We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best thing in town”

Barnacles Dolphin Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best thing in town”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was great to see the dolphins up close. There would have been about 70 people there to see and feed the dolphins. When we arrived at 7.30 am the dolphins were already there patiently awaiting the feeding time.
The kids there absolutely loved the experience. Although I prefer to see wild animals looking after themselves rather than being given food from humans. Overall would recommend as it is unusual to see wild dolphins up this close.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    97
    41
    34
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The dolphins didn't disappoint...nor did the pelicans”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

On cue the dolphins arrived and spent a lot of time with those that had come to see them. We left before any feeding took place as there was a lot of people and it was hard to get very close but it was amazing just to see them that close. The volunteers organising were helpful and informative and had the interestes of the dolphins as there priority, as it should be!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MandyLou75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“To over commercialised now”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have just visited Tin Can Bay to feed the dolphins with my two kids. My oldest was sick but still took my 4 year old down to feed the dolphins. We were told to arrive at 7.30am which we did. By the time we got there, there was already a queue of about 30 people waiting to feed the dolphins. We were allowed to go down onto the beach to look at the dolphins but were told we were not allowed to put our hands in the water to touch the dolphins at all. We were then told that it would be about a further 30 minutes before they clear the beach and then start letting people come down to feed the dolphins. My disappointment with this is that I have been to feed the dolphins twice before. The first time many years ago we were able to put our hands down in the water and the dolphins would swim along and you could just rub your hands on them. They would even turn over so that you were rubbing their bellies which it appeared they quite enjoyed. It seems that despite the fact that this is a free experience the natural experience of a child touching a dolphin has disappeared. Very disappointing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woori Yallock, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I would go again and again!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We've been twice now and I love it, the first time we were early enough to stand in the water while the dolphins swim around you, it's amazing!! We paid $2 the first time and the second had increased to $5 but really what's $5 these days?
The experience is what you come for and short of going to seaworld and paying hundreds where else can you do this?
There's a cafe there that sells THE BEST coffee!!
Get there well before 8 as that's when feeding starts and you are asked to leave the water.
Seriously a wonderful experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CassFulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was a truly lovely experience. Mythique and Patchie (dolphins) were amazing, and the pelicans and cormorants were an added bonus. The volunteers were friendly and knowledgable and it was clear that they had a genuine bond with the animals.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacles Dolphin Centre also viewed

Tin Can Bay, Gympie Region
Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
 
Tin Can Bay, Gympie Region
Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
 

Been to Barnacles Dolphin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing