. to Airport via train. However, total rail shutdown on Easter weekend led me to double book a second airport hotel to reach Sat. morning departure on 30 March 2013. Most appropriate for Australian and New Zealander families but not so for us North Americans,because of remote suburban location. Free car parking if you can easily drive on the left side of the road and do not mind roundabouts which are ether non-existent or uncommon in the USA.

Room Tip: Woolworth supermarket in nearby mall available. Easiest access most times via Bottle Alley across s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAspire, Manager at Oaks Aspire Apartments, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for writing this feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you were quite happy with our modern apartments and great facilities. Also, we appreciate your feedback about our staff members and it will be passed on to them.

We are located right in the Ipswich CBD and very close to supermarket, cafes, restaurants and train station.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunters Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We as a group travel each year in June to Ipswich for the cup. This year will be our 4th year. We usually book between 6 and 10 rooms. We are a group of mature age people so dont confuse us with any similarities to a schoolies group.
The first year we booked the Oaks aspire and it was fantastic. We of course booked there again the next year. It was dreadful with issues such as rooms not made up to shopping trolleys in the rooms and rooms that were not cleaned. Our complaints fell on deaf ears as management were not prepared to help!! They also hit us all with a security deposit that takes 10 days to get back into your bank account which we all did not pay. the place was a joke and we were told that receivers had been appointed. How coild it go so bad in a year.
Of course we did not stay there last year and we stayed as a group at the International.
Well i thought i would give them a chance to tell me how things may have improved and put the 10 room booking for 2 nights in front of them to see how well they could convince me that it was better.
It only took me 2 minutes on the phone to realise that things had not changed. The response i got was pathetic . Talk about having the wrong staff in the wrong place!!! the lady was totally unhelpful and did not have any understanding of what i was asking or what i wanted answers to.
I would welcome someone from senior management from outside the Ipswich hotel to contact me to discuss my questions
Geoff

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoffdavis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAspire, Manager at Oaks Aspire Apartments, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Geoff,

Thank you for taking time to write about your past experience and potential bookings with us.

I am sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations and your stay was not comfortable in the past. However, I can assure you that we take any customer service issues seriously. I am assuming that you spoke with our reservations staff about your group booking. I will be more than happy to discuss this issue with you. Can you please send me your contact details via email on hmaspire@theoaksgroup.com.au so that I will be able to contact you.

Once again, thank you for writing this feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Loved our stay here, so clean and fresh. Wished we couldve stayed longer. Lovely view from patio. very modern kitchen and w/m, drier facilities. Fantastic value for the price. Will definitely stay here again. Didnt have enough time to swim, but the pool looked great. Very central location. The absolute best place to stay in Ipswich, and sensibly priced too.

Room Tip: Dont know if room service is available and didnt travel with kids, but there were kids swimming. I b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMAspire, Manager at Oaks Aspire Apartments, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Oaks Aspire for your accommodation requirements in Ipswich.

We are quite pleased to read your review. I will pass on your feedback to our housekeeping staff. We take utmost care ensuring our modern apartments are maintained at highest standards.

Once again we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. You can become myOaks member to get discounted prices across the whole Oaks group.

We would love to see you again in the near future at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyCandy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Reception is at the front of the bldg, but you can not access this area with your car. So finding the entrance is difficult. Check in was smooth,although at the same time another resident was at the desk complaining about her "tag" not working. Having read other reviews I booked a 1 bed room apt for 3 nights, (1305) on the opposite side to the railway tracks and noise was not an issue.
The unit was clean and modern. Although on sliding back the cupboard door I found the doona and other blankets had been "shoved" up into the top cupboard and looked very untidy and not as you would expect. Comfortable bed, and the aircons worked. Nice bathroom - the shower hot and cold tap took a while to adjust, also the TV in the bedroom did not have any sound, unless you spent a lot of time trying to get it to work. The pool is very pleasant, but there was a problem with the spa and it was being repaired while I was there.
At checkin I was advised of the security deposit of $150 being "held" on my c/card. This means it will be between 5-12 working days for the bank to release that amount so you need to plan around that. When I was checking out the computer had frozen, so a few days later I had to ring as it appeared I was being charged twice, once for the 3 nights, and the 2nd time for the 3nights + the $150 deposit, reception eventually sorted this out by faxing the bank.
As a single traveller I pay good money and want value for it. It was not a "horror" stay, it just could have been smoother.

Room Tip: Away from the railway line, but if budget is important they are the cheaper units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmaspire, Manager at Oaks Aspire Apartments, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

We are pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable in our clean and modern apartment which we are proud of. Also we are glad to know that you enjoyed the facilities especially our pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
0.9 mi away
Quest Ipswich Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Ipswich International
2.4 mi away
Ipswich Country Motel
Ipswich Country Motel
#1 of 1 in Raceview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Springfield Lakes Hotel
Springfield Lakes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Springfield Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
19.6 mi away
Oaks Aurora
Oaks Aurora
#81 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
19.3 mi away
Oaks Charlotte Towers
Oaks Charlotte Towers
#58 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Aspire Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Aspire Apartments

Property: Oaks Aspire Apartments
Address: 1 West St | Woodend, Ipswich, Queensland 4305, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Ipswich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Aspire Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Aspire offers affordable, stylish Ipswich accommodation in the heart of town and is an ideal base for corporate, government and leisure travellers. Oaks Aspire comprises of luxury Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, as well as being the only hotel in Ipswich to offer three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Aspire Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing