We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, great place to use as a base to explore this region of QLD”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tin Can Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tin Can Bay Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tin Can Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well located, great place to use as a base to explore this region of QLD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed for one night to see the dolphins and was really happy with how friendly and helpful everyone was. The room was very clean and was a good place to unwind and get away from it for a little bit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tincan10, Owner at Tin Can Bay Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Tashapotamus,

Thanks for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a shame about the circumstances with Duncan being in hospital during your stay, otherwise I would have taken you out kayking myself. Thanks for being so understanding.

Tin Can Bay is a wonderful place to relax and escape the city for a little while. The Dolphins are just magical.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Cassandra and Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    128
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
119
153
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Full marks to Duncan and his capable family who went out of their way to ensure a fantastic stay for us when we visited Tin Can Bay recently. The facilities are great for the price and the location is great too. Duncan went out of his way in organising a memorable trip for the family to Fraser Island and back and got a 'deal' for us..much appreciate that personal effort. Overall, very positive experience and we will be headed back to Tin Can Bay Motel should the next holidays invite us over to the area again.

Ashok and Family.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashok G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tincan10, Owner at Tin Can Bay Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Ashok G,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to review our property.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities at our Motel and its location, everything you needed.

Isn't Fraser Island just fantastic? We recommend it to all of our guests because we know how amazing it is. We are glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for noticing the personal effort we put in. We have always maintained that the way we treat our guests is very much the way we would like to be treated when travelling. So it's great when we receive such positive feedback.

Please come back and visit us again. It's always nice to have return guests.

Kind Regards,
Cassandra and Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed overnight In order to see the dolphins nearby early next morning. Our room was large, comfortable bed and all facilities as we expected.
It struck us that the owners really care about this place and the staff were lovely, prices of minibar the cheapest we have seen by far this summer (and we have been in a lot of hotels) and there was a lot of information for dining options or you could eat in. Free Internet was an added bonus. Would definately stay again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haveacappio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tincan10, Owner at Tin Can Bay Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear haveacappio,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad that the level of love we have for our Motel shows through. Over the past 16 months we have worked very hard to bring this wonderful piece of paradise up to a standard we can be proud of. We have done alot but there is always more to do.

Your comments on the mini bar prices is appreciated as we see offering a few snacks in the fridges as a service and another way to help our guests feel at home.

You must of been extra nice to the reception staff to receive free internet as this is not something we do for everyone (perhaps I should have words with her?) Although our price of $5 per day is very reasonable.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Tin Can Bay Motel and we would love it if you were to visit us again.

Thanks again for taking the time to review our property.

Kind Regards,
Cassandra and Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We arrived in Tin Can Bay and had not booked any accommodation. We saw the signs for this motel and found it easily. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and could let us have 2 rooms for the night. We were given the keys to check out the 2 rooms and were amazed at how spacious and clean they were. The price was a bonus as well as we were expecting to have to pay more than what they charged. We were really happy to have found such a perfect place for an overnight stay.
The reception staff told us about feeding the wild dolphins in the bay in the morning and what time to get there. That information was really helpful and being in the water with the dolphins and feeding them was an amazing experience. My daughter in England saw the photos of us feeding the dolphins on Facebook and wrote 'OMG'.
We loved Tin Can Bay. It is unspoilt and beautiful. The people were friendly. I would definitely go back to this motel and next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tincan10, Owner at Tin Can Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Susan2210,
Thank you!
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences of our Motel with others and it's nice to know that the work Duncan and I put in is appreciated. We really do enjoy seeing our guests happy, of course it's easy to make nice people like yourselves happy.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and come back soon.
Cassandra and Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Nice place , nice rooms , nice friendly staff , nice small swimming pool , will defo be going back as loved the few days we spent in tin can bay and rainbow beach, plenty to keep yourself occupied or just chill and relax and do nothing . Would recommend anyone to stay in this place

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tincan10, Owner at Tin Can Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Hi Ninjanaka,
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Tin Can Bay and that you loved the surrounding areas too. There really is something for everyone.
We offer return guests special offers so please remind us that you have stayed before when you come back to our little piece of paradise.
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. It is very much appreciated.
Kind Regards,
Cassandra and Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Arrived here after spending 5 days in Hilton at surfers. We liked this place more. It's not flash but it's warm welcoming with all the amenities you need. Only stayed for the night but can recommend. Oh and if you go to the fish and chip shop don't eat the cod- its frozen and not great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tincan10, Owner at Tin Can Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Hi Bunya,
Better than the Hilton!!! Wow, can I use that on our marketing? Thanks so much.
We don't have the budget of Hilton Hotels (nor the party stamina of Paris) so we work on providing our guests with clean, comfortable accommodation and try to offer great service.
That's not good news about the fish and chip shop. We have two in town and Duncan and I have different views on which one is the best - I bet it was his!! Not really, but it is a shame to sell frozen fish when we are in a fishing villiage.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

lovely place lovely people and very simple ... just a perfect holiday to escape our crazy fast and complicated life !! The voucher was worth every penny, we couldn't be happier :)

Room Tip: these rooms are very simple they have everything you need t.v. a/c etc they are clean and all on one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tincan10, Owner at Tin Can Bay Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thanks so much Born B. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the online voucher great value. We try to foster a stress free atmosphere at the Tin Can Bay Motel and clearly you enjoyed the simplicity of our piece of paradise.
We hope to see you again when you need another couple of days away from the hustle and bustle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tin Can Bay
1.2 mi away
Dolphin Waters
Dolphin Waters
#3 of 4 in Tin Can Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tin Can Bay's Sleepy Lagoon Motel
5.1 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tin Can Bay Tourist Park
Tin Can Bay Tourist Park
#1 of 4 in Tin Can Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tin Can Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Can Bay Motel

Property: Tin Can Bay Motel
Address: 11 Mitchell St, Tin Can Bay, Queensland 4580, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Tin Can Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tin Can Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tin Can Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet-friendly motel (conditions apply) set on one acre of luscious, landscaped gardens. 100 M to the water. Quiet location. On-site management offering personalised service. Small kitchen in large, clean units. Reverse cycle air conditioning, self contained kitchenette and flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tin Can Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing