We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frasers On Rainbow Beach
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome weekend!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Frasers on Rainbow was one of the friendliest hostels I have visited in Australia. All the staff were very helpful, even booking me a doctors appointment following an injury during my Fraser Island trip, and the rooms were clean, each with a bathroom.
The Tag Along Tour of Fraser Island they organised for us was brilliant and a magical 3 days with great people, guides and vehicles.
Would recommend anyone to stay here :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    55
    58
    62
See reviews for
2
45
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is one of the worst hostel we did in Australia.
First we discovered a new concept of the double room with shared bathroom : they put walls for a room inside a dormitory area and you have for 10 people (2 double 6 bed dormitory), one unique bathroom. I think this is a shame to say you offer a double room when it’s inside a dormitory (you have to pass the dormitory to access your room).
Then, the room and bathroom were not clean at all. The worst we got in Australia.
The room was small, the shutters were broken, the kitchen was small and unclean.
Very noisy at night, hopefully we stayed only one night there.
But this hostel is a one of the two main ones before going in a Fraser Island Tour so generally people stay one or two nights and then go to their tour so what we are saying here will not change anything I think as this hostel is part of a lot Fraser Tours packages and as it’s well located (in front of the greyhound station and 10 mintues from Rainbow beach), not sure the « quality » will evolve but I think it’s important to give feedbacks.
Plus for those who didn’t want to spend money in the Fraser Island tour, Rainbow Beach has a really beautiful beach with these famous rainbow dunes. A walk in the dunes with the sunset is an unforgettable experience.
Just try to find another hostel, or sleep in your van if you go there !

Only plus, we had a free walk in the dunes with a very friendly guide.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rainbow Beach hotels

Como, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Well located hostel. We appreciated the common area and the restaurant/bar where we ate. The staff is helpful.
We had a private room and it wasn't clean at all, in addition the bathroom door was broken and we couldn't close it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Friendly management, always willing to help, great live music, good rooms. Fraser trip was awesome, great vibe, good people, Jake was an awesome guide! The town's a bit small, but good location for the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mec27c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and could not wait to leave from the moment we walked in our room. We had a so called 'private room' Hmm not very private when your room is actually in a dorm of 6 and the paper thin walls meant you could everything going on next door! Also the fact that the majority of the blinds were missing! The room itself was dirty, grotty and felt like a seedy brothel. The mattresses had a weird plastic cover over them which made sleeping very uncomfortable, especially when the only proper blanket had lots of blood stains on it. The kitchen was so disgusting we ate out for lunch and dinner, as we didn't even want to eat the meals they offered there. When we told reception of our disappointment, they simply said we should have told them earlier of our problems. Well if that room was their first choice to give a guest, god knows what the second option would have been. Obviously a hostel where you have to complain to get a half decent room....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsarahtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before our Fraser Island trip and were looking forward to it...Until we checked in...

Good:
- The location is good and very close to the beach which is lovely for a day in the sun.

Bad:
- The room we booked was a 6-8 bed dorm and we are currently sitting in a cramped 10 bed dorm.
- The rooms themselves are dirty, damp and smelly.
- The bathroom was the worst sight I had ever seen as it was covered from top to bottom in mould.
- The bathroom tap doesn't turn off so always has running water. Plus hot is cold and cold is hot.
- Bed linen was provided on arrival and two out of 5 sets of sheets had stains on (blood).
- Washers only do cold water washes.
- The pool was not clean (covered in leaves).
- When our room was cleaned the member of staff mopped/swept the middle of the room only. They came to clean our bathroom but someone was showering at the time so said they would come back...No-one returned!
- One of our beds had bugs crawling all over it even though it was "freshly made".

Dingos next door seems like a nicer place to stay so I would highly recommend there instead of here if you had to choose.

We will not be staying here again even if it is included in our package...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frasersonrainbow, General Manager at Frasers On Rainbow Beach, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Foak2324

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all feedback and welcome constructive criticism to constantly help us improve. For this reason we are forever improving our standards and service.

Since I took control of this property a short while ago we have been working our way through all of rooms and refurbishing every single room. We have 4 rooms left to finish and unfortunately you were put into one of the rooms which had not yet been done, as I explained to you at the time. This was a mistake on our part and I sincerely apologise for this.

When I approached you about the room I pleaded to move you to another room which you refused and said it was fine, so I am very disappointed to see that you left a review about this in particular after we offered you several alternatives, all of which you refused and clearly said that it was not a problem. We want all of our guests to feel safe, comfortable and clean when staying with us and will always strive to help our guests out wherever we can.

The bathroom tap was fixed the moment we were made aware of it and unfortunately with the taps, people often swap the small hot/cold symbol on the taps as they screw off, we would not intentionally put cold on hot and hot on cold. The pool is cleaned every day without fail, however, our pool is surrounded by palm trees and tropical gardens, the odd few leaves do fall in there especially if it is windy during the day. You make it sound like you couldn't swim in the pool for the amount of them, I find this very hard to believe.

In regards to the washers, you will find in Australia that it is very rare to have any washing machines which have hot water. Most machines are cold wash only and I am sure you will notice this the more traveling you do around our country.

Again, I am sorry that you felt you had a bad experience with us and can completely understand with the room you were put in, but I am also confused as to why you did not bring any your concerns to our attention or choose to move rooms when it was offered.

Thank you again for leaving feedback about us and we hope the remainder of your trip is more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Sound, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked into this hostel as I was doing my Fraser Island tour with them and had a nights accomodation before and after my tour. The first room I was put into wasnt that nice - I had a bottom bunk closest to the shower room and every time someone showered, the water would leak and pool at the base of my bunk. The rooms are big, but noisy, as the bar is quite loud and very close to the dorms. The ground are okay - clean but not anything special. The pool area is a nice touch when the weather is warm. Part of my package included 2 free drinks and a free meal from the bar - it was nice to have a good free meal as the stores in town are very expensive. The kitchen and laundry areas were also not too bad. Overall, I did enjoy this hostel but it didnt make it onto my favorite hostel list by any means.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenNicole91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rainbow Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pippies Beachhouse
Pippies Beachhouse
#6 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Debbies Place
Debbies Place
#1 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
Plantation Resort at Rainbow
#3 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
Gateway Lifestyle Rainbow Waters
#12 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Sands Resort
Rainbow Sands Resort
#9 of 13 in Rainbow Beach
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Getaway Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frasers On Rainbow Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frasers On Rainbow Beach

Property: Frasers On Rainbow Beach
Address: 18 Spectrum Ave, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Rainbow Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place to be for Fraser Island Tours. If you’re looking for a place to relax before or after your Fraser Island experience then come and check us out. Surrounded by tropical gardens and a 75 mile beach, Frasers On Rainbow is the ultimate place to relax, party with your group or friends or enjoy what our amazingly beautiful town has to offer. We offer Self Drive Tag-A-Long Camping Safaris to Fraser Island which is a fantastic way to explore the amazing island and its many crystal clear lakes and creeks. Even if you’re not looking to go to Fraser Island or are doing a guided tour then choose from one of our variety of rooms and stay at one of Rainbow Beaches’ most exclusive hostel resorts. We have a variety of rooms ranging from 6-10 bed mixed dorms, 8 share female only rooms, double and twin rooms with en-suite bathrooms and double and twin rooms with shared bathrooms, the best is that all our dorm rooms are en-suite!! Lounge around our resort pool with a cocktail, chill out in the hammocks watching the billions of stars, take a walk to the Carlo Sand Blow and see one of the most prestigious spots for sunsets on the east coast or just kick back with a beer and get to know your Fraser groups or meet new friends. Our hostel resort offers:• Outdoor swimming pool (including water based sports equipment and sun loungers)• Fully licensed bar and restaurant with amazing nightly entertainment and $10 belly buster meals• Boomerang and Didgeridoo making and painting • Sports equipment for hire• Free daily bush walk to the Carlo Sand Blow• All rooms are en-suite• Hostel located opposite the bus stops• Base Jumping cards available for use• 24 hour global gossip internet cafe• Most rooms have balconies• Travel desk for bookings or reservations• Free pool table, ping pong table and darts. Follow the Rainbow to Fraser Island... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing