We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest Family Business”
Review of Rainbow Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rainbow Sea Resort
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have been invited by some of our friends to join them in this resort that they have booked before. this happened on Friday 22nd of Dec and we gladly accepted their invitation to join them on Saturday. After 3 hours driving from Brisbane and at our arrival, a woman who later I find out is the business owner stood up in front of the resort entrance and said you can't go in because your booking is for a three bed unit and you already have 6 adults and two kids in there. This is against the law. Well, she was fair enough but none of us knew about this rule. I was standing there with my luggage in my hand waiting for a solution. In the mean time the friend of mine who made the booking was trying to explain to the owners (the woman and her partner) that we honestly weren't aware of this rule and we would like to discuss this matter. However, the owners kept going on about us being dishonest with them! Then after they cooled down their temper, I asked if there is any apartment available for that night. They offered a one bed unit. I said I would to see it before take it but they said it has exactly the same furniture and facilities as the unit. As soon as I paid for that unit, they closed down their office and left. However, when we moved in to the unit I immediately noticed the size of the TV which was a 21" flat screen TV only covering the free TV channels! Then I checked the other unit and I saw that one was a 48" flat screen TV with Foxtel! I went down to talk to them about but nobody was there, even when we were leaving I had to drop the key into a box because they didn't bother to open their office on Sunday!
Having said that, I should the the resort is almost new, with an amazing ocean view. Furniture was so so. Almost new but not a good quality materials. And if it happens that you generate rubbish and have to use the rubbish bins make sure you take your rubbish with yourself when you leave, because there is a $30 surcharge for not emptying the rubbish bins!

Room Tip: Lower levels do not have a very good view of the ocean instead you will see a caravan park in front...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParshinV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Sea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 63 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Location was amazing room layout was great service was awesome few things I felt we're disappointing we're
King size bed was very uncomfortable my wife ended up sleeping in single bed as bed was that uncomfortable only had access to the one bathroom only 2 half toilet rolls in the bathroom we had to buy out own as there was no one on the reception desk. Other then that we enjoyed our stay and would stay again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livingthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayin in a 1 bed king view apt #14. Stunning apartment with full kitchen. King size bed with large ensuite with deep spa bath. Large balcony with magnificent ocean views to frazer island. Only a.moments walk to food and retail shops and the beach. Perfect for our 1 yr wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casebabe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the start of a long holiday to escape the smoke of London. Our first port of call did not let us down. The apartment was amazing with everything needed for a relaxing holiday. Just a couple of minutes to the town and another couple to the beautiful beaches. Fiona was incredibly helpful, giving us the low down on what to see and when, for example, the sand blow at sunset with a bottle of wine.......
All in all a great stay, well positioned, relaxing, with breath taking views. What more do we say? Definately worth a visit and somewhere I would love to go back to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. This part of Queensland is simply breathtaking! We spent 2 nights there and were more than impressed. The units are clean and furnished with style. The one bedroom unit was very spacious with an open plan design. The sliding doors on the balcony open right up to create a large space from the kitchen right through. We loved the spa bath as there is more than enough room for two people to relax without being piled on top of each other.

The weekend we stayed there, we only saw 2 other guests. We are also amazed that at this time of year it was warm enough to spend a few hours in the pool. One point to note = the rooms are very bright and catch all the morning sun (even with the blinds down), so not great for sleeping in.

Only downside was our late check in after reception had closed. Although we phoned ahead, it was more than frustrating after a long drive, having to provide credit card details for a deposit (accomm was already paid for) before we could get the room key from the night safe. I understand formalities but surely (like with other hotels/serviced apartments) this could have waited until first thing the next morning. Other small but annoying feature - our carpark in the basement was located on the opposite end of the building to where our apartment was.


We will definately be returning! No hesitations in recommending this for couples weekend or family getaway.

Room Tip: Even the rooms on the first floor have great views!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great place to stay in Rainbow. Wish we were still there. The apartment was so light and airy, the balcony huge and the spa bath fabulous. The infinity pool was delightful as well! Easy access to the beach, Carlo Sandblow and into town. Fiona was very welcoming and friendly. A great place to relax but also be active with lots of great walks close by. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicamarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

we have just spent 3 nights at the rainbow sea resort in the penthouse appt and it was wonderful beyond words. the apartment was of the highest standard. the views were exquisite (the sunsets to die for) the receptionist Fiona most helpful. everything about this stay was perfect and i would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is going to stay at rainbow beach. we did not want to leave this morning when it was time to go.
a truly amazing place to stay. well done to all the staff who keep these apartments perfect for visitors.

Room Tip: go for the penthouse it is just the best with views over the ocean
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rainbow Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
#3 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
#4 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Sea Resort

Address: 3 Oceanview Pde, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range: $222 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rainbow Sea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Sea Resort offers absolute style and quality with breathtaking ocean, beach and Fraser Island views. Located on Rainbow Beach premier hillside, the apartments are centrally located only a short stroll to cafés, shops, children's playground and patrolled surf beach. Enjoy the splendor of Rainbow Beach while staying in luxurious surroundings.Rainbow Sea Resort features stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom holiday apartments, King, Executive Suites and Penthouse. Our luxury apartments, suites and penthouses are stylishly furnished with comfort and relaxation in mind. All apartments at Rainbow Sea Resort are large and roomy - making them perfect for short and long term holiday makers.Neighbouring Oceanview Executive Apartments are also available, offering stunning fitout and breathtaking views. Wet Edge Pool is heated year round for your enjoyment.Rainbow Beach has kilometres of unspoilt beaches, sparkling water and a small town friendliness that's rare to find. The exotic colours in the sand cliffs are as varied as the activities on offer. Visit the World Heritage listed Fraser Island for a day trip or let us plan a Fraser Escape for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rainbow Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing