We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late mothers day outing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doug and Pearl

Doug and Pearl
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birkdale, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Late mothers day outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Lovely little place, food was superb, but pricey. I had spatch cock, found it a little dry. Staff were excellent, dessert (bread and butter pudding) was very scrumptious. A lovely memory...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ERB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    33
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Grear addition to cleveland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 3 friends had dinner here last night and really enjoyed it. The restaurant presents very stylish yet homely, I loved the look and feel of the place. The staff were awesome - friendly and laid back yet very professional and attentive.
The menu was awesome, there is only about 8 entrees and 8 mains and all sound delicious, I prefer a smaller menu with good options as I hate sifting through pages of choices on menus so this menu suited me fine.
We shared the ribs, arancini and bread for starters. The ribs were mouth watering and I would highly recommend, aracini was good and the bread was a bit light on with 3 very small pieces for 4 of us to share.
For main we shared the lamb shoulder which was delicious and so tender, the spatchcock which was cooked nicely but a bit plain flavor wise and the ngoci which wad good but again a bit light on for a main.
These guys are obviously very good at slow cooking red meat as the lamb and ribs were sensational.
Overall we had a great night here, it's an asset to cleveland and we will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank vinquelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great atmosphere highly recommend. We all loved our meals and i highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A restaurant of this quality a very welcome addition to Cleveland.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

A restaurant of this quality was much needed in Cleveland and I really hope the Redlands community supports it and makes it a success. Beautiful ambience, wonderful food and extremely friendly, attentive staff. Even though it was a Wed night, there was no hurry in rushing us out. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and highly recommend this restaurant for a fine dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MJJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“City quality in Cleveland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Amazing quality and service. We had heard great things about this new restaurant but it far exceeded our expectations. Great modern Australian food, great atmosphere and fantastic attentive staff. This is the type of food that we could only get in the City so it's lovely to have something a little closer to home. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fleurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doug and Pearl also viewed

 

Been to Doug and Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing