We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly and attentive staff and excellent room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The three hour drive from Brisbane is the longest we've driven to a holiday destination but it was well worth it. Our corner one bed terrace room overlooked the street along one side and the beach on the other. We were fortunate to have a rooftop deck (in addition to a balcony) which was spacious and well frequented by the time we left - an excellent spot to relax after a day on the beach or trekking along parts of the Cooloola Great Walk. Appointed with granite throughout the space, the very clean unit very much gives the impression of a luxury resort without the hoards of people like other destinations along the south east Queensland coast.

Had a few hiccups with our room but they were managed well by the staff.

We didn't really investigate other places so we can't say if it's expensive but it was significantly less than an equivalent holiday further down the coast.

The photos by the resort / other travellers just don't do the place justice. Can't recommend the place enough!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms along or closer the beach rather than the street, mainly for the view. The units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnravelledTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 295 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We picked a good weekend to go. Perfect weather 100%. Hotel excellent. Managers friendly and informative. The rooms were modern, clean and facilities great.

We will definitely stay here again. I am thinking a rooftop apartment rather than ground floor next time.

If your traveling from Brisbane make sure you go via Gympie (sealed road) if your in a sedan/non-4WD or else your GPS may take you via Cooloola Way through the Great Sandy National Park which is impassable if you haven't got 4WD. We found out this the fun/hard way in our little Hyundai :)

Note: get your booze and food early before 8PM as Rainbow Beach is a sleepy little coastal village and everything closes early, but this is a good thing I think.

All in all a relaxing and value for money weekend away.

P.S. Don't speed when your coming into Gympie, 60 zone to 100 zone and Police are waiting at this transition zone.

Room Tip: Ground floor is obviously cheaper than the roof top but I would pay the extra next time to get roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely apartments, probably the nicest in Rainbow Beach. Ideal location to access the few cafes and stroll onto the beach or up the sand dunes. Whilst being more expensive than other options in Rainbow Beach, I think it offers good value for money. Very friendly staff. Rooms are a little on the small side, but the communal spaces in the apartments are very generously sized which more than makes up for it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner 2-bedroom apartments, sea view, with wrap around balcony and roof terrace are the best (if av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom room on the 1st floor. The room was very modern, clean and had everything you need!! We were most impressed with the huge relaxing spa bath and the views over rainbow beach. It poured down rain our entire trip so we took advantage of the free dvd's in reception and stayed in and watched movies on our plasma tv. We brought our boat and it was no hassle to park this as well as our vehicle in the secure parking bay. The pool was beautiful although to cold for us to swim but we made good use of the outdoor spa. Very impressed would stay again and will recommend to everyone :D

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom with terrace. It was so spacious and we loved watching the world go by from the balcony or terrace. A great place to stay and excellent value for money. It's an easy walk to the beach, playground and there's nice little cafes to choose from. We especially loved the Rainbow Beach Hotel next door.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom terrace apartment as a last minute on our way home from the Gold Coast. We really wish we would have left the Gold Coast earlier. We had an absolute ball here, central to everything and the apartment was gorgeous! Highly recommend staying here. Cannot wait to book here again!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our second stay at this resort and we have loved it both times. The apartments are spacious, well equipped, clean and comfortable. Gorgeous views and sunsets from the rooftop terrace, the perfect place to sit and soak up the serenity. Ideally located to the various eateries, everything is within walking distance. Staff are friendly and helpful.

For those who'd die without internet (my daughter) Telstra was the only provider that worked, so my phone got passed around a lot :)

Highly recommend you stay at this resort, you won't be disappointed. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooftop terraces facing the ocean have the best views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ligi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rainbow Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
#4 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Rainbow Beach Resort
Rainbow Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#11 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Sea Resort
Rainbow Sea Resort
#8 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Resort at Rainbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Resort at Rainbow

Address: 1 Rainbow Beach Rd, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range: $186 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Plantation Resort at Rainbow 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think Luxury.... Think the Plantation Resort at Rainbow. The perfect place to unwind and relax – the Plantation Resort at Rainbow is a boutique resort making us the perfect destination for a holiday or business conference. Luxuriously furnished apartments, fully self contained – choose from 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments all with balcony and terrace apartments with rooftop bbq area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plantation Resort at Rainbow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing