We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced below average food.”
Review of Grand View Hotel

Grand View Hotel
Ranked #51 of 89 Restaurants in Cleveland
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: French, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Heritage Hotel over looking Moreton Bay.Alfresco dining, Lawn area for the children to play. Multiple function areas. TAB, Gaming and live music.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went here on a sunday and the weather was great, and this means a busy arvo at the grand view. We ordered the trio of dips $8, chips and aoili $8, and the moreton bay bug salad $25. The chips came out first, which where a good size but very stingy on the amount of dip to chips ratio. The bug salad then came out and it was just a bug cut up in 3 parts, 4 slices of tomoato on the side with a dab of sauce and a leaf of lettuce. What a rip off! then we were still waiting for the trio of dips for a while where we had already finished the chips, we then finally got that but the dips were so tiny there was barely enough to use on all the little pieces or turkish bread cut up. I have given this place the benefit of the doubt multiple times but it still dissapoints me everytime. So overprice for all the main meals, i guess you are just paying for the view of the bay, although you can't even see that when you sit outside in the eating areas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bobxcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place is a pub but the food is excellent and so is the service. This is a typical Queensland pub with the dining outdoors taking in the sunshine, ocean views and see breezes from the bay. Child friendly with play grounds on site and on the waterfront.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crolen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My daughter's soccer club made a booking here last Saturday night. What a disaster. Our requests for a heater(as we were seated outside and it was very chilly at 7.15pm) fell on deaf ears. The menu was extremely over-priced as were the specials. My husband ordered the Wagyu and it definitely was not Wagyu. It was more like a piece of old rump you would get at Woolworths.It was supposed to come with mushroom sauce and didn't. They ran out of Chicken Nuggets. How on earth can you possibly run out of chicken nuggets on a Saturday night?? The kids meals came out after the adults and most of them only ordered bowls of chips. Some ordered wedges and they took forever. The salads accompanying the $25 lasagne's were missing too. Ridiculous!! Never going back. Disgusted!! Drinks were overpriced too.Don't bother going. You will be Very disappointed. We were!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management14, General Manager at Grand View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear gisgruntled customer.
At the Grand View we strive to offer good service and a freindly environment for families to come to. There were two soccer teams at the hotel that night, one in the playground marquee and one in the waterview nmarquee and I was sure both had heaters and blinds to keep out the winter chills. We apologise if heaters werent adequate.
Yes we did run out that night after a two busy days and had more delivieries the next day. On that night we offered chicken goujons as a replacement.
I feel all our food and drinks are priced fairly and I am confident our food is of a high standard. Our venue is maintained to a high standard with a childs playground for all to enjoy. I apologise that the kids didnt enjoy our venue and hope you come back to enjoy the facilities as many people do. I feel "disgusting" is a little harsh but welcome your comments for us to improve on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Had lunch there yesterday in the excellent outdoor area, great band playing outside which made it a bit noisy depending on where you were seated.

$20 for a burger off the special board but it was nice. Pricing was 'dinner at a restaurant' not 'lunch at a pub'

Would return for a beer and lunch on a special occasion, not just for something to do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank leenazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Fantastic old pub with lots of different seating areas. Lunch outside in the coutyard area was amazing, the food was excellent. It's very laid back and friendly and has the feel of a country pub.
No hesitation in returning for a meal, drinks and bets in the gaming area

Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand View Hotel also viewed

Cleveland, Redland City
Cleveland, Redland City
 
Cleveland, Redland City
 

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing