We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay on top of Rainbow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

How do I write a glowing review of Rainbow Ocean Palms without it becoming so popular that I can never get a booking. The location is perched at the very top of Rainbow Beach, so the views are fantastic, south along Rainbow beach to Double Island point, from Inskip Point northwards along Fraser Island. The hosts Mark & Tanya are the managers, who are friendly and amenable to the needs of your stay. The apartments are large and very well appointed. And the on site facilities are more than adequate to cater for your stay, they even have a dvd library on hand. I would say that Rainbow Ocean Palms is a top spot for couples wanting a quiet location for a relaxing break.
Gavin & Kathy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 185 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Mark was extremely helpful when we were booking our trip, we booked a 2 bed apartment for 2 nights with a Fraser Island tour. When we arrived at the apartments we were pleasantly surprised by the size, they are very big, spotlessly clean and had an amazing view. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, jacuzzi bath, big living area a big balcony with view over the pool, town, beach, ocean and Forrest! The sand dunes were out of this world and a must to see the sun set, our only regret is not staying another night!! We would definitely return to rainbow beach and ocean palms apartments. Thanks mark

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sincov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I booked this online as many of you will. It looked good and to be fair the view was great as it up on a hill. However the property is well away from Rainbow Beach and the facilities such as restaurants, shops etc. The restaraunt alongside is only open part of the time so we had to go down the hill to eat. The pool is very small. I did not check the internet but I noticed that the compedium said to check for prices so I assume I would have had to pay extra and for me that is not accepatable these days.. Overall I expected more for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful boutique resort.
An infinity salt water pool which is heated all year round. The pool serves the 12 units and is one of the best ever used. Not massive but a good size for the resort. Plenty of lounges for everyone.

Surprisingly one of the things we enjoyed the most was the quiet position and its location next to a strip of national park. You can sit on your balcony watching the ocean and have the sounds of birds softly sounding next to you.

The unit had completely opening floor to ceiling doors which allowed not only amazing views but also cool summer breezes so didn't need to use the air conditioning.

Great on site manager booked tours for us and gave local advice on places to visit and eat.

Your on top if the hill so great views. Right next to the famous Sand Blow. Short 15 min walk to shops down hill.

Unit had plasma tv, CD player, microwave, oven, dishwasher, dryer, washing machine, spa bath, ceiling fans, aircon, even 8 or so pay tv channels.

Office has about 50 DVDs that are free for guests to use.

If you want to party rainbow beach is probably not for you. If you want small, few cafes, pub, couple of restaurants and sleepy restful break, this is wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara-Khmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent apartment with great views over the Wide Bay to Frazer Island, and the restaurant in the same complex is very good as well. Standard definitely several degrees higher than e.g. Kingfisher Bay Resort, hardly to compare. Having not checked the opportunities to undertake excursions to Frazer Island from Rainbow Beach, which certainly exist (rather than accommodating on Frazer Island), I would strongly propose to explore Great Sandy NP from Rainbow Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank burgaltendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a very stressful year my daughter and I went for a much needed week alone time,well surprise surprise,we were so delighted with the apartment,views, view adage was a big plus as when booking all we were looking for was a quiet retreat......well it certainly was that and some...Thanks to Mark the manager who by way of being helpful suggested a visit to the Cora Sandblow..really would my old bones stand up to this hike?....yep they sure did and what a sunset to behold...Surely there is a God. The resort was immaculate inside and the grounds couldn't be faulted, all in all adding up to a week in Utopia.Also thank you Mark for opening up the extra room so my daughter could have restful night sleeps ,mothers snoring...I just don't believe it!! Thinking of going to Rainbow Beach for a break this resort certainly ticks all the boxes..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 686maz1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have been lucky enough to have been a guest at Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort on two occasions, once was for my birthday and the second just because the first visit was so perfect. I have raved to everyone that would listen about this place and will go back as often as I can manage. And I am tough to please.
The units are as beautiful and well cared for as the pictures on the website (and they are fitted out with high quality furbishing and accessories) but the views are hard to capture in a photo, they are just breathtaking. Overlooking the Coral Sea and the southern tip of Fraser island no matter the weather you are still blown away by the beauty.
All overseen by friendly and helpful Managers, what more could you want!
They haven't seen the last of me.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redzz_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rainbow Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
#3 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
0.4 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Sea Resort
Rainbow Sea Resort
#8 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort

Address: 103 - 105 Cooloola Dr, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range: $165 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort is a small boutique resort positioned on the highest point in Rainbow Beach, offering panoramic ocean views to World Heritage listed Fraser Island. Nestled against Great Sandy National Park, walking trails and wildlife viewing opportunities are on your doorstep. The spacious luxury apartments open out to sweeping views of the bushland and seascape and all apartments have spa baths and quality guest toiletries with L’Occitane products featured in the penthouse apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ocean Palms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing